So I've been thinking of playing this character for a while and always thought it was a bit of fun
The idea I've got is the character is a legendary hero, bard and servant to the king. King is a great man but his son is a absolute nightmare and the king does not want his son to take over the kingdom so he tasks you with removing the problem but you cant hurt the prince at all
So the idea is that you magic jar the prince (who is basically level 1 at this stage) and then imprison your own body so you dont lose it.
My question is. If I cast imprison on my own body and that body is currently holding the magic jar (or wearing it as it would likely be a gemstone in a necklace or similar) would the jar go into the imprison too? Meaning that outside of whatever condition the DM and I set that jar and body are basically unreachable?
i guess this sort of asks that question. if it doesn't say it can or cant is it up to your own interpretation? based on the other uses of imprison it would make sense that you don't strip down to your bday suit in those cases (sent to a demiplane or buried) but sense and logistics aren't always the same thing
Yeah, i'd also go that route and just make up something, then stick to it. Some spells are just lacking in clarification, where others are overly detailed, to avoid cheesing or rules lawyering.
I had a big ongoing discussion with 2 of my good friends (the 3 of us alternate DMing much of the time) we came to the conclusion that using the logic on many other spells that worn items and equipment would indeed go with you.
Otherwise things like misty step and dimension door or spells that move you to other places would remove clothing. Or enlarge reduce would strip you naked, in those instances its intended that your items go wtih you, therefore why would a super powerful level 9 spell not do that?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I've been thinking of playing this character for a while and always thought it was a bit of fun
The idea I've got is the character is a legendary hero, bard and servant to the king. King is a great man but his son is a absolute nightmare and the king does not want his son to take over the kingdom so he tasks you with removing the problem but you cant hurt the prince at all
So the idea is that you magic jar the prince (who is basically level 1 at this stage) and then imprison your own body so you dont lose it.
My question is. If I cast imprison on my own body and that body is currently holding the magic jar (or wearing it as it would likely be a gemstone in a necklace or similar) would the jar go into the imprison too? Meaning that outside of whatever condition the DM and I set that jar and body are basically unreachable?
Doesn't say anything about Items worn or carried, so i guess you're imprisoned in your birthday suit only?
i guess this sort of asks that question. if it doesn't say it can or cant is it up to your own interpretation? based on the other uses of imprison it would make sense that you don't strip down to your bday suit in those cases (sent to a demiplane or buried) but sense and logistics aren't always the same thing
Yeah, i'd also go that route and just make up something, then stick to it. Some spells are just lacking in clarification, where others are overly detailed, to avoid cheesing or rules lawyering.
I had a big ongoing discussion with 2 of my good friends (the 3 of us alternate DMing much of the time) we came to the conclusion that using the logic on many other spells that worn items and equipment would indeed go with you.
Otherwise things like misty step and dimension door or spells that move you to other places would remove clothing. Or enlarge reduce would strip you naked, in those instances its intended that your items go wtih you, therefore why would a super powerful level 9 spell not do that?