The quote is perhaps out of context but the worn equipment can merge into your new form and the question would be whether items worn while a bear could be merged into the druid form when they switch forms.
No, because ending wild shape is not using wild shape.
Also the bullet point of being able to merge equipment into your new form (along with all the other bullet points) is qualified with the sentence "While you are transformed, the following rules apply:"
What exactly happens when Wild Shape ends isn't described and left to the DM.
I just want to point out that your plan expends two uses of Wild Shape just in the set up. So it's not effective until your Druid reaches level 20.
Nah. I'm pretty sure that the "your party member" and the "your druid" are two different characters. It's a decent (and funny) strategy even if it is kind of situational.
I just want to point out that your plan expends two uses of Wild Shape just in the set up. So it's not effective until your Druid reaches level 20.
Nah. I'm pretty sure that the "your party member" and the "your druid" are two different characters. It's a decent (and funny) strategy even if it is kind of situational.
I was referring to jdornanatwork1's idea of Wildshaping into a bear (first use) and donning barding. Then Wildshaping into a different creature (second use) to "store" the barding with their bear form.
Their other idea of picking up an object dropped by an enemy and then Wildshaping is sound. To me this doesn't seem that different than picking up an object and then stowing it in your backpack or Bag of Holding. Items worn or carried are very difficult to interact with mechanically as many effects explicitly ignore them.
So as far as the 2 uses of wild shape to stow armor in bear form as my early example suggests yes it will require 2 uses to set up. If your DM doesn't interpret it to just stow which it should based on the conventions of item rules for Druid wild shape thus far. It is a new form to that armor and therefore will not change in any way from the first way encountered making any form after this integration a new form. if DM rules otherwise then Wild shape lasts multiple hours at higher levels so i recommend doing this at 4th and higher level and being the parties sleepy lovable dire wolf with light barding for mobility who constantly short rests to keep in animal form with a heavy barding bear waiting to come out. Short rest is your friend and be in an armored form with armor in another form and rested with 2 wild shapes ready to go, then remember to use wild shape before getting knocked out of wild shape. None of this matters once you have elemental form at 10th lvl as an anthropomorphic earth elemental who swims through the ground should be able to worm it's way into armor by moving through it and picking it up like a sword, however this will come with one big down side. Earth glide shouldn't take your armor with you and that's how I would rule it as a DM as you are not moving the earth but the spirit of earth is passing through. Feel free to argue with that but The armor is worked material and I also rule that you can't grapple and take creatures with you as it would disturb the earth.
Earth Glide. The elemental can burrow through nonmagical, unworked earth and stone. While doing so, the elemental doesn't disturb the material it moves through.
So as far as the 2 uses of wild shape to stow armor in bear form as my early example suggests yes it will require 2 uses to set up. If your DM doesn't interpret it to just stow which it should based on the conventions of item rules for Druid wild shape thus far. It is a new form to that armor and therefore will not change in any way from the first way encountered making any form after this integration a new form. if DM rules otherwise then Wild shape lasts multiple hours at higher levels so i recommend doing this at 4th and higher level and being the parties sleepy lovable dire wolf with light barding for mobility who constantly short rests to keep in animal form with a heavy barding bear waiting to come out. Short rest is your friend and be in an armored form with armor in another form and rested with 2 wild shapes ready to go, then remember to use wild shape before getting knocked out of wild shape. None of this matters once you have elemental form at 10th lvl as an anthropomorphic earth elemental who swims through the ground should be able to worm it's way into armor by moving through it and picking it up like a sword, however this will come with one big down side. Earth glide shouldn't take your armor with you and that's how I would rule it as a DM as you are not moving the earth but the spirit of earth is passing through. Feel free to argue with that but The armor is worked material and I also rule that you can't grapple and take creatures with you as it would disturb the earth.
Earth Glide. The elemental can burrow through nonmagical, unworked earth and stone. While doing so, the elemental doesn't disturb the material it moves through.
Ah, I did overlook short resting while in Wild Shape. This does essentially mean giving up casting though which is pretty harsh.
I will say you should definitely talk to your DM and the rest of your party before doing this. Managing your wildshape usage and short rests could easily bog down the game and if your party is not on board they may not want to wait for you. Also if you surprise your DM with this they may resent you for it, rule that it just doesn't work, or both.
Rule as written I don't either but since technically the creature is formless, it should. You're dirt, not rock and in fact not even the same dirt or rock from round to round if not on stone or worked surface. try telling an ooze it can't move into a bucket.
I said this before but I'll say it again Moon Druids are strong enough as is. Any debate about further enhancement will only take away from the rest of the table.
Please ask yourself before assuming rules as written if you are simply being greedy with interpretation of it was intended to be used this way... I promise you it wasn't. DM's please make your own ruling with regard to your tables balance. Ask yourself which party member is falling behind in your encounters and if it's your moon druid... I'd be shocked!!! I'd allow it then and only then.
PS If you allow elemental earth glide to bring others with then be prepared for enemies being pulled and left in their own grave to suffocate only seen again for loot. Note that the spirit is gliding leaving behind it's dirt otherwise it would be a burrow speed.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
No, because ending wild shape is not using wild shape.
Also the bullet point of being able to merge equipment into your new form (along with all the other bullet points) is qualified with the sentence "While you are transformed, the following rules apply:"
What exactly happens when Wild Shape ends isn't described and left to the DM.
Nah. I'm pretty sure that the "your party member" and the "your druid" are two different characters. It's a decent (and funny) strategy even if it is kind of situational.
I was referring to jdornanatwork1's idea of Wildshaping into a bear (first use) and donning barding. Then Wildshaping into a different creature (second use) to "store" the barding with their bear form.
Their other idea of picking up an object dropped by an enemy and then Wildshaping is sound. To me this doesn't seem that different than picking up an object and then stowing it in your backpack or Bag of Holding. Items worn or carried are very difficult to interact with mechanically as many effects explicitly ignore them.
So as far as the 2 uses of wild shape to stow armor in bear form as my early example suggests yes it will require 2 uses to set up. If your DM doesn't interpret it to just stow which it should based on the conventions of item rules for Druid wild shape thus far. It is a new form to that armor and therefore will not change in any way from the first way encountered making any form after this integration a new form. if DM rules otherwise then Wild shape lasts multiple hours at higher levels so i recommend doing this at 4th and higher level and being the parties sleepy lovable dire wolf with light barding for mobility who constantly short rests to keep in animal form with a heavy barding bear waiting to come out. Short rest is your friend and be in an armored form with armor in another form and rested with 2 wild shapes ready to go, then remember to use wild shape before getting knocked out of wild shape. None of this matters once you have elemental form at 10th lvl as an anthropomorphic earth elemental who swims through the ground should be able to worm it's way into armor by moving through it and picking it up like a sword, however this will come with one big down side. Earth glide shouldn't take your armor with you and that's how I would rule it as a DM as you are not moving the earth but the spirit of earth is passing through. Feel free to argue with that but The armor is worked material and I also rule that you can't grapple and take creatures with you as it would disturb the earth.
Earth Glide. The elemental can burrow through nonmagical, unworked earth and stone. While doing so, the elemental doesn't disturb the material it moves through.
Ah, I did overlook short resting while in Wild Shape. This does essentially mean giving up casting though which is pretty harsh.
I will say you should definitely talk to your DM and the rest of your party before doing this. Managing your wildshape usage and short rests could easily bog down the game and if your party is not on board they may not want to wait for you. Also if you surprise your DM with this they may resent you for it, rule that it just doesn't work, or both.
Also I don't see any interaction between an Earth Elemental's Earth Glide feature and the rules for donning armor. - https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/equipment#GettingIntoandOutofArmor
Rule as written I don't either but since technically the creature is formless, it should. You're dirt, not rock and in fact not even the same dirt or rock from round to round if not on stone or worked surface. try telling an ooze it can't move into a bucket.
I said this before but I'll say it again Moon Druids are strong enough as is. Any debate about further enhancement will only take away from the rest of the table.
Please ask yourself before assuming rules as written if you are simply being greedy with interpretation of it was intended to be used this way... I promise you it wasn't. DM's please make your own ruling with regard to your tables balance. Ask yourself which party member is falling behind in your encounters and if it's your moon druid... I'd be shocked!!! I'd allow it then and only then.
PS If you allow elemental earth glide to bring others with then be prepared for enemies being pulled and left in their own grave to suffocate only seen again for loot. Note that the spirit is gliding leaving behind it's dirt otherwise it would be a burrow speed.