PHB states I can't willingly end my turn in the space of another creature. Is there an exception for tiny creatures? I've seen people state that if a creature is 3 sizes smaller than you can end your turn in its space, but I can't find the RAW for that anywhere.
You can move through the space of a hostile creature that is at least two sizes larger than you, but you can't end your turn there, and it counts as difficult terrain.
The only exception I know of for ending a turn in another creature's space is for Swarms.
There are also exceptions for mounted combat.
Moving Around Other Creatures
You can move through a nonhostile creature's space. In contrast, you can move through a hostile creature's space only if the creature is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you. Remember that another creature's space is difficult terrain for you.
Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can't willingly end your move in its space.
If you leave a hostile creature's reach during your move, you provoke an opportunity attack, as explained later in the section.
You can see why this rule seems illogical though. Are we to state that I can't end my turn in the same space as an ant? I find it weird that I can't share a 5 foot area with a cat-sized animal that is friendly to me.
D&D is a game, not a physics simulator, and the rules aren't intended to be comprehensive.
Anything that is not mechanically significant is generally just ignored as flavor. For example, a pet, which can take no actions in combat, can be in the pocket of a player because who cares?
Ants and spiders and other creepy crawlies are just decoration, until they're not.
The only problem arises when a player tries to exploit an interaction that the rules don't cover, such as stacking a bunch of minions on top of one another who are all carrying wands of magic missile in order to break the game.
If you want to do anything questionable, just clear it with your DM first, and be prepared to be told no.
Question in the title.
PHB states I can't willingly end my turn in the space of another creature. Is there an exception for tiny creatures? I've seen people state that if a creature is 3 sizes smaller than you can end your turn in its space, but I can't find the RAW for that anywhere.
Thanks
You can move through the space of a hostile creature that is at least two sizes larger than you, but you can't end your turn there, and it counts as difficult terrain.
The only exception I know of for ending a turn in another creature's space is for Swarms.
There are also exceptions for mounted combat.
You can see why this rule seems illogical though. Are we to state that I can't end my turn in the same space as an ant? I find it weird that I can't share a 5 foot area with a cat-sized animal that is friendly to me.
D&D is a game, not a physics simulator, and the rules aren't intended to be comprehensive.
Anything that is not mechanically significant is generally just ignored as flavor. For example, a pet, which can take no actions in combat, can be in the pocket of a player because who cares?
Ants and spiders and other creepy crawlies are just decoration, until they're not.
The only problem arises when a player tries to exploit an interaction that the rules don't cover, such as stacking a bunch of minions on top of one another who are all carrying wands of magic missile in order to break the game.
If you want to do anything questionable, just clear it with your DM first, and be prepared to be told no.