As long as the spell has the ritual tag then any caster can cast it as a ritual. As WolfOfTheBees points out it has to be prepared. Except for wizards. It just has to be in their spell book, like 2014.
Not sure if this works with a character that gains a ritual spell via Magic Initiate feat. I assume so.
Not sure if this works with a character that gains a ritual spell via Magic Initiate feat. I assume so.
It should work. A spell obtained via Magic Initiate follows the same rules for Rituals:
Rituals. Certain spells have the Ritual tag in the Casting Time entry. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or it can be cast as a Ritual. The Ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal, but it doesn’t expend a spell slot. To cast a spell as a Ritual, a spellcaster must have it prepared.
Other feats may have other wordings. For example, the initiate feats say that you have the first level spell prepared, but don't say the same thing about cantrips (not that any of those are rituals anyway).
Some of the older sourcebook feats that give you spells only say that you "learn" the spells, not that they're always prepared. Many of these feats are marked as legacy (shadow touched, etc). On the other hand, there are still feats like fey teleportation that have no direct replacement and do not say that you have the spell always prepared.
I think that the statement from the first part of the gaining spells rules "Before you can cast a spell, you must have the spell prepared in your mind [or...]" intends that any spell learned and permanently fixed in your mind counts as always prepared in the new 2024 phb.
Other feats may have other wordings. For example, the initiate feats say that you have the first level spell prepared, but don't say the same thing about cantrips (not that any of those are rituals anyway).
I don't understand, in the 2014 only some casters can cast spells with Ritual..
In 2024 only the wizard can do It? Or all spellcasters?
Or the spellcasters now Need the feat Ritual Caster?
All casters can cast ritual spells ritually in 2024 as long as the spell is prepared. The wizard gains the ability to cast from their book.
As long as the spell has the ritual tag then any caster can cast it as a ritual. As WolfOfTheBees points out it has to be prepared. Except for wizards. It just has to be in their spell book, like 2014.
Not sure if this works with a character that gains a ritual spell via Magic Initiate feat. I assume so.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
It should work. A spell obtained via Magic Initiate follows the same rules for Rituals:
There are already some related posts:
It is clear from the text of the feat that spells that you gain from ritual caster count as prepared.
In addition, spells you gain as subclass or racial features also count as always prepared.
Other feats may have other wordings. For example, the initiate feats say that you have the first level spell prepared, but don't say the same thing about cantrips (not that any of those are rituals anyway).
Some of the older sourcebook feats that give you spells only say that you "learn" the spells, not that they're always prepared. Many of these feats are marked as legacy (shadow touched, etc). On the other hand, there are still feats like fey teleportation that have no direct replacement and do not say that you have the spell always prepared.
I think that the statement from the first part of the gaining spells rules "Before you can cast a spell, you must have the spell prepared in your mind [or...]" intends that any spell learned and permanently fixed in your mind counts as always prepared in the new 2024 phb.
I recalled a brief discussion on the terminology of known cantrips and prepared spells in the thread Agonizing Blast (2024) and Pact of the Tome (2024), in case it’s of interest to you.