just curious, im wondering if u could use inflict wounds as an opportunity attack with the warcaster feat. i was allowed to do this once in a session, and was later told not allowed.
RAW it's definitely valid, particularly since War Caster eliminates any hang-ups that having your hands full would otherwise present. The only requirements on the reactive spell is that it have a one action casting time and only target the one creature, and Inflict Wounds meets both criteria. About the only general rules reason I can think of that would block it would be if you'd somehow already cast a leveled spell that turn- meaning it would have to happen on your turn- and while there's probably a few ways a creature could end up moving away from you on your turn after you'd already cast a leveled spell, that's an extremely specific and highly unlikely scenario.
Your DM might be thinking that a spell "targets" a creature only when there is an attack roll involved, which is not the case. Also, the Feat does not require an attack to be made for this particular Opportunity Attack, only that the spell itself targets (only) the creature in question (the general rules for an Opportunity Attack are replaced by this specific exception that is defined by the Feat).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
just curious, im wondering if u could use inflict wounds as an opportunity attack with the warcaster feat. i was allowed to do this once in a session, and was later told not allowed.
I think it's perfectly valid under both the 2014 and 2024 versions of the War Caster feat.
EDIT: rule added.
RAW it's definitely valid, particularly since War Caster eliminates any hang-ups that having your hands full would otherwise present. The only requirements on the reactive spell is that it have a one action casting time and only target the one creature, and Inflict Wounds meets both criteria. About the only general rules reason I can think of that would block it would be if you'd somehow already cast a leveled spell that turn- meaning it would have to happen on your turn- and while there's probably a few ways a creature could end up moving away from you on your turn after you'd already cast a leveled spell, that's an extremely specific and highly unlikely scenario.
Your DM might be thinking that a spell "targets" a creature only when there is an attack roll involved, which is not the case. Also, the Feat does not require an attack to be made for this particular Opportunity Attack, only that the spell itself targets (only) the creature in question (the general rules for an Opportunity Attack are replaced by this specific exception that is defined by the Feat).