In this scenario, the caster is on one side of a door with a window in it. The caster can see the room on the other side of the door appears empty, but cannot see the floor.
Can the caster use Misty Step to teleport to the other side or do they need to fully see the space? Do they need to see that it is unoccupied?
A space is unoccupied if no creatures are in it and it isn’t completely filled by objects.
So I'd say that if the caster doesn't see, for example, a creature in that space on the other side of the door, they can technically cast the spell. But if it turns out the space is occupied, then:
If the destination space of your teleportation is occupied by another creature or blocked by a solid obstacle, you instead appear in the nearest unoccupied space of your choice.
The description of a teleportation effect tells you if you must see the teleportation’s destination.
Teleportation spells aren't block by cover the way something like Firebolt is because most teleport spells have a range of Self. You have to meet the criteria for the destination such as "a space you can see within X of you", but you aren't casting to the destination and so a physical obstruction won't block the spell so long as you meet all the listed requirements for selecting a destination.
That answers the "through a window" part, but there is still the other half of the original question: Can you misty step into the air, or do you need to see something to land on. My understanding is that teleporting into the air without knowing what's below is fine (as far as rules go at least...), but it does make me wonder how you can see something that is just empty space.
IMO, you can cast Misty Step into the air or even underwater, as long as it's "an unoccupied space you can see". What happens next? That's part of the adventure.
The way total cover applies to a spell is contingent on that spell having a target or an area of effect, as described in the “A Clear Path to a Target” section in PHB chapter 7 and the Area of Effect glossary entry. Misty Step has neither, so cover doesn’t have any reason to block it. That’s all well and good for teleportation effects, however that logic leads to some questionable outcomes when applied more generally. As far as I can tell, by the RAW you can use the various Summon spells to affect a location within range that you can see, but might not be able to reach, like behind a Wall of Force or a location you can only see via your familiar. For that matter, are the Wall spells even considered AoEs by the glossary definition? I’m not sure. Tread carefully.
IMO, you can cast Misty Step into the air or even underwater, as long as it's "an unoccupied space you can see". What happens next? That's part of the adventure.
EDIT: fixed grammar.
Hmmm ... but is an area filled with water actually an unoccupied space? :)
"An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object" ... is water a non-living distinct thing? Or even a composite thing? :)
Personally, I'd allow Misty Step underwater but I know DMs whom I suspect might rule otherwise.
Hmmm ... but is an area filled with water actually an unoccupied space? :)
"An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object" ... is water a non-living distinct thing? Or even a composite thing? :)
Personally, I'd allow Misty Step underwater but I know DMs whom I suspect might rule otherwise.
In general, if water would be considered an object, so would gases.
IMO, you can cast Misty Step into the air or even underwater, as long as it's "an unoccupied space you can see". What happens next? That's part of the adventure.
EDIT: fixed grammar.
Hmmm ... but is an area filled with water actually an unoccupied space? :)
"An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object" ... is water a non-living distinct thing? Or even a composite thing? :)
Personally, I'd allow Misty Step underwater but I know DMs whom I suspect might rule otherwise.
A character or creature with no special abilities can occupy the space. For the game's mechanics, I think that makes it unoccupied.
IMO, you can cast Misty Step into the air or even underwater, as long as it's "an unoccupied space you can see". What happens next? That's part of the adventure.
EDIT: fixed grammar.
Hmmm ... but is an area filled with water actually an unoccupied space? :)
"An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object" ... is water a non-living distinct thing? Or even a composite thing? :)
Personally, I'd allow Misty Step underwater but I know DMs whom I suspect might rule otherwise.
My opinion is similar to Smite's or jl8e's. I mean, if you can swim in the water, why not use a teleport spell?
Also, when fighting underwater, it could be a good way to move your character.
IMO, you can cast Misty Step into the air or even underwater, as long as it's "an unoccupied space you can see". What happens next? That's part of the adventure.
EDIT: fixed grammar.
Hmmm ... but is an area filled with water actually an unoccupied space? :)
"An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object" ... is water a non-living distinct thing? Or even a composite thing? :)
Personally, I'd allow Misty Step underwater but I know DMs whom I suspect might rule otherwise.
An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object. See also “Breaking Objects.”
Air and water are not distinct things—distinct in this context means discrete, for example you can have an apple or two bricks. You cannot have a water or two airs. You can have a glass of water, but the glass is the object that is discrete.
So no, air and water do not occupy the space and therefore you can misty step through them
I don't think water count as Occupied Space since it's not an object and you can enter in it afterall. The same space completely filled with solid ice for example would count though.
An ocean, the atmosphere, a cloud, or a lake. These are all arguably distinct non–living things and therefore objects under the rules, but they aren’t solid objects which definitely exclude teleportation and should probably be the only objects that count for occupied spaces more generally. Note that a creature doesn’t have to be solid to block teleportation to the space it occupies, so you can’t teleport into a creature’s space even if it’s hollow, oozy, gaseous, or incorporeal.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
In this scenario, the caster is on one side of a door with a window in it. The caster can see the room on the other side of the door appears empty, but cannot see the floor.
Can the caster use Misty Step to teleport to the other side or do they need to fully see the space? Do they need to see that it is unoccupied?
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
According to the Rules Glossary:
And:
So I'd say that if the caster doesn't see, for example, a creature in that space on the other side of the door, they can technically cast the spell. But if it turns out the space is occupied, then:
EDIT: for clarity.
Right. I don't have a question about if it is unoccupied. Does the door with a (small) window block visibility of the space?
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
No it doesn't block it if one can see through and thus should allow Misty Step in the space if it can see it, and it is unoccupied.
Teleportation spells aren't block by cover the way something like Firebolt is because most teleport spells have a range of Self. You have to meet the criteria for the destination such as "a space you can see within X of you", but you aren't casting to the destination and so a physical obstruction won't block the spell so long as you meet all the listed requirements for selecting a destination.
That answers the "through a window" part, but there is still the other half of the original question: Can you misty step into the air, or do you need to see something to land on. My understanding is that teleporting into the air without knowing what's below is fine (as far as rules go at least...), but it does make me wonder how you can see something that is just empty space.
IMO, you can cast Misty Step into the air or even underwater, as long as it's "an unoccupied space you can see". What happens next? That's part of the adventure.
EDIT: fixed grammar.
The way total cover applies to a spell is contingent on that spell having a target or an area of effect, as described in the “A Clear Path to a Target” section in PHB chapter 7 and the Area of Effect glossary entry. Misty Step has neither, so cover doesn’t have any reason to block it. That’s all well and good for teleportation effects, however that logic leads to some questionable outcomes when applied more generally. As far as I can tell, by the RAW you can use the various Summon spells to affect a location within range that you can see, but might not be able to reach, like behind a Wall of Force or a location you can only see via your familiar. For that matter, are the Wall spells even considered AoEs by the glossary definition? I’m not sure. Tread carefully.
Hmmm ... but is an area filled with water actually an unoccupied space? :)
"An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object" ... is water a non-living distinct thing? Or even a composite thing? :)
Personally, I'd allow Misty Step underwater but I know DMs whom I suspect might rule otherwise.
In general, if water would be considered an object, so would gases.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
A character or creature with no special abilities can occupy the space. For the game's mechanics, I think that makes it unoccupied.
My opinion is similar to Smite's or jl8e's. I mean, if you can swim in the water, why not use a teleport spell?
Also, when fighting underwater, it could be a good way to move your character.
Air and water are neither creatures nor objects
Air and water are not distinct things—distinct in this context means discrete, for example you can have an apple or two bricks. You cannot have a water or two airs. You can have a glass of water, but the glass is the object that is discrete.
So no, air and water do not occupy the space and therefore you can misty step through them
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
I don't think water count as Occupied Space since it's not an object and you can enter in it afterall. The same space completely filled with solid ice for example would count though.
An ocean, the atmosphere, a cloud, or a lake. These are all arguably distinct non–living things and therefore objects under the rules, but they aren’t solid objects which definitely exclude teleportation and should probably be the only objects that count for occupied spaces more generally. Note that a creature doesn’t have to be solid to block teleportation to the space it occupies, so you can’t teleport into a creature’s space even if it’s hollow, oozy, gaseous, or incorporeal.