I'm new to playing a barbarian so please correct me if I'm missing something, but I don't see why you would want to. If you know you want to rage, why not use your bonus action first to rage, then use your action to attack?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
I'm new to playing a barbarian so please correct me if I'm missing something, but I don't see why you would want to. If you know you want to rage, why not use your bonus action first to rage, then use your action to attack?
Sometimes you have a bonus action that you would rather take than attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
In My case its with pairing barbarian and Wild Shape where both can be done as a Bonus action. The Wild shape can be done as an action as well so its good.
There is nothing in game that allows you to take more than 1 bonus action during your turn or use a bonus action as your regular action and then another one as your bonus action. Not even spells like haste or abilities like action surge. It’s to prevent shenanigans like the above - wild shape and rage in the same round.
Wild shape and rage in the same round is not a shenanigan; it doesn't require two bonus actions, it requires an action and a bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Indeed, for most Druids they can only Wildshape as an action. Just because Circle of the Moon Druids gain the ability to Wildshape as a bonus action it doesn't mean they lose the ability to Wildshape as an action. Similarly Rogues don't lose the ability to dash, disengage, or hide as an action just because they gain the Cunning Action feature.
@Fangeye I agree. Circle of the Moon doesn't exclude me from using Wild Shape as an action it merely gives me the option to use it as a bonus action. @Aethelwolf that is good to know, it pretty much excludes trying to get both live in the same round which is what I was attempting to do. So its a mute point. Thank you.
Wild shape and rage in the same round is not a shenanigan; it doesn't require two bonus actions, it requires an action and a bonus action.
Unless you are a moon druid, when wildshape becomes a bonus action. The whole point of not allowing a bonus action as an action is literally to prevent shenanigans. A very simple one being a rogue dashing as their regular action and bonus action and having quadruple movement. Throw in a few monk levels, mobile, increased base move from wood elf, or tabaxi bonus movement and spells and magic items and suddenly your player is running mach 1. Trust me as a power gamer and optimiser that would be better than pineapples on pizza
Wild shape and rage in the same round is not a shenanigan; it doesn't require two bonus actions, it requires an action and a bonus action.
Unless you are a moon druid, when wildshape becomes a bonus action. The whole point of not allowing a bonus action as an action is literally to prevent shenanigans. A very simple one being a rogue dashing as their regular action and bonus action and having quadruple movement. Throw in a few monk levels, mobile, increased base move from wood elf, or tabaxi bonus movement and spells and magic items and suddenly your player is running mach 1. Trust me as a power gamer and optimiser that would be better than pineapples on pizza
I am a little confused by your position, if that is how you interpret Cunning Action to work then is that also how you interpret Expeditious Retreat to work?
If you could provide the RAW source or sources you use to arrive at your position that would help me understand it.
I do see that Combat Wildshape has the clause "..., rather than as an action" which I see as simply contrasting the normal action required by the base Druid's Wildshape. However I can see this being interpreted as an exception replacing the normal action requirement. With Cunning Action and Expeditious Retreat though I do not see any such contrasting language, is there something I am missing?
Dashing doesn't double your movement, nor change your speed - it grants you movement equal to your speed.
If you Dash twice on your turn, using both your action and bonus action (which is completely legal), you will effectively triple your movement, not quadruple it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It says that Rage is activated as a bonus action. Can it also be activated as an action if I choose to?
There is no general rule that allows you to take a bonus action as an action.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Thank You.
I'm new to playing a barbarian so please correct me if I'm missing something, but I don't see why you would want to. If you know you want to rage, why not use your bonus action first to rage, then use your action to attack?
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
Sometimes you have a bonus action that you would rather take than attack.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
In My case its with pairing barbarian and Wild Shape where both can be done as a Bonus action. The Wild shape can be done as an action as well so its good.
Just keep in mind that if you rage + wildshape on the same turn, the rage will immediately drop unless you happened to take damage before using it.
There is nothing in game that allows you to take more than 1 bonus action during your turn or use a bonus action as your regular action and then another one as your bonus action. Not even spells like haste or abilities like action surge. It’s to prevent shenanigans like the above - wild shape and rage in the same round.
Wild shape and rage in the same round is not a shenanigan; it doesn't require two bonus actions, it requires an action and a bonus action.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Indeed, for most Druids they can only Wildshape as an action. Just because Circle of the Moon Druids gain the ability to Wildshape as a bonus action it doesn't mean they lose the ability to Wildshape as an action. Similarly Rogues don't lose the ability to dash, disengage, or hide as an action just because they gain the Cunning Action feature.
@Fangeye I agree. Circle of the Moon doesn't exclude me from using Wild Shape as an action it merely gives me the option to use it as a bonus action. @Aethelwolf that is good to know, it pretty much excludes trying to get both live in the same round which is what I was attempting to do. So its a mute point. Thank you.
Unless you are a moon druid, when wildshape becomes a bonus action. The whole point of not allowing a bonus action as an action is literally to prevent shenanigans. A very simple one being a rogue dashing as their regular action and bonus action and having quadruple movement. Throw in a few monk levels, mobile, increased base move from wood elf, or tabaxi bonus movement and spells and magic items and suddenly your player is running mach 1. Trust me as a power gamer and optimiser that would be better than pineapples on pizza
I am a little confused by your position, if that is how you interpret Cunning Action to work then is that also how you interpret Expeditious Retreat to work?
If you could provide the RAW source or sources you use to arrive at your position that would help me understand it.
I do see that Combat Wildshape has the clause "..., rather than as an action" which I see as simply contrasting the normal action required by the base Druid's Wildshape. However I can see this being interpreted as an exception replacing the normal action requirement. With Cunning Action and Expeditious Retreat though I do not see any such contrasting language, is there something I am missing?
Dashing doesn't double your movement, nor change your speed - it grants you movement equal to your speed.
If you Dash twice on your turn, using both your action and bonus action (which is completely legal), you will effectively triple your movement, not quadruple it.