In the new 2024 rules, if your mount Disengages and moves you both away from an enemy, can the enemy take an Attack of Opportunity against you, the rider?
No, the rider does not leaves the enemy's reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds so it doesn't provoke an Opportunity Attack.
If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the current turn.
When a mount disengages, it can not provoke any opportunity attacks, so that would include its rider as well.
I'd like to add that, even if the mount isn't taking the Disengage action, the rider wouldn't provoke an Opportunity Attack for the reasons given by Plaguescarred.
@ChewBobcca if a mount takes the Disengage action does the rider provoke opportunity attacks? @JeremyECrawford No, since the mount isn't provoking them and the rider is being moved by someone else's movement (PH, 195)
I think my only issue with that is that in 2024 it specifically states that if the mount provokes an opportunity attack you can target either the mount or the rider.
So it would seem what Crawford said would still hold true, I think the rules made it a little more complicated by allowing the rider to be targeted. Though I don't remember how it worked in 2024.
Did you mean 2014, right? If so, yes, the 2014 line "In either case, if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it, the attacker can target you or the mount" is not in the 2024 PHB.
So if we follow the Opportunity Attack rules, when the mount provokes one, I'd say the target should be the mount, not the rider.
Yeah found the wording in the rules like was said above: "You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction." Doesn't even say you were forced to move, just "when someone or something moves you." Seems pretty clear no. And Crawford's clarification basically confirms it.
The only potentially confusing part seems to be something not carried over from 2014 anyway: "if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it, the attacker can target you or the mount." But if my mount disengages, then it doesn't trigger an opportunity attack, the stated condition. So fairly clear I think.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
In the new 2024 rules, if your mount Disengages and moves you both away from an enemy, can the enemy take an Attack of Opportunity against you, the rider?
I think in the 2014 rules an enemy could not (?).
Thanks!
No. Here are the rules for Disengage:
Disengage [Action]
If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the current turn.
When a mount disengages, it can not provoke any opportunity attacks, so that would include its rider as well.
No, the rider does not leaves the enemy's reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds so it doesn't provoke an Opportunity Attack.
I'd like to add that, even if the mount isn't taking the Disengage action, the rider wouldn't provoke an Opportunity Attack for the reasons given by Plaguescarred.
If it helps, this reply about the differences between versions is from another related thread:
All very helpful, thank you.
Yeah found the wording in the rules like was said above: "You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction." Doesn't even say you were forced to move, just "when someone or something moves you." Seems pretty clear no. And Crawford's clarification basically confirms it.
The only potentially confusing part seems to be something not carried over from 2014 anyway: "if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it, the attacker can target you or the mount." But if my mount disengages, then it doesn't trigger an opportunity attack, the stated condition. So fairly clear I think.