I've read a couple posts on different forums about it, but I guess I still feel left in the dark since I've seen wavering opinions in both directions. I know on one hand, the rules about combining magical effects say that,
"The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect — such as the highest bonus — from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap."
Well, if you look at the potion of growth, it does say is uses the specific affect from the spell enlarge/reduce, but only part of it.
I've seen people talking in threads like this about it, and they just nonchalantly say it works, but I've seen other posts online of others saying it doesn't. Is there a clear way to read this? Cuz honestly, I feel at this point, for me, it could go either way.
The Potion of Growth produces the effect of the Enlarge/Reduce spell with a caveat, but it's still the same enlarging effect (It specifies that it's replicating the spell in the description), so it would not stack with a casting of the spell.
If you want to be huge, the RAW way to do that is to be a Rune Knight Fighter to use Giant Might (L3 feature) to become Large, then cast Enlarge/Reduce on yourself to become Huge.
I agree that the strict RAW reading would be that they don't stack because Potion of Growth specifically references Enlarge/Reduce to describe the mechanics of its effect.
I have a feeling this will be a back and forth circular argument, but...
The Potion of Growth isn't a spell. There is a line:
The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine, however.
This seems to indicate that you must cast a spell multiple times in order for the features to not stack. Therefore, as one of these effects is from a magical item and one of these effects is from a spell, the effects stack.
I agree that the strict RAW reading would be that they don't stack because Potion of Growth specifically references Enlarge/Reduce to describe the mechanics of its effect.
It references Enlarge/Reduce but doesn't actually cast it. In my opinion, if it was not meant to stack with Enlarge Reduce it would have say something like "as if Enlarge/Reduce was cast upon you" or something like that.
Many potions are basically spells in a bottle and are for all purposes the spell's effect without the casting. It can't be countered, but can be dispelled.
Potion of Growth - When you drink this potion, you gain the "enlarge" effect of the enlarge/reduce spell.
If you cast enlarge/reduce on yourself after this fact and enlarge yourself, you would, for a second time, gain the "enlarge" effect of the enlarge/reduce spell, and I believe that is the overlap that DxJxC is referring to. You would enlarge one time. The second instance would simply replace the first.
What does the DMG actually say on this issue? The Tooltip takes me to the cover of a digital book with paywall.
"Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook."
The idea being that the potion of growth causes the same "enlarge" as the spell. So as effects with the same name - they won't stack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I've read a couple posts on different forums about it, but I guess I still feel left in the dark since I've seen wavering opinions in both directions. I know on one hand, the rules about combining magical effects say that,
"The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect — such as the highest bonus — from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap."
Well, if you look at the potion of growth, it does say is uses the specific affect from the spell enlarge/reduce, but only part of it.
I've seen people talking in threads like this about it, and they just nonchalantly say it works, but I've seen other posts online of others saying it doesn't. Is there a clear way to read this? Cuz honestly, I feel at this point, for me, it could go either way.
The Potion of Growth produces the effect of the Enlarge/Reduce spell with a caveat, but it's still the same enlarging effect (It specifies that it's replicating the spell in the description), so it would not stack with a casting of the spell.
If you want to be huge, the RAW way to do that is to be a Rune Knight Fighter to use Giant Might (L3 feature) to become Large, then cast Enlarge/Reduce on yourself to become Huge.
I agree that the strict RAW reading would be that they don't stack because Potion of Growth specifically references Enlarge/Reduce to describe the mechanics of its effect.
I have a feeling this will be a back and forth circular argument, but...
The Potion of Growth isn't a spell. There is a line:
The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine, however.
This seems to indicate that you must cast a spell multiple times in order for the features to not stack. Therefore, as one of these effects is from a magical item and one of these effects is from a spell, the effects stack.
DMing:
Dragons of Stormwreck Isle
Playing:
None sadly.
Optimization Guides:
Literally Too Angry to Die - A Guide to Optimizing a Barbarian
It references Enlarge/Reduce but doesn't actually cast it. In my opinion, if it was not meant to stack with Enlarge Reduce it would have say something like "as if Enlarge/Reduce was cast upon you" or something like that.
DMing:
Dragons of Stormwreck Isle
Playing:
None sadly.
Optimization Guides:
Literally Too Angry to Die - A Guide to Optimizing a Barbarian
Many potions are basically spells in a bottle and are for all purposes the spell's effect without the casting. It can't be countered, but can be dispelled.
As for it stacking, if the combining spells rule isn't enough for you, the more general "combining effects" rule in the DMG should cover it: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dmg/running-the-game#CombiningGameEffects
What does the DMG actually say on this issue? The Tooltip takes me to the cover of a digital book with paywall.
Potion of Growth - When you drink this potion, you gain the "enlarge" effect of the enlarge/reduce spell.
If you cast enlarge/reduce on yourself after this fact and enlarge yourself, you would, for a second time, gain the "enlarge" effect of the enlarge/reduce spell, and I believe that is the overlap that DxJxC is referring to. You would enlarge one time. The second instance would simply replace the first.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
"Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook."
The idea being that the potion of growth causes the same "enlarge" as the spell. So as effects with the same name - they won't stack.