Last game had a bit of an argument with the DM over this ruling. The party is fighting an Ancient Black Dragon and it used it's Frightful Presence on us. I succeed and True Polymorph into an Ancient White Dragon to fight it. On the dragons turn it uses its Frightful Presence again on me and the DM says because everything was replaced with the mental abilities and statistics of the new form I have to save against it. I thought this was a bit weird and just wanted to make sure that this was the correct ruling?
I wouldn't think so. All your stats changed, but you didn't become a different target.
For example, if the effects of a spell were cast on you, they are still cast on you after you polymorph. Its the same, your are technically targeted with the effect of being immune to frightful presence and that effect didn't end.
It's generally accepted that conditions, diseases, buffs, spells, etc. are maintained between forms. Your new form should've been immune to Frightful Presence if you'd previously made the save. Similarly: you would've still been frightened if your prior form was.
But your DM still made a reasonable ruling at the time given the resources at hand. Best to keep the game rolling and find out later.
It's generally accepted that conditions, diseases, buffs, spells, etc. are maintained between forms. Your new form should've been immune to Frightful Presence if you'd previously made the save. Similarly: you would've still been frightened if your prior form was.
But your DM still made a reasonable ruling at the time given the resources at hand. Best to keep the game rolling and find out later.
Notably, if effects on you don't carry over, then I guess that polymorph that was cast on you also falls off...
Well the part that made me rule this way was that the Ancient Black dragon's Frightful Presence reads: "Each creature of the dragon's choice" while True Polymorph has the text "Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range. You transform the creature into a different creature" emphasis being mine, while the base polymorph reads "This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form." Not used to DMing for high level stuff though so this could just be an error on my part.
So if it wasn't clear I was said DM in the story, which is why I saw it as appropriate to throw an insult at the DM mentioned in the comment that got deleted. Sorry if that wasn't completely clear in the original post.
Last game had a bit of an argument with the DM over this ruling. The party is fighting an Ancient Black Dragon and it used it's Frightful Presence on us. I succeed and True Polymorph into an Ancient White Dragon to fight it. On the dragons turn it uses its Frightful Presence again on me and the DM says because everything was replaced with the mental abilities and statistics of the new form I have to save against it. I thought this was a bit weird and just wanted to make sure that this was the correct ruling?
I wouldn't think so. All your stats changed, but you didn't become a different target.
For example, if the effects of a spell were cast on you, they are still cast on you after you polymorph. Its the same, your are technically targeted with the effect of being immune to frightful presence and that effect didn't end.
It's generally accepted that conditions, diseases, buffs, spells, etc. are maintained between forms. Your new form should've been immune to Frightful Presence if you'd previously made the save. Similarly: you would've still been frightened if your prior form was.
But your DM still made a reasonable ruling at the time given the resources at hand. Best to keep the game rolling and find out later.
Will be good to keep in mind for future one-shots and similar situations at least.
Most definitely my sir
Notably, if effects on you don't carry over, then I guess that polymorph that was cast on you also falls off...
Big banana mama jamma
Well the part that made me rule this way was that the Ancient Black dragon's Frightful Presence reads: "Each creature of the dragon's choice" while True Polymorph has the text "Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range. You transform the creature into a different creature" emphasis being mine, while the base polymorph reads "This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form." Not used to DMing for high level stuff though so this could just be an error on my part.
OML Ethan isn't it 11 for you rn
So if it wasn't clear I was said DM in the story, which is why I saw it as appropriate to throw an insult at the DM mentioned in the comment that got deleted. Sorry if that wasn't completely clear in the original post.
Lol poor Smuag. Got in trouble for dissing himself.