I posted use an object above and it is the interactions that are listed below that are being referred to. None of your examples are listed there, however.
If you read closely you see that drawing a weapon is on that list. You also see that it is one of the things listed under Use an Object. Coincidence?
I posted use an object above and it is the interactions that are listed below that are being referred to. None of your examples are listed there, however.
If you read closely you see that drawing a weapon is on that list. You also see that it is one of the things listed under Use an Object. Coincidence?
Yes drawing a weapon uses an object as it's an object inretaction. Attacking with a weapon use the Attack action though.
Where object rules differ, is when an object let you attack with it as an action, it use the Use an Object action, not the Attack action as it is specifically noted as being the action used. No object action use the Attack action.
"You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action"
So unsheathing weapon IS an object interaction that doesn't take the "Use an object" action because it is part of the attack action (let's not bring dual wielding in that one) it's like picking a lock, you usually interact with the door/chest and open it after unlocking it. (or check for more traps)
the whole list that has been posted does specify that you can take the "Use an object action" when you want to interact with more than one : "This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn. INTERACTING WITH OBJECTS AROUND YOU Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:" [...] so the list doesn't cover the "Use an object action" it is a small example of "interacting with object mixing movement and action" I'll grab some examples from the list: "put your ear to a door" is clearly part of the movement, the "Action(/and roll)" would be a perception, the goal is to listen and guess what is happening behind said door. "tap the floor with a 10-foot pole" is a continuous action that happens during movement, I will rules that as moving half speed (If PC are poking a whole corridor) and I will do a check to make sure that the player doesn't miss a trap (and also probably "screw" them by dropping a boulder behind them) "pull a torch from a sconce / take a book from a shelf you can reach" do you have a free hand ? can you walk up there? can you reach it? what are you doing with it? if nothing -alright, it is just part of the movement, if you quickly browse the shelf and/or book, do an INV check. "extinguish a small flame" what flame are we talking about? a candle? a torch? a campfire? you can blow on a candle during your movement, but you need to take a few seconds to extinguish a campfire. "withdraw a potion from your backpack" what are you doing now if THIS is your action, you stand there like an idiot with 2 HP for an extra round? No, retrieving the potion AND drinking it take your action.[side note: potion are magical, no interaction with fast hand as per RAW] "turn a key in a lock/open or close a door" who would rules that you need two actions for that?
So if we take a few seconds and focus and the two important points, the first one being: "You normally interact with an object while doing something else" and the second: "few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action" none of those things is using the "Use an Object action". Keeping on that train any object [including tools and kit] that specifies to use an action means "Use an Object action". By extension, the healer's kit IS an object, and using it requires the "use an object action". The healer feat improve the basic usage of the healer's kit and offer you a second way to use the kit (As an action, you can spend one use of a healer's kit= as an action you can use that kit= Use an Object action) So both bullet points of the Healer feat can be done as a bonus action with fast hand.
What I would say in summary is that the functionality of the healer's feat may or may not line up perfectly with the way fast hands works, but thematically and mechanically (for the most part at least) they have excellent synergy, so I would suggest they be allowed to function together.
who doesn't love a Halfing running around slapping a band-aid on everyone while shooting bad guys with a hand-crossbow? multiclass into Artificer(Alchemist) and transform your spell slots into Elixir, and you are officially the doctor of the party. A very fast and uncatchable doctor that can aim really well : )
Keeping on that train any object [including tools and kit] that specifies to use an action means "Use an Object action". By extension, the healer's kit IS an object, and using it requires the "use an object action". The healer feat improve the basic usage of the healer's kit and offer you a second way to use the kit (As an action, you can spend one use of a healer's kit= as an action you can use that kit= Use an Object action) So both bullet points of the Healer feat can be done as a bonus action with fast hand.
I understand this is the core of the difference of opinion. Those of you that choose this interpretation are making an inference that is never stated in the rules at all. If something says it take an action it is an action, it is not a Use an Object action. None of the examples (Healer's Kit, etc)argued as such make any reference to this allusion. As I said long before now, Use an Object action is only using an action when you have already used the free object interaction and need another object interaction.
If you draw a sword that is a free(Use an Object) interaction as part of your action. If you draw a second sword, you use your action to fuel the Use an Object action. If you have Fast Hands, you use a bonus action and retain your action for something else. Nothing turns an action into a Use an Object action, it only goes from a free interaction into Use an Object action. Action =/= Use an Object action.
I understand this is the core of the difference of opinion. Those of you that choose this interpretation are making an inference that is never stated in the rules at all. If something says it take an action it is an action, it is not a Use an Object action. None of the examples (Healer's Kit, etc)argued as such make any reference to this allusion. As I said long before now, Use an Object action is only using an action when you have already used the free object interaction and need another object interaction.
If you draw a sword that is a free(Use an Object) interaction as part of your action. If you draw a second sword, you use your action to fuel the Use an Object action. If you have Fast Hands, you use a bonus action and retain your action for something else. Nothing turns an action into a Use an Object action, it only goes from a free interaction into Use an Object action. Action =/= Use an Object action.
You interpret what's also uselful as the only use of the Use an Object item. The previous sentence makes it clear that you take also this action when an object require your action to use.
Use an Object: When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
I understand this is the core of the difference of opinion. Those of you that choose this interpretation are making an inference that is never stated in the rules at all. If something says it take an action it is an action, it is not a Use an Object action. None of the examples (Healer's Kit, etc)argued as such make any reference to this allusion. As I said long before now, Use an Object action is only using an action when you have already used the free object interaction and need another object interaction.
It's actually the opposite, the rules clearly say "When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action." and the DMG and SAC then clarify that this is for non-magical object, activating a magic object i separate.
If you draw a sword that is a free(Use an Object) interaction as part of your action. If you draw a second sword, you use your action to fuel the Use an Object action. If you have Fast Hands, you use a bonus action and retain your action for something else. Nothing turns an action into a Use an Object action, it only goes from a free interaction into Use an Object action. Action =/= Use an Object action.
Yea this is definitely wrong. The [Tooltip Not Found] action clearly states "When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action.". And the Actions in Combat section shows that it is a separate and distinct action just the same as the Hide, Dodge, [Tooltip Not Found] or Attack actions are.
It is related to the free interact you get in a round but it isn't the same thing. The free interact is for lesser interactions with objects but if an object takes "special care" or "presents an unusual obstacle" then you need to take the [Tooltip Not Found] instead (thus leaving your free interaction available for something else). And as noted if you need/want to do more than one interaction on a turn then the [Tooltip Not Found] is needed in addition for your free interaction.
Yea this is definitely wrong. The Use an Object action clearly states "When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action.". And the Actions in Combat sectionshows that it is a separate and distinct action just the same as the Hide, Dodge, Cast a Spell or Attack actions are.
following the rules exactly as written then drinking a standard healing potion would be able to be used with fast hands because it is technically not a magic item. My take on it is that the first option can be sued with fast hands, and the second option cannot.
following the rules exactly as written then drinking a standard healing potion would be able to be used with fast hands because it is technically not a magic item. My take on it is that the first option can be sued with fast hands, and the second option cannot.
And you'd be wrong on both counts.
As noted already, a Potion of Healing is a magic item and thus can't be done with Fast Hands.
And both bullet points of the Healer feat has the "As an action" description and both use the object (the Healer's Kit) and thus they both falls under the [Tooltip Not Found] action.
i will contest to being wrong on the potion, but I stand by my theory on my second point. the first bullet point does not specify an action where the second bullet point does specify talking an action.
i will contest to being wrong on the potion, but I stand by my theory on my second point. the first bullet point does not specify an action where the second bullet point does specify talking an action.
The rules for Healer's Kit, which says:
As an action, you can expend one use of the kit to stabilize a creature that has 0 hit points, without needing to make a Wisdom (Medicine) check.
When you use a healer’s kit to stabilize a dying creature, that creature also regains 1 hit point.
As an action, you can spend one use of a healer’s kit to tend to a creature and restore 1d6 + 4 hit points to it, plus additional hit points equal to the creature’s maximum number of Hit Dice. The creature can’t regain hit points from this feat again until it finishes a short or long rest.
In the healers feat it specifiys an action on the second bullet point and not the first, the first bullet point ads on to what the healers kit already does, the second bullet point is a new ability of the healers kit, which uses its own action
i will contest to being wrong on the potion, but I stand by my theory on my second point. the first bullet point does not specify an action where the second bullet point does specify talking an action.
The rules for Healer's Kit, which says:
As an action, you can expend one use of the kit to stabilize a creature that has 0 hit points, without needing to make a Wisdom (Medicine) check.
This means that the first bullet point CAN be used with Fast Hands - since "When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action."
The second bullet point is not doing a "Use an Object" action since it is a separate action defined in an ability, not in an item's description.
This means that the first bullet point CAN be used with Fast Hands - since "When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action."
The second bullet point is not doing a "Use an Object" action since it is a separate action defined in an ability, not in an item's description.
correct, which means tghat the second action cannot be used with fast hands but the first part can, which is what i stated.
Slightly off-topic, but, do the rules specify a range that a PC has to be within to attempt to stabilize a creature or use a healer's kit?
Stabilizing a dying creature with a Wisdom (Medecine) check or use of Healer's Kit has no range specified. This question came up recently in my GREYHAWK campaign and i ruled that must to be within reach to apply pressure, bandages, salves or slints etc
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I posted use an object above and it is the interactions that are listed below that are being referred to. None of your examples are listed there, however.
If you read closely you see that drawing a weapon is on that list. You also see that it is one of the things listed under Use an Object. Coincidence?
Yes drawing a weapon uses an object as it's an object inretaction. Attacking with a weapon use the Attack action though.
Where object rules differ, is when an object let you attack with it as an action, it use the Use an Object action, not the Attack action as it is specifically noted as being the action used. No object action use the Attack action.
we can also add that :
"You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action"
So unsheathing weapon IS an object interaction that doesn't take the "Use an object" action because it is part of the attack action (let's not bring dual wielding in that one)
it's like picking a lock, you usually interact with the door/chest and open it after unlocking it. (or check for more traps)
the whole list that has been posted does specify that you can take the "Use an object action" when you want to interact with more than one :
"This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
INTERACTING WITH OBJECTS AROUND YOU
Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:"
[...]
so the list doesn't cover the "Use an object action" it is a small example of "interacting with object mixing movement and action"
I'll grab some examples from the list:
"put your ear to a door" is clearly part of the movement, the "Action(/and roll)" would be a perception, the goal is to listen and guess what is happening behind said door.
"tap the floor with a 10-foot pole" is a continuous action that happens during movement, I will rules that as moving half speed (If PC are poking a whole corridor) and I will do a check to make sure that the player doesn't miss a trap (and also probably "screw" them by dropping a boulder behind them)
"pull a torch from a sconce / take a book from a shelf you can reach" do you have a free hand ? can you walk up there? can you reach it? what are you doing with it? if nothing -alright, it is just part of the movement, if you quickly browse the shelf and/or book, do an INV check.
"extinguish a small flame" what flame are we talking about? a candle? a torch? a campfire? you can blow on a candle during your movement, but you need to take a few seconds to extinguish a campfire.
"withdraw a potion from your backpack" what are you doing now if THIS is your action, you stand there like an idiot with 2 HP for an extra round? No, retrieving the potion AND drinking it take your action.[side note: potion are magical, no interaction with fast hand as per RAW]
"turn a key in a lock/open or close a door" who would rules that you need two actions for that?
So if we take a few seconds and focus and the two important points, the first one being: "You normally interact with an object while doing something else" and the second: "few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action" none of those things is using the "Use an Object action".
Keeping on that train any object [including tools and kit] that specifies to use an action means "Use an Object action".
By extension, the healer's kit IS an object, and using it requires the "use an object action". The healer feat improve the basic usage of the healer's kit and offer you a second way to use the kit (As an action, you can spend one use of a healer's kit= as an action you can use that kit= Use an Object action)
So both bullet points of the Healer feat can be done as a bonus action with fast hand.
What I would say in summary is that the functionality of the healer's feat may or may not line up perfectly with the way fast hands works, but thematically and mechanically (for the most part at least) they have excellent synergy, so I would suggest they be allowed to function together.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
who doesn't love a Halfing running around slapping a band-aid on everyone while shooting bad guys with a hand-crossbow?
multiclass into Artificer(Alchemist) and transform your spell slots into Elixir, and you are officially the doctor of the party.
A very fast and uncatchable doctor that can aim really well : )
You interpret what's also uselful as the only use of the Use an Object item. The previous sentence makes it clear that you take also this action when an object require your action to use.
Use an Object: When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
It's actually the opposite, the rules clearly say "When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action." and the DMG and SAC then clarify that this is for non-magical object, activating a magic object i separate.
Yea this is definitely wrong. The [Tooltip Not Found] action clearly states "When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action.". And the Actions in Combat section shows that it is a separate and distinct action just the same as the Hide, Dodge, [Tooltip Not Found] or Attack actions are.
It is related to the free interact you get in a round but it isn't the same thing. The free interact is for lesser interactions with objects but if an object takes "special care" or "presents an unusual obstacle" then you need to take the [Tooltip Not Found] instead (thus leaving your free interaction available for something else). And as noted if you need/want to do more than one interaction on a turn then the [Tooltip Not Found] is needed in addition for your free interaction.
following the rules exactly as written then drinking a standard healing potion would be able to be used with fast hands because it is technically not a magic item. My take on it is that the first option can be sued with fast hands, and the second option cannot.
Wait what? A potion of healing isn’t a magic item?
Because potion of healing are found in the Players Handbook it often confuse people that it's not a magic item even though its a common one.
And you'd be wrong on both counts.
As noted already, a Potion of Healing is a magic item and thus can't be done with Fast Hands.
And both bullet points of the Healer feat has the "As an action" description and both use the object (the Healer's Kit) and thus they both falls under the [Tooltip Not Found] action.
For those who aren't sure, in the DMG at https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dmg/treasure#Rarity "Common magic items, such as a potion of healing, are the most plentiful."
i will contest to being wrong on the potion, but I stand by my theory on my second point. the first bullet point does not specify an action where the second bullet point does specify talking an action.
The rules for Healer's Kit, which says:
In the healers feat it specifiys an action on the second bullet point and not the first, the first bullet point ads on to what the healers kit already does, the second bullet point is a new ability of the healers kit, which uses its own action
This means that the first bullet point CAN be used with Fast Hands - since "When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action."
The second bullet point is not doing a "Use an Object" action since it is a separate action defined in an ability, not in an item's description.
correct, which means tghat the second action cannot be used with fast hands but the first part can, which is what i stated.
Slightly off-topic, but, do the rules specify a range that a PC has to be within to attempt to stabilize a creature or use a healer's kit?
A good book and a cup of tea.
Homebrew| Bard: College of Composition
Feedback Appreciated!
Stabilizing a dying creature with a Wisdom (Medecine) check or use of Healer's Kit has no range specified. This question came up recently in my GREYHAWK campaign and i ruled that must to be within reach to apply pressure, bandages, salves or slints etc