While raging, the Wild Magic Barbarian produces a random magical effect from the Wild Magic surging within them. One of the possible effects , #2 on the Wild Surge table, is a teleport effect:
You teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. Until your rage ends, you can use this effect again on each of your turns as a bonus action.
My question is: Can the Barbarian teleport with someone?
For example, Barb wants to grapple an opponent (Action), then teleport (Bonus Action) with them to a cliffside, ledge, or balcony (assuming the "up to 30'/can see" requirement is met), in hopes of dropping them or shoving them afterwards. Guessing the unwilling target would get a save as per the Wild Surge rule:
If the effect requires a saving throw, the DC equals 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Constitution modifier.
Or, as a defensive maneuver, Barb wants to rescue an ally from danger, so grabs the endangered friend and teleports with them to a place of safety (up to a ledge, or across a pit, say).
Your thoughts? Thanks in advance for your consideration.
I don't think it can, by RAW. It says "You teleport up to 30 feet".
Going back to the UA, also, it said that you could cast Misty Step. I believe that this is now intended to replicate the effect of that spell. As the spell has a range of self, I do not believe you can use it to move another creature, which would be more evidence against using it to move someone else.
While raging, the Wild Magic Barbarian produces a random magical effect from the Wild Magic surging within them. One of the possible effects , #2 on the Wild Surge table, is a teleport effect:
You teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. Until your rage ends, you can use this effect again on each of your turns as a bonus action.
My question is: Can the Barbarian teleport with someone?
For example, Barb wants to grapple an opponent (Action), then teleport (Bonus Action) with them to a cliffside, ledge, or balcony (assuming the "up to 30'/can see" requirement is met), in hopes of dropping them or shoving them afterwards. Guessing the unwilling target would get a save as per the Wild Surge rule:
If the effect requires a saving throw, the DC equals 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Constitution modifier.
Or, as a defensive maneuver, Barb wants to rescue an ally from danger, so grabs the endangered friend and teleports with them to a place of safety (up to a ledge, or across a pit, say).
Your thoughts? Thanks in advance for your consideration.
Happy rolling!
5E teleport effects assume, unless stated otherwise, you can't teleport any creatures with you, and you automatically teleport with you any objects you're carrying. So you can teleport with a corpse, but not a living person.
The only moment the barbarian could teleport with a grappled ally would be if it's dead, as the corpse would now be treated as an object rather than a creature.
The only moment the barbarian could teleport with a grappled ally would be if it's dead, as the corpse would now be treated as an object rather than a creature.
So we have an easy option to do what you want:
Grapple him
Hit him till he's dead
Teleport with the body to where you want to go
Get your friendly caster to cast Resurrection on them
Hehe yes if you are high enought level you can do that but it leaves some stiff penalties on the ressurected character. Though it is much less restrictive than earlier edition where you'd loose 1 constitution ☺
While raging, the Wild Magic Barbarian produces a random magical effect from the Wild Magic surging within them. One of the possible effects , #2 on the Wild Surge table, is a teleport effect:
My question is: Can the Barbarian teleport with someone?
For example, Barb wants to grapple an opponent (Action), then teleport (Bonus Action) with them to a cliffside, ledge, or balcony (assuming the "up to 30'/can see" requirement is met), in hopes of dropping them or shoving them afterwards. Guessing the unwilling target would get a save as per the Wild Surge rule:
Or, as a defensive maneuver, Barb wants to rescue an ally from danger, so grabs the endangered friend and teleports with them to a place of safety (up to a ledge, or across a pit, say).
Your thoughts? Thanks in advance for your consideration.
Happy rolling!
no it teleports you and you only.If it teleported others it would say it.
Check out my homebrew subclasses spells magic items feats monsters races
i am a sauce priest
help create a world here
I don't think it can, by RAW. It says "You teleport up to 30 feet".
Going back to the UA, also, it said that you could cast Misty Step. I believe that this is now intended to replicate the effect of that spell. As the spell has a range of self, I do not believe you can use it to move another creature, which would be more evidence against using it to move someone else.
5E teleport effects assume, unless stated otherwise, you can't teleport any creatures with you, and you automatically teleport with you any objects you're carrying. So you can teleport with a corpse, but not a living person.
When an effect that teleport you let you bring other creatures with you, it clearly say so. Moving a grappled creature doesn't include teleportation.
The only moment the barbarian could teleport with a grappled ally would be if it's dead, as the corpse would now be treated as an object rather than a creature.
So we have an easy option to do what you want:
Hehe yes if you are high enought level you can do that but it leaves some stiff penalties on the ressurected character. Though it is much less restrictive than earlier edition where you'd loose 1 constitution ☺
Thx, everybody!