Hi, while under the effect of Compulsion spell, I must move in designated direction and I am allowed to take action before this movement.
But am I allowed to take bonus action somewhere during my turn? Or if I do not take action before movement, can I take it after? Or even during the movement using the splitting movement rule?
What if I am also under the effect of Haste, can I take both my Actions before the movement?
Each affected target must use as much of its movement as possible to move in that direction on its next turn. It can take its action before it moves. After moving in this way, it can make another Wisdom saving throw to try to end the effect.
A target isn't compelled to move into an obviously deadly hazard, such as a fire or pit, but it will provoke opportunity attacks to move in the designated direction.
Not the clearest writing perhaps but I see nothing that limits actions (or their timing) so I have to think that it is only meant to affect movement.
So you should be allowed to take any actions or bonus actions you have available at the timing of your choice.
This brings me to another question about that another Wisdom save after my movement.
If I first move during my turn as the spell forces me, then I make my Wisdom save and succeed, can I use afterwards my action to Dash and move back to original spot?
This brings me to another question about that another Wisdom save after my movement.
If I first move during my turn as the spell forces me, then I make my Wisdom save and succeed, can I use afterwards my action to Dash and move back to original spot?
It's a little weird, but in my opinion I believe that this 4th level spell is meant to be more effective than what has been said so far in this thread. I believe that the intention is that you have a chance to use your action first, THEN you are compelled to move. THEN "after moving in this way" your only option is to attempt a saving throw, if desired.
I don't feel too strongly about it though -- it could clearly be interpreted the other way as well. The DM will have to decide which interpretation is correct in this case.
It's a little weird, but in my opinion I believe that this 4th level spell is meant to be more effective than what has been said so far in this thread. I believe that the intention is that you have a chance to use your action first, THEN you are compelled to move. THEN "after moving in this way" your only option is to attempt a saving throw, if desired.
I don't feel too strongly about it though -- it could clearly be interpreted the other way as well. The DM will have to decide which interpretation is correct in this case.
The reason Compulsion is 4th level is because it can target any number of creatures within range.
I find it odd that the save is made at the end of compelled movement instead of at the end of the creatures turn as usual. If they had used their usual wording for when to make subsequent saves then this wouldn't be possible. The fact that they deviated from their typical way of writing this suggests to me that this possibility was intended.
You're probably right, but I just wonder why the spell description bothers to go out of its way to specify: "[The target uses its movement on its next turn.] It can take its action before it moves." So, if the spell does not actually change the general rules in some way with respect to the timing and interaction for when you may move and take actions, then why even include this text at all? It's weird. It feels to me like the spell is trying to say that the general rule for when you can move and take actions during your turn has changed in some way, but it's not spelled out super clearly. At this point I think I could be convinced either way on this one.
You're probably right, but I just wonder why the spell description bothers to go out of its way to specify: "[The target uses its movement on its next turn.] It can take its action before it moves." So, if the spell does not actually change the general rules in some way with respect to the timing and interaction for when you may move and take actions, then why even include this text at all? It's weird. It feels to me like the spell is trying to say that the general rule for when you can move and take actions during your turn has changed in some way, but it's not spelled out super clearly. At this point I think I could be convinced either way on this one.
Because without that it is likely that many would read it as you need to move the first thing you do on your turn.
You're probably right, but I just wonder why the spell description bothers to go out of its way to specify: "[The target uses its movement on its next turn.] It can take its action before it moves." So, if the spell does not actually change the general rules in some way with respect to the timing and interaction for when you may move and take actions, then why even include this text at all? It's weird. It feels to me like the spell is trying to say that the general rule for when you can move and take actions during your turn has changed in some way, but it's not spelled out super clearly. At this point I think I could be convinced either way on this one.
Because without that it is likely that many would read it as you need to move the first thing you do on your turn.
This is why I think the text was included as well, but I do agree that it feels awkward to me. It is effectively telling me that the target can do something that it already could do from the general rules of the game. Maybe I would have phrased it like "The creature can still take actions before, during, or after the movement as normal." This addresses the ambiguity that this thread is asking about and makes it clear that this is a reiteration of the normal rules.
Also it is worth noting that just because a creature can save and dash back to where they started doesn't mean the spell had no affect on them. That creature has now used their action and likely can't do anything else this turn. Also Compulsion let's you force the creature to move into hazards. This is rare for spells like this and it is hard to dash back to where you started if you walked off a cliff.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi, while under the effect of Compulsion spell, I must move in designated direction and I am allowed to take action before this movement.
But am I allowed to take bonus action somewhere during my turn? Or if I do not take action before movement, can I take it after? Or even during the movement using the splitting movement rule?
What if I am also under the effect of Haste, can I take both my Actions before the movement?
The relevant text from Compulsion.
Not the clearest writing perhaps but I see nothing that limits actions (or their timing) so I have to think that it is only meant to affect movement.
So you should be allowed to take any actions or bonus actions you have available at the timing of your choice.
Thank you.
This brings me to another question about that another Wisdom save after my movement.
If I first move during my turn as the spell forces me, then I make my Wisdom save and succeed, can I use afterwards my action to Dash and move back to original spot?
It seems very clear that you can.
It's a little weird, but in my opinion I believe that this 4th level spell is meant to be more effective than what has been said so far in this thread. I believe that the intention is that you have a chance to use your action first, THEN you are compelled to move. THEN "after moving in this way" your only option is to attempt a saving throw, if desired.
I don't feel too strongly about it though -- it could clearly be interpreted the other way as well. The DM will have to decide which interpretation is correct in this case.
The reason Compulsion is 4th level is because it can target any number of creatures within range.
I find it odd that the save is made at the end of compelled movement instead of at the end of the creatures turn as usual. If they had used their usual wording for when to make subsequent saves then this wouldn't be possible. The fact that they deviated from their typical way of writing this suggests to me that this possibility was intended.
You're probably right, but I just wonder why the spell description bothers to go out of its way to specify: "[The target uses its movement on its next turn.] It can take its action before it moves." So, if the spell does not actually change the general rules in some way with respect to the timing and interaction for when you may move and take actions, then why even include this text at all? It's weird. It feels to me like the spell is trying to say that the general rule for when you can move and take actions during your turn has changed in some way, but it's not spelled out super clearly. At this point I think I could be convinced either way on this one.
Because without that it is likely that many would read it as you need to move the first thing you do on your turn.
This is why I think the text was included as well, but I do agree that it feels awkward to me. It is effectively telling me that the target can do something that it already could do from the general rules of the game. Maybe I would have phrased it like "The creature can still take actions before, during, or after the movement as normal." This addresses the ambiguity that this thread is asking about and makes it clear that this is a reiteration of the normal rules.
Also it is worth noting that just because a creature can save and dash back to where they started doesn't mean the spell had no affect on them. That creature has now used their action and likely can't do anything else this turn. Also Compulsion let's you force the creature to move into hazards. This is rare for spells like this and it is hard to dash back to where you started if you walked off a cliff.