I'm not sure where this went in the middle, but an emanation will disappear from where the player was and will appear where the player goes to. Plenty of Clerics can teleport these days, it's so common. No, it doesn't drag across the intervening 30 feet. If it's the "when it appears" or "enters it space" it would proc on the new space just like when it was originally cast.
I would not let it disappear and reappear again in the same place against an enemy that was already in the emanation (like you teleported 5 ft). I would classify this as unclear in the rules but simple to rule as a DM.
If your DM lets you be Auril (not really an Auril, is it?) then sure, go for it if your table finds it fun, but as has been said, 2014 mobs with 2024 rules can be trouble.
) But, if I were DM'ing, I'd probably just say, nope, it doesn't work. Teleportation is instantaneous, and the gap isn't long enough to count as leaving and entering again. But, of course, you do what's right for your table.
A gap is a gap, whether it is 1 turn, 1 second, 1 nanosecond. Thus, that‘s your own interpretation.
I agree it’s my interpretation. That’s why I said “if I were DM’ing.” While I’d also point out that terms like 1 second or 1 nanosecond don’t not exist in RAW. But you asked for thoughts, I gave my thoughts.
But, if I were DM'ing, I'd probably just say, nope, it doesn't work. Teleportation is instantaneous, and the gap isn't long enough to count as leaving and entering again. But, of course, you do what's right for your table.
Have to say that I don't see where the "the gap isn't long enough" idea comes from. He wants to Misty Step on his own turn and then use a legendary action to teleport after Player A takes his turn and then again after Player B takes his turn. So the gap between teleports would be a full turn of a player, that's got to be long enough for an emanation to process.
But, if I were DM'ing, I'd probably just say, nope, it doesn't work. Teleportation is instantaneous, and the gap isn't long enough to count as leaving and entering again. But, of course, you do what's right for your table.
Have to say that I don't see where the "the gap isn't long enough" idea comes from. He wants to Misty Step on his own turn and then use a legendary action to teleport after Player A takes his turn and then again after Player B takes his turn. So the gap between teleports would be a full turn of a player, that's got to be long enough for an emanation to process.
The issue isn’t between turns, it’s over the length of the misty step. The question is, if I’m 10’ away from a creature on one side, then misty step to be 10’ away on the other side, does that count as entering the emanation? Was there a blink where the target wasn’t in it as I misty step so they are considered having entered it. At least, that’s how I understand the question.
I agree it’s my interpretation. That’s why I said “if I were DM’ing.” While I’d also point out that terms like 1 second or 1 nanosecond don’t not exist in RAW. But you asked for thoughts, I gave my thoughts.
Be it as it may. Even without the trick, imho it would still be a solid choice for spellcasters when using the Boon of Fluid Forms, as that form hands them a bunch of condition immunities, 60ft fly without concentration, 1000ft telepathy, 120ft true sight, advantage on saving throws against spells and magical effects, and 2x Legendary Resistance for that hour. Plus the at-will Misty Step does not require spell slots, thus can be used the same turn you cast a 1+ spell. 95 (+20) hit points is not the greatest, but overall this does not look like a bad deal to me.
But, if I were DM'ing, I'd probably just say, nope, it doesn't work. Teleportation is instantaneous, and the gap isn't long enough to count as leaving and entering again. But, of course, you do what's right for your table.
Have to say that I don't see where the "the gap isn't long enough" idea comes from. He wants to Misty Step on his own turn and then use a legendary action to teleport after Player A takes his turn and then again after Player B takes his turn. So the gap between teleports would be a full turn of a player, that's got to be long enough for an emanation to process.
The issue isn’t between turns, it’s over the length of the misty step. The question is, if I’m 10’ away from a creature on one side, then misty step to be 10’ away on the other side, does that count as entering the emanation? Was there a blink where the target wasn’t in it as I misty step so they are considered having entered it. At least, that’s how I understand the question.
If I'm understanding you right, the same effect happens if you move back and forth on your turn so the creature reenters the Area of Effect.
I know it's not exactly the same since it isn't instantaneous with this example.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm not sure where this went in the middle, but an emanation will disappear from where the player was and will appear where the player goes to. Plenty of Clerics can teleport these days, it's so common. No, it doesn't drag across the intervening 30 feet. If it's the "when it appears" or "enters it space" it would proc on the new space just like when it was originally cast.
I would not let it disappear and reappear again in the same place against an enemy that was already in the emanation (like you teleported 5 ft). I would classify this as unclear in the rules but simple to rule as a DM.
If your DM lets you be Auril (not really an Auril, is it?) then sure, go for it if your table finds it fun, but as has been said, 2014 mobs with 2024 rules can be trouble.
I agree it’s my interpretation. That’s why I said “if I were DM’ing.” While I’d also point out that terms like 1 second or 1 nanosecond don’t not exist in RAW. But you asked for thoughts, I gave my thoughts.
Have to say that I don't see where the "the gap isn't long enough" idea comes from. He wants to Misty Step on his own turn and then use a legendary action to teleport after Player A takes his turn and then again after Player B takes his turn. So the gap between teleports would be a full turn of a player, that's got to be long enough for an emanation to process.
The issue isn’t between turns, it’s over the length of the misty step. The question is, if I’m 10’ away from a creature on one side, then misty step to be 10’ away on the other side, does that count as entering the emanation? Was there a blink where the target wasn’t in it as I misty step so they are considered having entered it. At least, that’s how I understand the question.
There is no gap then. 0 means no gap. So if there is a gap, it can't be 0.
Further if there is no gap that would mean the emanation would not disappear during the teleportation.
Be it as it may. Even without the trick, imho it would still be a solid choice for spellcasters when using the Boon of Fluid Forms, as that form hands them a bunch of condition immunities, 60ft fly without concentration, 1000ft telepathy, 120ft true sight, advantage on saving throws against spells and magical effects, and 2x Legendary Resistance for that hour. Plus the at-will Misty Step does not require spell slots, thus can be used the same turn you cast a 1+ spell. 95 (+20) hit points is not the greatest, but overall this does not look like a bad deal to me.
If I'm understanding you right, the same effect happens if you move back and forth on your turn so the creature reenters the Area of Effect.
I know it's not exactly the same since it isn't instantaneous with this example.