So here's my question: Can focuses be used as material components? Not just as substitutes, I mean in the most literal sense. Here's an example:
I'm homebrewing a sort of "dark prophet made of chains" style fiend, and I've run into this situation.
The monster has an arcane focus, specifically a pendant with a crimson diamond on the end worth 5,000 gp. It has Gate prepared, which requires a diamond worth at least 5,000 gp as a material component. Material components with costs indicated can't normally be replaced with focuses, but in this case, the focus is the component.
I don't see any reason why this wouldn't work, the rules don't disallow it. Or make any mention at all, really. What are your thoughts?
Generally, a hand is supposed to be able to hold one thing, so I would say that the diamond and the staff would have to occupy different hands. Like, you shouldn't be fusing an orb onto your sword to use it as a weapon and a focus at the same time.
That being said, monsters definitely don't have to follow the same rules as players. Often, the spellcasting of a monster doesn't actually use any M components.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
If the arcane focus has a 5,000gp diamond as part of it I don't see a problem. Gate doesn't consume the diamond(at least as far as I saw in my quick glance), but even if it did I don't see why it couldn't consume the diamond in the arcane focus.
The only concern I see with this is just make sure you are okay with your players getting the arcane focus with the 5,000gp diamond in it if your monster gets caught.
The only concern I see with this is just make sure you are okay with your players getting the arcane focus with the 5,000gp diamond in it if your monster gets caught.
Hmm, that could be a problem. I haven't calculated the CR yet, but it's gonna be a high-level monster so that could be a nice reward.
So here's my question: Can focuses be used as material components? Not just as substitutes, I mean in the most literal sense. Here's an example:
I'm homebrewing a sort of "dark prophet made of chains" style fiend, and I've run into this situation.
The monster has an arcane focus, specifically a pendant with a crimson diamond on the end worth 5,000 gp. It has Gate prepared, which requires a diamond worth at least 5,000 gp as a material component. Material components with costs indicated can't normally be replaced with focuses, but in this case, the focus is the component.
I don't see any reason why this wouldn't work, the rules don't disallow it. Or make any mention at all, really. What are your thoughts?
That doesn't seem any less reasonable than letting a Cleric or Paladin bear their Holy Symbol(also a spellcasting focus) on their shield, which is explicitly allowed.
Generally, a hand is supposed to be able to hold one thing, so I would say that the diamond and the staff would have to occupy different hands. Like, you shouldn't be fusing an orb onto your sword to use it as a weapon and a focus at the same time.
That being said, monsters definitely don't have to follow the same rules as players. Often, the spellcasting of a monster doesn't actually use any M components.
Ruby of the war Mage is a common item. but it requires attunement. The feat War Caster allows you to keep a weapon in hand and create the somatic movements. The artificer just skips all normal caster requirements altogether.
The strict rules of must have a focus in one hand and a free hand to make somatic movements is just to hinder the pure caster.
If you're concerned about players getting the focus, you can just have the monster not require material components; this makes them easier to run anyway, and is somewhat common for things like innate spellcasting anyway.
But a focus can absolutely be used as a spell component, in fact the spirit guardians spell explicitly requires a holy symbol.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Is the fiend relying on Psionics Innate Spellcasting or Standard Spellcasting?
Psionics Innate Spellcasting: A monster that has this tag typically doesn't require any components to cast its spells.
Standard Spellcasting: If a cost is indicated for a material component, the caster must have that specific component before casting the spell which the fiend has. It also must have a hand free to access it, which can be the same hand used to perform somatic components. I would also make it apparent during spellcasting, such as the fiend caressing the diamond as part of the gestures while chanting mystic words.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So here's my question: Can focuses be used as material components? Not just as substitutes, I mean in the most literal sense. Here's an example:
I'm homebrewing a sort of "dark prophet made of chains" style fiend, and I've run into this situation.
The monster has an arcane focus, specifically a pendant with a crimson diamond on the end worth 5,000 gp. It has Gate prepared, which requires a diamond worth at least 5,000 gp as a material component. Material components with costs indicated can't normally be replaced with focuses, but in this case, the focus is the component.
I don't see any reason why this wouldn't work, the rules don't disallow it. Or make any mention at all, really. What are your thoughts?
Generally, a hand is supposed to be able to hold one thing, so I would say that the diamond and the staff would have to occupy different hands. Like, you shouldn't be fusing an orb onto your sword to use it as a weapon and a focus at the same time.
That being said, monsters definitely don't have to follow the same rules as players. Often, the spellcasting of a monster doesn't actually use any M components.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
If the arcane focus has a 5,000gp diamond as part of it I don't see a problem. Gate doesn't consume the diamond(at least as far as I saw in my quick glance), but even if it did I don't see why it couldn't consume the diamond in the arcane focus.
The only concern I see with this is just make sure you are okay with your players getting the arcane focus with the 5,000gp diamond in it if your monster gets caught.
Hmm, that could be a problem. I haven't calculated the CR yet, but it's gonna be a high-level monster so that could be a nice reward.
That doesn't seem any less reasonable than letting a Cleric or Paladin bear their Holy Symbol(also a spellcasting focus) on their shield, which is explicitly allowed.
Ruby of the war Mage is a common item. but it requires attunement.
The feat War Caster allows you to keep a weapon in hand and create the somatic movements.
The artificer just skips all normal caster requirements altogether.
The strict rules of must have a focus in one hand and a free hand to make somatic movements is just to hinder the pure caster.
If you're concerned about players getting the focus, you can just have the monster not require material components; this makes them easier to run anyway, and is somewhat common for things like innate spellcasting anyway.
But a focus can absolutely be used as a spell component, in fact the spirit guardians spell explicitly requires a holy symbol.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Is the fiend relying on Psionics Innate Spellcasting or Standard Spellcasting?
Psionics Innate Spellcasting: A monster that has this tag typically doesn't require any components to cast its spells.
Standard Spellcasting: If a cost is indicated for a material component, the caster must have that specific component before casting the spell which the fiend has. It also must have a hand free to access it, which can be the same hand used to perform somatic components. I would also make it apparent during spellcasting, such as the fiend caressing the diamond as part of the gestures while chanting mystic words.