Hold on, putting it in a bag of holding or not, if you're moving it 10 feet away, you're triggering it to break the Glyph. I don't see how it wouldn't break the spell.
Also, I don't know of any Dm's who would allow this anyways, it kind of destroys the point of the Glyph of Warding spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Uh, I have Illusory Script. I think I can read that."
If the glyph is done inside the bag which does have limit space 64 cubic ft which is 4x4x4. So the glyph will never travel more then 10ft on that plane of existence inside. You can carry the bag of holding and have an active glyph in the bag as long as you don't remove it, even then you can argue that leaving the bag is only a few feet.
It's not a normal bag, yes I get the idea what you are saying. Anything in the bag moves moves 10FT + the spell ends because the inside dimension also moves. However with a bag of holding the space inside doesn't exist with you but the bag acts as a doorway to accessing the space. IE the Tardis compresses space into a booth, so yes moving the Tardis around moves everything inside parallel with this plane of existence. When the Tardis gets hit hard people inside get knocked around. The contents of a bag of holding exists on another plane. If you were place inside a bag of holding and the bag catapulted you wouldn't suddenly be slammed to the sides. Here I found this
. Extraplanar is about where a being comes from, while extradimensional is about where a space exists.
Basically you're carrying access to a closet on the astral sea/plane.
Basically you're carrying access to a closet on the astral sea/plane.
Right?
That's not how I think of it. It's not a "closet" because the items inside aren't floating around bumping into each other. If you dump a bunch of swords into a bag of holding and then roll up a tapestry and slide it in, the tapestry is in no danger of being chopped up by all those loose swords
I think of it as working more like banishment, where each thing you put into the bag is in its own "space"
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
It's not really explained how items are stored in the extradimensional space of a Bag of Holding, a priori i would think it does the same as a numdane space.
To be honest, in 35+ years i never really bothered both as player and DM, simply storing or retrieving items from it.
From the description of the bag and how it works when it is ruptured (overfilled) and when another extradimensional item is placed in it, it does seem reasonable that the inside of the bag exists on another plane, specifically the Astral Plane. That is how you can load it up with 500 lbs of material and the bag itself never weighs more than 5 lbs. The bag basically acts as an opening to that extradimensional space that exists on the Astral Plane.
The big question here is: does that extra-dimensional space move around in the Astral Plane while you move on the Material Plane? We know things can move around in the Astral Plane. That's where Astral Dreadnaughts and Gith fly around. So is the space created by the bag stationary, or does it move in concert with your movements on the Material Plane?
This, as far as I can tell, is never spelled out in the description of items or any rules I can find. As the bag never "randomly ruptures" from being dragged across floating islands in the Astral Sea, it might make sense that it occupies a singular space and does not move relative to your position on the Material Plane. But of course this would all be up to DM fiat.
At any rate, I wouldn't really have a problem with someone casting a Glyph of Warding in a Bag of Holding. The Glyph would be unable to be removed or effect things on the Material Plane, so I'm not entirely sure what the use might be. To trigger the Glyph I would rule that someone had to be in the Bag itself.
That’s a lot of assumptions based on a flawed premise. The item doesn’t say it open into the astral plane, so the reasonable thing is to think it does not, Unlike something like secret chest, which specifies the location where it goes. Moreover, it does say it opens into an extra dimensional space, so that’s what it does. The astral plane is not extra dimensional, it’s part of the D&D multiverse, which is to say part of that dimension. Of course, your table is free to rule otherwise.
And to the actual debate, I’d agree with others that say putting it in the bag breaks the spell.
That's not actually true, from what I can read. Both the Legacy and 2024 versions simply state that "This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions—roughly 2 feet square and 4 feet deep on the inside." It never says the bag opens up to an extradimensional space. It does say "Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." However, note that both of these items have the explicit description of (Handy Haversack): "This backpack has a central pouch and two side pouches, each of which is an extradimensional space." and (Portable Hole): "You can take a Magic action to unfold a Portable Hole and place it on or against a solid surface, whereupon the Portable Hole creates an extradimensional hole 10 feet deep."
That language is never used in either description (from what I can see on D&D Beyond) for the Bag of Holding. What it does say is that "If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane," and "Placing a Bag of Holding inside an extradimensional space created by a Heward’s Handy Haversack, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." I think from this description, especially that overloading, piercing, or tearing the bag sends the contents to the Astral Plane, it makes sense that the inside of the bag at least borders the Astral Plane in some way. If you put 501lbs of stuff in there, the bag is overloaded and ruptures onto the plane of existence that it rests in. That's not explicitly stated, but to me it makes logical sense that if I am in a container and I break out of that container into an area that is 50 ft below the surface of the ocean, that the container was most likely 50 ft below the surface of the ocean.
Now of course there is magic involved and again it is never explicitly stated in the rules that the inside of the bag exists on the Astral Plane, so any DM is free to rule however they wish. But to me it makes a lot of sense that it does exist there, given the description of the object interaction. It reminds me of the Animorphs series, where when they morph into an animal smaller than themselves, the extra mass they are "losing" is shunted into Zero-Space. Same concept here.
From the description of the bag and how it works when it is ruptured (overfilled) and when another extradimensional item is placed in it, it does seem reasonable that the inside of the bag exists on another plane, specifically the Astral Plane. That is how you can load it up with 500 lbs of material and the bag itself never weighs more than 5 lbs. The bag basically acts as an opening to that extradimensional space that exists on the Astral Plane.
The big question here is: does that extra-dimensional space move around in the Astral Plane while you move on the Material Plane? We know things can move around in the Astral Plane. That's where Astral Dreadnaughts and Gith fly around. So is the space created by the bag stationary, or does it move in concert with your movements on the Material Plane?
This, as far as I can tell, is never spelled out in the description of items or any rules I can find. As the bag never "randomly ruptures" from being dragged across floating islands in the Astral Sea, it might make sense that it occupies a singular space and does not move relative to your position on the Material Plane. But of course this would all be up to DM fiat.
At any rate, I wouldn't really have a problem with someone casting a Glyph of Warding in a Bag of Holding. The Glyph would be unable to be removed or effect things on the Material Plane, so I'm not entirely sure what the use might be. To trigger the Glyph I would rule that someone had to be in the Bag itself.
That’s a lot of assumptions based on a flawed premise. The item doesn’t say it open into the astral plane, so the reasonable thing is to think it does not, Unlike something like secret chest, which specifies the location where it goes. Moreover, it does say it opens into an extra dimensional space, so that’s what it does. The astral plane is not extra dimensional, it’s part of the D&D multiverse, which is to say part of that dimension. Of course, your table is free to rule otherwise.
And to the actual debate, I’d agree with others that say putting it in the bag breaks the spell.
That's not actually true, from what I can read. Both the Legacy and 2024 versions simply state that "This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions—roughly 2 feet square and 4 feet deep on the inside." It never says the bag opens up to an extradimensional space. It does say "Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." However, note that both of these items have the explicit description of (Handy Haversack): "This backpack has a central pouch and two side pouches, each of which is an extradimensional space." and (Portable Hole): "You can take a Magic action to unfold a Portable Hole and place it on or against a solid surface, whereupon the Portable Hole creates an extradimensional hole 10 feet deep."
That language is never used in either description (from what I can see on D&D Beyond) for the Bag of Holding. What it does say is that "If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane," and "Placing a Bag of Holding inside an extradimensional space created by a Heward’s Handy Haversack, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." I think from this description, especially that overloading, piercing, or tearing the bag sends the contents to the Astral Plane, it makes sense that the inside of the bag at least borders the Astral Plane in some way. If you put 501lbs of stuff in there, the bag is overloaded and ruptures onto the plane of existence that it rests in. That's not explicitly stated, but to me it makes logical sense that if I am in a container and I break out of that container into an area that is 50 ft below the surface of the ocean, that the container was most likely 50 ft below the surface of the ocean.
Now of course there is magic involved and again it is never explicitly stated in the rules that the inside of the bag exists on the Astral Plane, so any DM is free to rule however they wish. But to me it makes a lot of sense that it does exist there, given the description of the object interaction. It reminds me of the Animorphs series, where when they morph into an animal smaller than themselves, the extra mass they are "losing" is shunted into Zero-Space. Same concept here.
You are looking in the wrong places for the place it says that it is an extradimensional
from the handy haversack description
Placing the haversack inside an extradimensional space created by a bag of holding, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it and deposited in a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can't be reopened.
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO. The best name for the mad gibber
From the description of the bag and how it works when it is ruptured (overfilled) and when another extradimensional item is placed in it, it does seem reasonable that the inside of the bag exists on another plane, specifically the Astral Plane. That is how you can load it up with 500 lbs of material and the bag itself never weighs more than 5 lbs. The bag basically acts as an opening to that extradimensional space that exists on the Astral Plane.
The big question here is: does that extra-dimensional space move around in the Astral Plane while you move on the Material Plane? We know things can move around in the Astral Plane. That's where Astral Dreadnaughts and Gith fly around. So is the space created by the bag stationary, or does it move in concert with your movements on the Material Plane?
This, as far as I can tell, is never spelled out in the description of items or any rules I can find. As the bag never "randomly ruptures" from being dragged across floating islands in the Astral Sea, it might make sense that it occupies a singular space and does not move relative to your position on the Material Plane. But of course this would all be up to DM fiat.
At any rate, I wouldn't really have a problem with someone casting a Glyph of Warding in a Bag of Holding. The Glyph would be unable to be removed or effect things on the Material Plane, so I'm not entirely sure what the use might be. To trigger the Glyph I would rule that someone had to be in the Bag itself.
That’s a lot of assumptions based on a flawed premise. The item doesn’t say it open into the astral plane, so the reasonable thing is to think it does not, Unlike something like secret chest, which specifies the location where it goes. Moreover, it does say it opens into an extra dimensional space, so that’s what it does. The astral plane is not extra dimensional, it’s part of the D&D multiverse, which is to say part of that dimension. Of course, your table is free to rule otherwise.
And to the actual debate, I’d agree with others that say putting it in the bag breaks the spell.
That's not actually true, from what I can read. Both the Legacy and 2024 versions simply state that "This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions—roughly 2 feet square and 4 feet deep on the inside." It never says the bag opens up to an extradimensional space. It does say "Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." However, note that both of these items have the explicit description of (Handy Haversack): "This backpack has a central pouch and two side pouches, each of which is an extradimensional space." and (Portable Hole): "You can take a Magic action to unfold a Portable Hole and place it on or against a solid surface, whereupon the Portable Hole creates an extradimensional hole 10 feet deep."
That language is never used in either description (from what I can see on D&D Beyond) for the Bag of Holding. What it does say is that "If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane," and "Placing a Bag of Holding inside an extradimensional space created by a Heward’s Handy Haversack, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." I think from this description, especially that overloading, piercing, or tearing the bag sends the contents to the Astral Plane, it makes sense that the inside of the bag at least borders the Astral Plane in some way. If you put 501lbs of stuff in there, the bag is overloaded and ruptures onto the plane of existence that it rests in. That's not explicitly stated, but to me it makes logical sense that if I am in a container and I break out of that container into an area that is 50 ft below the surface of the ocean, that the container was most likely 50 ft below the surface of the ocean.
Now of course there is magic involved and again it is never explicitly stated in the rules that the inside of the bag exists on the Astral Plane, so any DM is free to rule however they wish. But to me it makes a lot of sense that it does exist there, given the description of the object interaction. It reminds me of the Animorphs series, where when they morph into an animal smaller than themselves, the extra mass they are "losing" is shunted into Zero-Space. Same concept here.
You are looking in the wrong places for the place it says that it is an extradimensional
from the handy haversack description
Placing the haversack inside an extradimensional space created by a bag of holding, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it and deposited in a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can't be reopened.
Ah, that makes sense. I should have thought to check different item descriptions for how a particular item works. Truly the brilliance of WotC writing. "Does this create an extra-dimensional space? It certainly doesn't say it does, unlike these other items, which are explicit that they create an extra-dimensional space. Oh wait, in the OTHER items that are explicit, it also suggests the FIRST item DOES create an extra-dimensional space."
From the description of the bag and how it works when it is ruptured (overfilled) and when another extradimensional item is placed in it, it does seem reasonable that the inside of the bag exists on another plane, specifically the Astral Plane. That is how you can load it up with 500 lbs of material and the bag itself never weighs more than 5 lbs. The bag basically acts as an opening to that extradimensional space that exists on the Astral Plane.
The big question here is: does that extra-dimensional space move around in the Astral Plane while you move on the Material Plane? We know things can move around in the Astral Plane. That's where Astral Dreadnaughts and Gith fly around. So is the space created by the bag stationary, or does it move in concert with your movements on the Material Plane?
This, as far as I can tell, is never spelled out in the description of items or any rules I can find. As the bag never "randomly ruptures" from being dragged across floating islands in the Astral Sea, it might make sense that it occupies a singular space and does not move relative to your position on the Material Plane. But of course this would all be up to DM fiat.
At any rate, I wouldn't really have a problem with someone casting a Glyph of Warding in a Bag of Holding. The Glyph would be unable to be removed or effect things on the Material Plane, so I'm not entirely sure what the use might be. To trigger the Glyph I would rule that someone had to be in the Bag itself.
That’s a lot of assumptions based on a flawed premise. The item doesn’t say it open into the astral plane, so the reasonable thing is to think it does not, Unlike something like secret chest, which specifies the location where it goes. Moreover, it does say it opens into an extra dimensional space, so that’s what it does. The astral plane is not extra dimensional, it’s part of the D&D multiverse, which is to say part of that dimension. Of course, your table is free to rule otherwise.
And to the actual debate, I’d agree with others that say putting it in the bag breaks the spell.
That's not actually true, from what I can read. Both the Legacy and 2024 versions simply state that "This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions—roughly 2 feet square and 4 feet deep on the inside." It never says the bag opens up to an extradimensional space. It does say "Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." However, note that both of these items have the explicit description of (Handy Haversack): "This backpack has a central pouch and two side pouches, each of which is an extradimensional space." and (Portable Hole): "You can take a Magic action to unfold a Portable Hole and place it on or against a solid surface, whereupon the Portable Hole creates an extradimensional hole 10 feet deep."
That language is never used in either description (from what I can see on D&D Beyond) for the Bag of Holding. What it does say is that "If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane," and "Placing a Bag of Holding inside an extradimensional space created by a Heward’s Handy Haversack, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." I think from this description, especially that overloading, piercing, or tearing the bag sends the contents to the Astral Plane, it makes sense that the inside of the bag at least borders the Astral Plane in some way. If you put 501lbs of stuff in there, the bag is overloaded and ruptures onto the plane of existence that it rests in. That's not explicitly stated, but to me it makes logical sense that if I am in a container and I break out of that container into an area that is 50 ft below the surface of the ocean, that the container was most likely 50 ft below the surface of the ocean.
Now of course there is magic involved and again it is never explicitly stated in the rules that the inside of the bag exists on the Astral Plane, so any DM is free to rule however they wish. But to me it makes a lot of sense that it does exist there, given the description of the object interaction. It reminds me of the Animorphs series, where when they morph into an animal smaller than themselves, the extra mass they are "losing" is shunted into Zero-Space. Same concept here.
You are looking in the wrong places for the place it says that it is an extradimensional
from the handy haversack description
Placing the haversack inside an extradimensional space created by a bag of holding, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it and deposited in a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can't be reopened.
Ah, that makes sense. I should have thought to check different item descriptions for how a particular item works. Truly the brilliance of WotC writing. "Does this create an extra-dimensional space? It certainly doesn't say it does, unlike these other items, which are explicit that they create an extra-dimensional space. Oh wait, in the OTHER items that are explicit, it also suggests the FIRST item DOES create an extra-dimensional space."
Well I stand corrected.
Well it certainly is funny
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO. The best name for the mad gibber
If you were to use a spell to teleport the glyph of warding over ten feet away, would you say that doesn't count as moving 10 ft?
it does becuase that moves the glyph
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO. The best name for the mad gibber
At the end of the day there’s no explicit RAW over how a Bag of Holding’s interior works relative to the movement of the bag itself, but the RAI is very clear that Glyph of Warding is not supposed to be portable, ergo the reasonable answer is that this exploit doesn’t work.
Hold on, putting it in a bag of holding or not, if you're moving it 10 feet away, you're triggering it to break the Glyph. I don't see how it wouldn't break the spell.
Also, I don't know of any Dm's who would allow this anyways, it kind of destroys the point of the Glyph of Warding spell.
"Uh, I have Illusory Script. I think I can read that."
If the glyph is done inside the bag which does have limit space 64 cubic ft which is 4x4x4. So the glyph will never travel more then 10ft on that plane of existence inside. You can carry the bag of holding and have an active glyph in the bag as long as you don't remove it, even then you can argue that leaving the bag is only a few feet.
other plane of existence or not, One is still moving the bag and therefore moving the object ten feet away from when the spell was cast.
"Uh, I have Illusory Script. I think I can read that."
It's not a normal bag, yes I get the idea what you are saying. Anything in the bag moves moves 10FT + the spell ends because the inside dimension also moves. However with a bag of holding the space inside doesn't exist with you but the bag acts as a doorway to accessing the space. IE the Tardis compresses space into a booth, so yes moving the Tardis around moves everything inside parallel with this plane of existence. When the Tardis gets hit hard people inside get knocked around. The contents of a bag of holding exists on another plane. If you were place inside a bag of holding and the bag catapulted you wouldn't suddenly be slammed to the sides. Here I found this
. Extraplanar is about where a being comes from, while extradimensional is about where a space exists.
Basically you're carrying access to a closet on the astral sea/plane.
Right?
That's not how I think of it. It's not a "closet" because the items inside aren't floating around bumping into each other. If you dump a bunch of swords into a bag of holding and then roll up a tapestry and slide it in, the tapestry is in no danger of being chopped up by all those loose swords
I think of it as working more like banishment, where each thing you put into the bag is in its own "space"
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
It's not really explained how items are stored in the extradimensional space of a Bag of Holding, a priori i would think it does the same as a numdane space.
To be honest, in 35+ years i never really bothered both as player and DM, simply storing or retrieving items from it.
That's not actually true, from what I can read. Both the Legacy and 2024 versions simply state that "This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions—roughly 2 feet square and 4 feet deep on the inside." It never says the bag opens up to an extradimensional space. It does say "Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." However, note that both of these items have the explicit description of (Handy Haversack): "This backpack has a central pouch and two side pouches, each of which is an extradimensional space." and (Portable Hole): "You can take a Magic action to unfold a Portable Hole and place it on or against a solid surface, whereupon the Portable Hole creates an extradimensional hole 10 feet deep."
That language is never used in either description (from what I can see on D&D Beyond) for the Bag of Holding. What it does say is that "If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane," and "Placing a Bag of Holding inside an extradimensional space created by a Heward’s Handy Haversack, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane." I think from this description, especially that overloading, piercing, or tearing the bag sends the contents to the Astral Plane, it makes sense that the inside of the bag at least borders the Astral Plane in some way. If you put 501lbs of stuff in there, the bag is overloaded and ruptures onto the plane of existence that it rests in. That's not explicitly stated, but to me it makes logical sense that if I am in a container and I break out of that container into an area that is 50 ft below the surface of the ocean, that the container was most likely 50 ft below the surface of the ocean.
Now of course there is magic involved and again it is never explicitly stated in the rules that the inside of the bag exists on the Astral Plane, so any DM is free to rule however they wish. But to me it makes a lot of sense that it does exist there, given the description of the object interaction. It reminds me of the Animorphs series, where when they morph into an animal smaller than themselves, the extra mass they are "losing" is shunted into Zero-Space. Same concept here.
You are looking in the wrong places for the place it says that it is an extradimensional
from the handy haversack description
Placing the haversack inside an extradimensional space created by a bag of holding, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it and deposited in a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can't be reopened.
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne
See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread
part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine
Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO.
The best name for the mad gibber
Ah, that makes sense. I should have thought to check different item descriptions for how a particular item works. Truly the brilliance of WotC writing. "Does this create an extra-dimensional space? It certainly doesn't say it does, unlike these other items, which are explicit that they create an extra-dimensional space. Oh wait, in the OTHER items that are explicit, it also suggests the FIRST item DOES create an extra-dimensional space."
Well I stand corrected.
Well it certainly is funny
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne
See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread
part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine
Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO.
The best name for the mad gibber
If you were to use a spell to teleport the glyph of warding over ten feet away, would you say that doesn't count as moving 10 ft?
"Uh, I have Illusory Script. I think I can read that."
it does becuase that moves the glyph
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne
See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread
part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine
Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO.
The best name for the mad gibber
At the end of the day there’s no explicit RAW over how a Bag of Holding’s interior works relative to the movement of the bag itself, but the RAI is very clear that Glyph of Warding is not supposed to be portable, ergo the reasonable answer is that this exploit doesn’t work.
first of all, No DM is doing this, because it ruins the idea of the spell.
And also, I believe moving it in a bag of holding would be just as much moving as a teleport.
You could try convincing yourself otherwise with elaborate loopholes but the answer is that in the world of D&D It just doesn't work.
"Uh, I have Illusory Script. I think I can read that."
Discussed here.
Thank you, exactly what I was going for. !