Your exposure to the Feywild’s magic has changed you, granting you the following benefits:
Increase your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
You learn the misty step spell and one 1st-level spell of your choice. The 1st-level spell must be from the divination or enchantment school of magic. You can cast each of these spells without expending a spell slot. Once you cast either of these spells in this way, you can’t cast that spell in this way again until you finish a long rest. You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level. The spells’ spellcasting ability is the ability increased by this feat.
If you take a ritual spell like Identify can you then cast that spell as a ritual, which would be done without using a spell slot, and still be able to cast it as an action without using a spell slot. Could you do both before taking a long rest?
To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so. The cleric and the druid, for example, have such a feature. The caster must also have the spell prepared or on his or her list of spells known, unless the character's ritual feature specifies otherwise, as the wizard's does.
To ritual cast Identify, it must both be on your class spell list, and you must have a feature which grants ritual casting.
Not only must it be on your class list, there are more specifics:
Ritual Casting
You can cast a cleric spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell prepared.
and
Ritual Casting
You can cast any bard spell you know as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag.
and
Ritual Casting
You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don’t need to have the spell prepared.
Taking that information, you must have the spell prepared for classes such as druid and cleric. It is questionable whether the feat spell counts as prepared. For Wizard and Pact of the Tome Locks, you need to have the spell in your book. For Bard, it luckily just has to be a bard spell, though again, I am not sure if "bard spell you know" means "associated with the bard class" as in the multiclassing rule "each of your spells is associated with one of your classes" or simply "any spell on the bard list."
Taking that information, you must have the spell prepared for classes such as druid and cleric. It is questionable whether the feat spell counts as prepared.For Wizard and Pact of the Tome Locks, you need to have the spell in your book. For Bard, it luckily just has to be a bard spell, though again, I am not sure if "bard spell you know" means "associated with the bard class" as in the multiclassing rule "each of your spells is associated with one of your classes" or simply "any spell on the bard list."
I really think it would have to otherwise the "You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level." part of the feat becomes fairly useless.
Taking that information, you must have the spell prepared for classes such as druid and cleric. It is questionable whether the feat spell counts as prepared.For Wizard and Pact of the Tome Locks, you need to have the spell in your book. For Bard, it luckily just has to be a bard spell, though again, I am not sure if "bard spell you know" means "associated with the bard class" as in the multiclassing rule "each of your spells is associated with one of your classes" or simply "any spell on the bard list."
I really think it would have to otherwise the "You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level." part of the feat becomes fairly useless.
That statement saying that you can still cast the spells with slots doesn't indicate that the spells are prepared and actually implies that they don't otherwise count as prepared. If they were prepared, you wouldn't need that statement at all. Or otherwise, if that statement was intended for the spells to count as prepared, it would say that the spells count as prepared.
The spell doesn't need to be prepared in order for you to spend spell slots on it if you have a thing (the feat in this case) that says you can cast the spells with slots.
Additionally, to the point of this thread, that statement also doesn't say that you can cast them as rituals.
I personally use the stricter ruling that it doesn't count as a class spell, so prepared or not is moot at that point.
I think that's a very good point. Ritual Casting in general seems limited specifically to the class that grants the feature. Even the Ritual Caster feat forces you to choose a specific class to limit your ritual spells to. The only feature that seems to supersede all of this is the Book of Ancient Secrets Eldritch Invocation, which only requires the Ritual tag for any spells, regardless of what class they belong to.
For Bard, it luckily just has to be a bard spell, though again, I am not sure if "bard spell you know" means "associated with the bard class" as in the multiclassing rule "each of your spells is associated with one of your classes" or simply "any spell on the bard list."
Where Clerics and Druids "know" their entire spell list and prepare certain ones each day, and Wizards "know" the spells in their spell book, but can only prepare so many to case without looking at their book mid-day, Bards (and Sorcerers and Warlocks) learns spells from their spell list and those are "Known." They do not "know" any spells from the Bard spell list beyond what they have chosen when leveling up (or through features). They can cast any spell on their character spell list without expending a spell slot by casting it as a ritual if it has a ritual tag.
This thread is old (pre-2024 books), so I'd like to add a couple of notes related to the 2024 rules:
- All ritual spells can be cast as rituals by any character, there is no longer any limitation. - All spellcasting classes prepare their spells now, although some classes still change their spells when they level up, just like you're used to.
Taking that information, you must have the spell prepared for classes such as druid and cleric. It is questionable whether the feat spell counts as prepared.For Wizard and Pact of the Tome Locks, you need to have the spell in your book. For Bard, it luckily just has to be a bard spell, though again, I am not sure if "bard spell you know" means "associated with the bard class" as in the multiclassing rule "each of your spells is associated with one of your classes" or simply "any spell on the bard list."
I really think it would have to otherwise the "You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level." part of the feat becomes fairly useless.
Regarding the 2014 RAW, this is not the case. Please refer to:
If a druid takes the Magic Initiate feat and chooses detect magic as their one spell, can the druid cast that spell as a ritual?
A druid’s Ritual Casting requires a ritual to be prepared. The spell from Magic Initiate is known but not prepared.
I believe the SAC’s clarification on the Magic Initiate feat helps us understand RAI:
If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard cantrips and another 1st-level wizard spell.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.
In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.
The final statement—“you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules”—is crucial. This indicates that, under the 2014 rules, spells gained via Magic Initiate are not inherently treated as class spells unless they already belong to your class’s spell list.
While the 2024 Magic Initiate description adds “You can also cast the spell using any spell slots you have”, we can infer that spells from this feat do not join your class’s spell list. Otherwise, the added clause would be redundant, as you could already cast them via your Spellcasting feature without explicit permission.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Fey Touched
Your exposure to the Feywild’s magic has changed you, granting you the following benefits:
If you take a ritual spell like Identify can you then cast that spell as a ritual, which would be done without using a spell slot, and still be able to cast it as an action without using a spell slot. Could you do both before taking a long rest?
To ritual cast Identify, it must both be on your class spell list, and you must have a feature which grants ritual casting.
Not only must it be on your class list, there are more specifics:
and
and
Taking that information, you must have the spell prepared for classes such as druid and cleric. It is questionable whether the feat spell counts as prepared. For Wizard and Pact of the Tome Locks, you need to have the spell in your book. For Bard, it luckily just has to be a bard spell, though again, I am not sure if "bard spell you know" means "associated with the bard class" as in the multiclassing rule "each of your spells is associated with one of your classes" or simply "any spell on the bard list."
Ah, yes. I forgot to factor in the specific rules for ritual spells.
Thanks.
I really think it would have to otherwise the "You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level." part of the feat becomes fairly useless.
That statement saying that you can still cast the spells with slots doesn't indicate that the spells are prepared and actually implies that they don't otherwise count as prepared. If they were prepared, you wouldn't need that statement at all. Or otherwise, if that statement was intended for the spells to count as prepared, it would say that the spells count as prepared.
The spell doesn't need to be prepared in order for you to spend spell slots on it if you have a thing (the feat in this case) that says you can cast the spells with slots.
Additionally, to the point of this thread, that statement also doesn't say that you can cast them as rituals.
I personally use the stricter ruling that it doesn't count as a class spell, so prepared or not is moot at that point.
I think that's a very good point. Ritual Casting in general seems limited specifically to the class that grants the feature. Even the Ritual Caster feat forces you to choose a specific class to limit your ritual spells to. The only feature that seems to supersede all of this is the Book of Ancient Secrets Eldritch Invocation, which only requires the Ritual tag for any spells, regardless of what class they belong to.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
I'm not sure they would write that as not all classes use the prepared mechanic.
But I guess I see your main point and concede that these spells probably doesn't count as prepared (or class) spells.
Where Clerics and Druids "know" their entire spell list and prepare certain ones each day, and Wizards "know" the spells in their spell book, but can only prepare so many to case without looking at their book mid-day, Bards (and Sorcerers and Warlocks) learns spells from their spell list and those are "Known." They do not "know" any spells from the Bard spell list beyond what they have chosen when leveling up (or through features). They can cast any spell on their character spell list without expending a spell slot by casting it as a ritual if it has a ritual tag.
This thread is old (pre-2024 books), so I'd like to add a couple of notes related to the 2024 rules:
- All ritual spells can be cast as rituals by any character, there is no longer any limitation.
- All spellcasting classes prepare their spells now, although some classes still change their spells when they level up, just like you're used to.
Regarding the 2014 RAW, this is not the case. Please refer to:
Also See: