I'm so sorry if this was covered in another thread, but can I get confirmation on how Moonbeam or even Conjure Animals and similar spells are allowed to move?
It doesn't say it teleports like Cloud of daggers, so it moves, but is there any restriction on HOW it moves? Does it have to move from point A to point B in a straight line? Or can I orbital laser my way through every enemy I can see for the full 60ft?
IMO, choosing the path freely makes sense, but other DMs might rule it differently.
Everything I’ve looked at recently recommends the spell moves as you wish & affects anything that comes into contact with it, once per turn no matter how it comes in contact (creature moves in, spell moves to it, creature is forced in, creature goes through, spell goes through, when it’s cast or creature finishes it’s turn there). A creature can start its turn & move out of the beam without being affected.
A creature can be affected more than once per round, on different turns.
Would be really good to hear from a dnd designer for confirmation though.
Everything I’ve looked at recently recommends the spell moves as you wish & affects anything that comes into contact with it, once per round no matter how it comes in contact (creature moves in, spell moves to it, creature is forced in, creature goes through, spell goes through, when it’s cast or creature finishes it’s turn there). A creature can start it’s turn & move out of the beam without being affected.
A creature can be affected more than once per round, on different turns.
Would be really good to hear from a dnd designer for confirmation though.
I think the important wording is that you only make the save once per turn. You only take damage if you fail the save. If you don't make a save, you can't take damage because you didn't fail the save. I feel like if the intent was to be able to do damage to the same creature over and over again, it would just do that much damage to start with.
But Still, this spell do more damage the more enemies you have since if you have 13 enemies(60 feet so can only move 12 squares) standing next to each other, you can hit them dealing roughly (lets assume the damage is 10 since its 2d10) 130 damage in total from hitting 10 damage each enemy which is crazy to me
IMO, choosing the path freely makes sense, but other DMs might rule it differently.
I would agree; the fact that Cloud of Daggers says "teleport" to me implies that other ones that just say "move" are meant to behave differently.
pronouns: he/she/they
If it helps: When spells can be moved, must it be in a straight line? - (from RPG Stack Exchange)
Everything I’ve looked at recently recommends the spell moves as you wish & affects anything that comes into contact with it, once per turn no matter how it comes in contact (creature moves in, spell moves to it, creature is forced in, creature goes through, spell goes through, when it’s cast or creature finishes it’s turn there). A creature can start its turn & move out of the beam without being affected.
A creature can be affected more than once per round, on different turns.
Would be really good to hear from a dnd designer for confirmation though.
I think the important wording is that you only make the save once per turn.
You only take damage if you fail the save. If you don't make a save, you can't take damage because you didn't fail the save. I feel like if the intent was to be able to do damage to the same creature over and over again, it would just do that much damage to start with.
But Still, this spell do more damage the more enemies you have since if you have 13 enemies(60 feet so can only move 12 squares) standing next to each other, you can hit them dealing roughly (lets assume the damage is 10 since its 2d10) 130 damage in total from hitting 10 damage each enemy which is crazy to me
without considering the save throw ofc