I've been running a campaign and one of the players is mainly playing fighter but multiclassed into barbarian. This campaign has been going for a while but I noticed something with the wording of the barbarian's rage ending early.
Your rage lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you are knocked Unconsciousor if Your Turn ends and you haven't attacked a Hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then.
Judging from the wording of this ability, does rage end early if you either don't attack a hostile creature or don't take damage? Does this mean that even if the raging barbarian attacks a hostile creature, if they don't take any damage there rage ends? For the whole campaign so far, we've been running it where the barbarian's rage ends if both the barbarian doesn't attack and doesn't take damage.
Yeah that's my take, too, and how most people read it. If you attack, whether you hit or miss, your rage continues (this is where javelins can come in handy). If you take any damage, your rage continues. If you do neither, your rage ends.
Once my rage ends, is my barbarian then "incapacitated" for a certain amount of time, or only prohibited from making attacks? Or is my character just reverted to their normal conditions once a rage had ended.
Once my rage ends, is my barbarian then "incapacitated" for a certain amount of time, or only prohibited from making attacks? Or is my character just reverted to their normal conditions once a rage had ended.
You're just back to regular. There are certain abilities or features that also cease to continue when your rage finishes but the only way you suffer a negative aspect to yourself when your rage ends is if you've taken Path of the Beserker and use the "Frenzy" feature, which inflicts one level of exhaustion on you when your rage ends.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I've been running a campaign and one of the players is mainly playing fighter but multiclassed into barbarian. This campaign has been going for a while but I noticed something with the wording of the barbarian's rage ending early.
Judging from the wording of this ability, does rage end early if you either don't attack a hostile creature or don't take damage? Does this mean that even if the raging barbarian attacks a hostile creature, if they don't take any damage there rage ends? For the whole campaign so far, we've been running it where the barbarian's rage ends if both the barbarian doesn't attack and doesn't take damage.
It’s one or the other. You either attack or take damage. You are not penalized if the hostile creature misses you.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
English is a clumsy language and 5e was not careful with it. If you do one or the other, rage continues. If you do neither, rage ends.
Yeah that's my take, too, and how most people read it. If you attack, whether you hit or miss, your rage continues (this is where javelins can come in handy). If you take any damage, your rage continues. If you do neither, your rage ends.
Once my rage ends, is my barbarian then "incapacitated" for a certain amount of time, or only prohibited from making attacks? Or is my character just reverted to their normal conditions once a rage had ended.
You're just back to regular. There are certain abilities or features that also cease to continue when your rage finishes but the only way you suffer a negative aspect to yourself when your rage ends is if you've taken Path of the Beserker and use the "Frenzy" feature, which inflicts one level of exhaustion on you when your rage ends.