In 5.5e, Lucky applies to all d20 tests, so it works for death saves. In 5e, it applies to attack rolls, ability checks, and saving throws, and death saves are technically saving throws, so it also works.
I would say Halfling Luck would apply. Halfling Luck applies (in both 2024 and 2014) to Saving Throws, and in both 2014 and 2024 rules a Death Save is specifically a Saving Throw, so it should apply.
Luck points can be used for Saving Throws in the 2014 rules (I don't have access to the 2024 version), so they would also be able to be used for Death Saving Throws.
I would say Halfling Luck would apply. Halfling Luck applies (in both 2024 and 2014) to Saving Throws, and in both 2014 and 2024 rules a Death Save is specifically a Saving Throw, so it should apply.
Luck points can be used for Saving Throws in the 2014 rules (I don't have access to the 2024 version), so they would also be able to be used for Death Saving Throws.
The 2024 version of Lucky allows luck points to be used for any d20 Test, including all saving throws. However, unlike the 2014 version, it's providing advantage rather than a reroll, so you need to decide whether to use it before you actually roll.
Suppose I'm a halfling rolling a death save, and decide to spend a luck point to get advantage on the roll.
I roll a 1 and a 5.
Halfing luck says I can re-roll a 1, so I re-roll it and get a 20.
I'm up at 1 HP, yes?
Yes, that's correct.
When you have advantage or disadvantage, reroll effects like Halfling Luck only reroll one of the two dice, and you choose which one. The other die remains. So in your example, after the reroll you have a 5 and a 20, and because you have advantage the final result is a 20.
The rules for this interaction are spelled out here.
Suppose I'm a halfling rolling a death save, and decide to spend a luck point to get advantage on the roll.
I roll a 1 and a 5.
Halfing luck says I can re-roll a 1, so I re-roll it and get a 20.
I'm up at 1 HP, yes?
I don’t think this works. Advantage (‘24) says: If you have Advantage on a D20 Test, roll two d20s, and use the higher roll. At least, that’s the rules glossary version of advantage.
You don’t have the option to choose the lower roll if you roll with advantage, you have to use the higher roll. So, it’s like the 1 didn’t happen. You got a 5 on that roll, and halfling luck would not come into it.
See, I read that as you can choose which dice to re-roll if for some reason you are making multiple rolls, not that you can choose which die to use after all the rolling. Because, again, rules glossary under advantage is pretty unambiguous in saying “use the higher roll.” Probably to stop this sort of shenanigans.
"When you have Advantage or Disadvantage and something in the game lets you reroll or replace the d20, you can reroll or replace only one die, not both. You choose which one."
It seems pretty straightforward and clear to me. When you're rolling two d20s due to having advantage or disadvantage, and something lets you reroll "the d20", you choose one of the two dice to reroll. Then you take the higher or lower as appropriate.
This is in the 2024 rules because the 2014 rules didn't have a clear statement of how this was supposed to work.
I get that, and I’m also quoting the ‘24 rules when it says “use the higher roll.”
I’m saying in this case, you can’t have advantage and then choose to use the lower roll, which would then allow a 3rd roll for the same d20 test. I think the idea is to get rid of the stuff like super—advantage that could happen in ‘14.
I get that, and I’m also quoting the ‘24 rules when it says “use the higher roll.”
I’m saying in this case, you can’t have advantage and then choose to use the lower roll, which would then allow a 3rd roll for the same d20 test. I think the idea is to get rid of the stuff like super—advantage that could happen in ‘14.
Just to be clear, I'm not saying that you can choose to use the lower roll when you have advantage. I'm saying that when you have advantage and the ability to reroll the d20, you can choose either of the two d20s to reroll. The rule I quoted explicitly says that you can do exactly that thing. It gives an example using Heroic Inspiration for the reroll, but Halfling Luck works exactly the same way. There would be no reason to have this section of the rules at all if the general rules on advantage were meant to imply that you couldn't do this.
EDIT: I'm just using the rule text for practical reasons, but I'm adapting it to fit the proposed scenario:
For example, if you have Halfling Luck (*) and roll a 1 and a 5 on an ability check that has Advantage or Disadvantage, you could expend your Luck to reroll the 1 (e.g. to get a 20)
(*)Luck. When you roll a 1 on the d20 of a D20 Test, you can reroll the die, and you must use the new roll.
I get that, and I’m also quoting the ‘24 rules when it says “use the higher roll.”
I’m saying in this case, you can’t have advantage and then choose to use the lower roll, which would then allow a 3rd roll for the same d20 test. I think the idea is to get rid of the stuff like super—advantage that could happen in ‘14.
Nah you are wrong here. The determination of which die that is the "higher roll" isn't made until after the re-roll has been made.
In 5.5e, Lucky applies to all d20 tests, so it works for death saves. In 5e, it applies to attack rolls, ability checks, and saving throws, and death saves are technically saving throws, so it also works.
I would say Halfling Luck would apply. Halfling Luck applies (in both 2024 and 2014) to Saving Throws, and in both 2014 and 2024 rules a Death Save is specifically a Saving Throw, so it should apply.
Luck points can be used for Saving Throws in the 2014 rules (I don't have access to the 2024 version), so they would also be able to be used for Death Saving Throws.
The 2024 version of Lucky allows luck points to be used for any d20 Test, including all saving throws. However, unlike the 2014 version, it's providing advantage rather than a reroll, so you need to decide whether to use it before you actually roll.
pronouns: he/she/they
If I have luck points, I am absolutely using them to get advantage on the death saves.
It decreases the effect of a 1, and increases the chance of a 20.
Suppose I'm a halfling rolling a death save, and decide to spend a luck point to get advantage on the roll.
I roll a 1 and a 5.
Halfing luck says I can re-roll a 1, so I re-roll it and get a 20.
I'm up at 1 HP, yes?
Yes, that's correct.
When you have advantage or disadvantage, reroll effects like Halfling Luck only reroll one of the two dice, and you choose which one. The other die remains. So in your example, after the reroll you have a 5 and a 20, and because you have advantage the final result is a 20.
The rules for this interaction are spelled out here.
pronouns: he/she/they
I don’t think this works. Advantage (‘24) says: If you have Advantage on a D20 Test, roll two d20s, and use the higher roll. At least, that’s the rules glossary version of advantage.
You don’t have the option to choose the lower roll if you roll with advantage, you have to use the higher roll. So, it’s like the 1 didn’t happen. You got a 5 on that roll, and halfling luck would not come into it.
No, it does work under the 2024 rules. When you have a "reroll" effect on an advantaged or disadvantaged roll, you choose which of the two dice to reroll. Again, this is spelled out in the rules here: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/br-2024/playing-the-game#InteractionswithRerolls
pronouns: he/she/they
See, I read that as you can choose which dice to re-roll if for some reason you are making multiple rolls, not that you can choose which die to use after all the rolling. Because, again, rules glossary under advantage is pretty unambiguous in saying “use the higher roll.” Probably to stop this sort of shenanigans.
The actual text of the rule is:
"When you have Advantage or Disadvantage and something in the game lets you reroll or replace the d20, you can reroll or replace only one die, not both. You choose which one."
It seems pretty straightforward and clear to me. When you're rolling two d20s due to having advantage or disadvantage, and something lets you reroll "the d20", you choose one of the two dice to reroll. Then you take the higher or lower as appropriate.
This is in the 2024 rules because the 2014 rules didn't have a clear statement of how this was supposed to work.
pronouns: he/she/they
I get that, and I’m also quoting the ‘24 rules when it says “use the higher roll.”
I’m saying in this case, you can’t have advantage and then choose to use the lower roll, which would then allow a 3rd roll for the same d20 test. I think the idea is to get rid of the stuff like super—advantage that could happen in ‘14.
Just to be clear, I'm not saying that you can choose to use the lower roll when you have advantage. I'm saying that when you have advantage and the ability to reroll the d20, you can choose either of the two d20s to reroll. The rule I quoted explicitly says that you can do exactly that thing. It gives an example using Heroic Inspiration for the reroll, but Halfling Luck works exactly the same way. There would be no reason to have this section of the rules at all if the general rules on advantage were meant to imply that you couldn't do this.
pronouns: he/she/they
I think wagnarokkr is right.
EDIT: I'm just using the rule text for practical reasons, but I'm adapting it to fit the proposed scenario:
(*) Luck. When you roll a 1 on the d20 of a D20 Test, you can reroll the die, and you must use the new roll.
If helpful, here are some related threads about this feat or the Halfling trait:
Nah you are wrong here. The determination of which die that is the "higher roll" isn't made until after the re-roll has been made.
I see now where I was confused.
Thank you all for clearing that up.
"Tell me what D&D is about in three words."