I want to make sure I've got this right . On some forums, it appears that some are of the opinion that if you Ready Movement, you get an entire Movement (even if you've already used some or all of your Movement). That doesn't seem right.
If I move 20' and then Ready Movement triggered by an opponent getting within 10' of me, I would only get the remaining 10', not 30' more, right?
Also, when you Ready an action, you are using your Reaction . . . essentially customizing your Reaction. Meaning that I couldn't use a Reaction then Ready another action. Is that right? It would be great to use a Reaction and Ready Movement, but my reading of the rules doesn't allow that, i.e. "I Ready my Movement, triggered by me using my Reaction for a Brace Maneuver". Then I'd get to stab him and run away. If you can do that, wow. But I don't really think it works.
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn, following the rules here.
The Ready action says you can move up to your speed. If your speed is 30 feet, you get to move up to 30 feet. I'm not sure why that seems wrong to you, but a bit of perspective might help. Readying movement takes up your action, which you could've used to Dash during your turn and move an equivalent amount. Readying movement is like readying a Dash action (which wouldn't do anything for you on someone else's turn.)
Once you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If you've already used your reaction on the Brace maneuver, you can't then take your readied action.
Do keep in mind that readying an action doesn't commit you to spending your reaction on it, though. You can choose to take a reaction for something else, or choose not to take your readied action when the trigger occurs.
Also, when you Ready an action, you are using your Reaction . . . essentially customizing your Reaction. Meaning that I couldn't use a Reaction then Ready another action. Is that right? It would be great to use a Reaction and Ready Movement, but my reading of the rules doesn't allow that, i.e. "I Ready my Movement, triggered by me using my Reaction for a Brace Maneuver". Then I'd get to stab him and run away. If you can do that, wow. But I don't really think it works.
When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. If you take the Ready action, it doesn't lock up your reaction and you can still use it to react to something else, such as an opportunity attack. But doing so would leave you unable to accomplished your readied action.
Also, when you Ready an action, you are using your Reaction . . . essentially customizing your Reaction. Meaning that I couldn't use a Reaction then Ready another action. Is that right? It would be great to use a Reaction and Ready Movement, but my reading of the rules doesn't allow that, i.e. "I Ready my Movement, triggered by me using my Reaction for a Brace Maneuver". Then I'd get to stab him and run away. If you can do that, wow. But I don't really think it works.
You "ready" on your turn and use reactions on the others turns. But you only have one reaction so when a trigger occurs you choose to react to it or not. So in your example when you used your reaction for the brace maneuver the you have no more reactions (normally) and thus couldn't also run away.
The terminology of movement is kind of confusing, because "your speed" is a constant value on your sheet. You can move a distance up to your speed on your turn... but never have anything you'd call "remaining speed". A lot of us probably think of movement as spending out of some sort of pool of ~movement points~ you're granted each turn equal to your speed value, but that isn't quite right either. Really, you just have to kind of shrug and accept.... that using "your movement" (the movement you can do before, during, and after other activity on your turn) you can move a total distance up to your speed (with some distance traveled costing more points distance due to difficult terrain etc.), but that other actions or features that separately permit you to move X feet or move "up to your speed" are tracked separately.
That fuzziniess aside, everyone is correct, if you trigger a Ready to move up to your speed on your own turn, that movement is separate from and in addition to your normal movement up to your speed, and isn't reduced by having already "used up" your regular movement.
I know this is an old post but your held action is the dash action giving you both your movement on your turn plus your dash as a reaction on another players turn. If you hold your action you can't do another action.
I want to make sure I've got this right . On some forums, it appears that some are of the opinion that if you Ready Movement, you get an entire Movement (even if you've already used some or all of your Movement). That doesn't seem right.
If I move 20' and then Ready Movement triggered by an opponent getting within 10' of me, I would only get the remaining 10', not 30' more, right?
Also, when you Ready an action, you are using your Reaction . . . essentially customizing your Reaction. Meaning that I couldn't use a Reaction then Ready another action. Is that right? It would be great to use a Reaction and Ready Movement, but my reading of the rules doesn't allow that, i.e. "I Ready my Movement, triggered by me using my Reaction for a Brace Maneuver". Then I'd get to stab him and run away. If you can do that, wow. But I don't really think it works.
This is correct, your movement 'tops up' each turn.
Movement and Position
Ready
The movement you've used on your turn only count for your turn.
If you ready movement, you can move up to your speed again.
It's balanced if you think about the fact the dash does functionally the same thing, except on your turn.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
The Ready action says you can move up to your speed. If your speed is 30 feet, you get to move up to 30 feet. I'm not sure why that seems wrong to you, but a bit of perspective might help. Readying movement takes up your action, which you could've used to Dash during your turn and move an equivalent amount. Readying movement is like readying a Dash action (which wouldn't do anything for you on someone else's turn.)
Once you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If you've already used your reaction on the Brace maneuver, you can't then take your readied action.
Do keep in mind that readying an action doesn't commit you to spending your reaction on it, though. You can choose to take a reaction for something else, or choose not to take your readied action when the trigger occurs.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
You would get 30 feet of movement as a reaction, and you'd still have 10 feet of movement on your turn.
When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. If you take the Ready action, it doesn't lock up your reaction and you can still use it to react to something else, such as an opportunity attack. But doing so would leave you unable to accomplished your readied action.
You "ready" on your turn and use reactions on the others turns. But you only have one reaction so when a trigger occurs you choose to react to it or not. So in your example when you used your reaction for the brace maneuver the you have no more reactions (normally) and thus couldn't also run away.
Note that a reaction can occur on your turn or on someone else’s.
I've always taken "or you choose to move up to your speed" to mean your remaining speed. If that's not the case, groovy!
The terminology of movement is kind of confusing, because "your speed" is a constant value on your sheet. You can move a distance up to your speed on your turn... but never have anything you'd call "remaining speed". A lot of us probably think of movement as spending out of some sort of pool of ~movement points~ you're granted each turn equal to your speed value, but that isn't quite right either. Really, you just have to kind of shrug and accept.... that using "your movement" (the movement you can do before, during, and after other activity on your turn) you can move a total distance up to your speed (with some distance traveled costing more
pointsdistance due to difficult terrain etc.), but that other actions or features that separately permit you to move X feet or move "up to your speed" are tracked separately.That fuzziniess aside, everyone is correct, if you trigger a Ready to move up to your speed on your own turn, that movement is separate from and in addition to your normal movement up to your speed, and isn't reduced by having already "used up" your regular movement.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Also, if you Ready to move up to your speed, it's your speed at the moment of taking your reaction, not when readying.
I know this is an old post but your held action is the dash action giving you both your movement on your turn plus your dash as a reaction on another players turn. If you hold your action you can't do another action.
Readying the dash action is functionally meaningless. You can do it, but you'll have nothing to show for it.
"Not all those who wander are lost"