On page 41 of Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, under "Superior Technique" can be found this bit of ambiguity:
"You gain one superiority die, which is a d6 (this die is added to any superiority dice you have from another source). This die is used to fuel your maneuvers. A superiority die is expended when you use it."
Exactly what is meant by "fuel your maneuvers"? Please explain the actual game mechanics thereof.
I'm creating a D&D character for a new-to-the-genre player, and this rule be a bafflement to this 1st-edition old-timer. Thank you for any assistance.
Maneuvers are from the the battle master archetype of the fighter class, with superior technique you can learn one maneuver of that archetype and get that superiority die.
It functions a little bit like hit dice in that you have a certain number of them which can be "used" -- this is a limited resource which can be replenished after completing which ever type of rest is specified (short rest in this case?) . . . (sort of like how you can eventually replenish your number of hit dice by resting). The specifics for how the die is actually used will vary depending on the particular maneuver that you are using -- you will often roll the die and add the result of that die roll to an attack or a healing effect or whatever the maneuver says in its description. Once used in this way, you'll have one less of these available for use until they are replenished.
The beginning of the description for "Superior Technique" should answer your question:
You learn one maneuver of your choice from among those available to the Battle Master archetype.
Yes, but what is the d6 actually used for?
Depends on what maneuver you select. The maneuver description will tell you.
For example:
Goading Attack
When you hit a creature with an attack roll, you can expend one Superiority Die to attempt to goad the target into attacking you. Add the Superiority Die to the attack’s damage roll. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or have Disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you until the end of your next turn.
Depends on what maneuver you select. The maneuver description will tell you.
For example:
Goading Attack
When you hit a creature with an attack roll, you can expend one Superiority Die to attempt to goad the target into attacking you. Add the Superiority Die to the attack’s damage roll. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or have Disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you until the end of your next turn.
Clearer now. So now I'm interpreting VanZoeren's quote from Tasha's as follows (just to see if I've missed anything):
"Superior Technique
You select one* maneuver of your choice from among those available to the Battle Master archetype [These maneuvers are detailed on page 42] ... You gain one superiority dice, which is a d6 (this die is added to any superiority dice you have from another source).This die is used to fuel your maneuvers; [in other words, when you execute the selected maneuver, that maneuver's description will spell out what exactly you need to do with the d6 result (Example "...add the superiority die [result] to the weapon's damage roll).]"
*Assumption: Once the player has selected their character's maneuver from the list on page 42 of Tasha's, the character is stuck with it; they cannot change it without the DM's go-ahead (?). If they can change it at some point, I cannot find any reference to this allowance.
Please reply with any corrections or comments, and thank you all for your time and assistance.
You gain one superiority dice, which is a d6 (this die is added to any superiority dice you have from another source).This die is used to fuel your maneuvers; [in other words, when you execute the selected maneuver, that maneuver's description will spell out what exactly you need to do with the d6 result (Example "...add the superiority die [result] to the weapon's damage roll).]"
You select one* maneuver of your choice from among those available to the Battle Master archetype [These maneuvers are detailed on page 42]
Yes and no. The ones detailed in Tasha's are additional maneuvers. There are more in the Battlemaster sub-class (2014 or 2024 depending upon what rules set you use).
*Assumption: Once the player has selected their character's maneuver from the list on page 42 of Tasha's, the character is stuck with it; they cannot change it without the DM's go-ahead (?). If they can change it at some point, I cannot find any reference to this allowance.
It depends really. The fighting style in itself has no allowance for changing (the Battlemaster sub-class does though). But as this is an optional rule from Tasha's then you are likely using other optional rules from Tasha's and then you have this one (detailed between the fighting style and maneuvers you are looking at).
Martial Versatility
4th-level fighter feature
Whenever you reach a level in this class that grants the Ability Score Improvement feature, you can do one of the following, as you shift the focus of your martial practice:
Replace a fighting style you know with another fighting style available to fighters.
If you know any maneuvers from the Battle Master archetype, you can replace one maneuver you know with a different maneuver.
Finally. If you are making this for a new player then I'd suggest either going for the Battlemaster sub-class or picking another fighting style, this kind of mix and match might be somewhat confusing. Ofc that depends on how experienced the player is in role-playing games in general.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
On page 41 of Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, under "Superior Technique" can be found this bit of ambiguity:
"You gain one superiority die, which is a d6 (this die is added to any superiority dice you have from another source). This die is used to fuel your maneuvers. A superiority die is expended when you use it."
Exactly what is meant by "fuel your maneuvers"? Please explain the actual game mechanics thereof.
I'm creating a D&D character for a new-to-the-genre player, and this rule be a bafflement to this 1st-edition old-timer. Thank you for any assistance.
(Soon-to-have-my-display-named-changed) Gonzo48040
Maneuvers are from the the battle master archetype of the fighter class, with superior technique you can learn one maneuver of that archetype and get that superiority die.
The beginning of the description for "Superior Technique" should answer your question:
You learn one maneuver of your choice from among those available to the Battle Master archetype.
I know what you're thinking: "In that flurry of blows, did he use all his ki points, or save one?" Well, are ya feeling lucky, punk?
Yes, but what is the d6 actually used for?
It functions a little bit like hit dice in that you have a certain number of them which can be "used" -- this is a limited resource which can be replenished after completing which ever type of rest is specified (short rest in this case?) . . . (sort of like how you can eventually replenish your number of hit dice by resting). The specifics for how the die is actually used will vary depending on the particular maneuver that you are using -- you will often roll the die and add the result of that die roll to an attack or a healing effect or whatever the maneuver says in its description. Once used in this way, you'll have one less of these available for use until they are replenished.
Depends on what maneuver you select. The maneuver description will tell you.
For example:
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Yes (for full explanation look at the Battlemaster sub-class).
Yes and no. The ones detailed in Tasha's are additional maneuvers. There are more in the Battlemaster sub-class (2014 or 2024 depending upon what rules set you use).
It depends really. The fighting style in itself has no allowance for changing (the Battlemaster sub-class does though). But as this is an optional rule from Tasha's then you are likely using other optional rules from Tasha's and then you have this one (detailed between the fighting style and maneuvers you are looking at).
Finally. If you are making this for a new player then I'd suggest either going for the Battlemaster sub-class or picking another fighting style, this kind of mix and match might be somewhat confusing. Ofc that depends on how experienced the player is in role-playing games in general.