When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.
Take note of the bolded text. The bracer of flying daggers overrides how attacking normally works. It allows you to take a special action to hurl two daggers. This means, you are not taking the Attack action. So the bonus action attack provided by two-weapon fighting would not be possible.
As the DM, you can of course always override this. As such, it's up to you to decide if the damage modifier would be applicable or not. If we were to homebrew the item to use the Attack action, it's clear that it doesn't add the modifier, as stated in the two-weapon fighting rules.
Bracer of Flying Daggers does not utilise the two fighting rules. Each dagger is resolved normally - to hit: d20 + Dex + PB + any additional bonuses, and damage is D4 + Dex + any additional bonuses.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
They can't just do both. On your turn you get one action and one bonus action. So the rogue has to decide if they attack normally with their Attack action, or if they use the bracer of flying dagger action instead.
it just says as an action u can take out 2 daggers)))
I did not understand why it gives u extra special action to take them out and throw it.
No it says that "As an action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them". So you both make and throw the daggers in the same action.
It is a good item for a Rogue but it isn't super strong as they don't get any more attacks than they usually could make (two), it just frees up their bonus action for other utility stuff.
Where do you guys stand on whether or not using this item requires 0, 1 or 2 free hands to throw both daggers? How about choosing to only throw one dagger? If the rogue is currently wielding two shortswords, is he required to stow or drop one or both of these before using the item? What if the rogue was somehow proficient in shields and wanted to have a shield equipped while using this item?
Where do you guys stand on whether or not using this item requires 0, 1 or 2 free hands to throw both daggers? How about choosing to only throw one dagger? If the rogue is currently wielding two shortswords, is he required to stow or drop one or both of these before using the item? What if the rogue was somehow proficient in shields and wanted to have a shield equipped while using this item?
Always played this as you have to have a hand free to make the attacks, but can both be made with the same hand. Whether that's pulling them one by one and attacking or throwing both with one hand anime-style is up to interpretation/flavor, that part makes no difference. Played a Rogue/Sorcerer with this item for a good while and no DM ever had an issue with that (was on a server with multiple DMs). My character did the double-dagger toss. Usually had a magic shortsword in the other hand, would bounce between throwing daggers and two-weapon fighting with shortswords in combat.
Where do you guys stand on whether or not using this item requires 0, 1 or 2 free hands to throw both daggers? How about choosing to only throw one dagger? If the rogue is currently wielding two shortswords, is he required to stow or drop one or both of these before using the item? What if the rogue was somehow proficient in shields and wanted to have a shield equipped while using this item?
1 or 2. A Bracer of Flying Daggers need at least one free hand to pull a dagger from it. Since as an action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, to me its essentially 1 hand per dagger. Any hand occupied by a weapon, shield other object wouldn't be free to pull a dagger and hurl it and a dagger vanishes if you don't hurl it right away.
So as an action you pull one or two daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, depending on how many hand free can pull them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Good day people,
Can you please assist me , because i am getting confused with that item.
We have a rogue in our partty of level 13 , and he has bracers of flying daggers. What is the formula mechanism here.
Rogues have Action and Bonus action, so if i did not have these bracers
I would use my action to throw 1 dagger
Attack roll d20+prof bonus+dex modifier , and dmg=1k4+dex modifier
bonus action to throw 2nd dagger , but damage would be dmg=1k4 only without modification
But if i equip bracers, i can throw 2 daggers in 1 action (2 attacks)
but for 2nd dagger for it TO hit, and DAMAGE, do i also add dex modifier, or no?
The relevant rule here is two-weapon fighting.
Take note of the bolded text. The bracer of flying daggers overrides how attacking normally works. It allows you to take a special action to hurl two daggers. This means, you are not taking the Attack action. So the bonus action attack provided by two-weapon fighting would not be possible.
As the DM, you can of course always override this. As such, it's up to you to decide if the damage modifier would be applicable or not. If we were to homebrew the item to use the Attack action, it's clear that it doesn't add the modifier, as stated in the two-weapon fighting rules.
Bracer of Flying Daggers does not utilise the two fighting rules. Each dagger is resolved normally - to hit: d20 + Dex + PB + any additional bonuses, and damage is D4 + Dex + any additional bonuses.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
But item description does not state that it overwrites the action
it just says as an action u can take out 2 daggers)))
I did not understand why it gives u extra special action to take them out and throw it.
Rogues don't have extra attack and this item just makes them broken in that case :D ?
So Rogue can throw daggers , then with main action approach hit, and then hit with bonus action ))?
They can't just do both. On your turn you get one action and one bonus action. So the rogue has to decide if they attack normally with their Attack action, or if they use the bracer of flying dagger action instead.
thank you very much for your explanation,
i got it now
No it says that "As an action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them". So you both make and throw the daggers in the same action.
It is a good item for a Rogue but it isn't super strong as they don't get any more attacks than they usually could make (two), it just frees up their bonus action for other utility stuff.
Where do you guys stand on whether or not using this item requires 0, 1 or 2 free hands to throw both daggers? How about choosing to only throw one dagger? If the rogue is currently wielding two shortswords, is he required to stow or drop one or both of these before using the item? What if the rogue was somehow proficient in shields and wanted to have a shield equipped while using this item?
Always played this as you have to have a hand free to make the attacks, but can both be made with the same hand. Whether that's pulling them one by one and attacking or throwing both with one hand anime-style is up to interpretation/flavor, that part makes no difference. Played a Rogue/Sorcerer with this item for a good while and no DM ever had an issue with that (was on a server with multiple DMs). My character did the double-dagger toss. Usually had a magic shortsword in the other hand, would bounce between throwing daggers and two-weapon fighting with shortswords in combat.
1 or 2. A Bracer of Flying Daggers need at least one free hand to pull a dagger from it. Since as an action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, to me its essentially 1 hand per dagger. Any hand occupied by a weapon, shield other object wouldn't be free to pull a dagger and hurl it and a dagger vanishes if you don't hurl it right away.
So as an action you pull one or two daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, depending on how many hand free can pull them.