Does a character need to have a spellbook for the one spell that they learn when they take the Magic Initiate (Wizard) Feat? It’s not specifically stated, or even implied, and ‘‘tis a single spell only that’s known. Thanks!
So to my knowledge, I believe you are right that there is no explicit ruling on this. Overall, talk to your table and if this is the only spell the player will take over the course of the game, just house rule that they do not need a separate spellbook to cast that one level one spell. You could though go several ways with flavor for fun. Since this feat in essence makes the player an "initiate" in that class, it would really make sense for them to start a spellbook of their own, like maybe they learned these spells from an old wizard friend and thought it'd be beneficial to start a spellbook. Maybe this spell is etched into the side of a quarterstaff or sword hilt. Maybe the spell wording is tattooed on the players arm. There are several ways to "have the wording present" while not having a spellbook. I think Xanathar's Guide even has some suggested spellbook alternatives.
No you do not need a spellbook for magic initiate. The spellbook rule is a part of the wizard's spellcasting feature. Magic initiate is completely separate from the wizard's spellcasting feature.
I'm thinking that the rules as written tend to imply that a spell book isn't required because a wizard who loses his spell book can create a new spell book with only the spells that he has prepared from memory but needs to find any spells that he used to know, and have in his spell book, again in order to write them into his new spell book. But, it's not specifically stated anywhere.
The rules never state that a spell book is required to cast wizard spells. A Wizard definitely needs a spell book for spell preparation and scribing, but an Arcane Trickster or an Eldritch Knight do not use one, even though they also cast spells from the wizard list using their Int modifiers. Same for High Elf racial spells and several other sources of wizard-list spells.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does a character need to have a spellbook for the one spell that they learn when they take the Magic Initiate (Wizard) Feat? It’s not specifically stated, or even implied, and ‘‘tis a single spell only that’s known. Thanks!
Professional computer geek
So to my knowledge, I believe you are right that there is no explicit ruling on this. Overall, talk to your table and if this is the only spell the player will take over the course of the game, just house rule that they do not need a separate spellbook to cast that one level one spell. You could though go several ways with flavor for fun. Since this feat in essence makes the player an "initiate" in that class, it would really make sense for them to start a spellbook of their own, like maybe they learned these spells from an old wizard friend and thought it'd be beneficial to start a spellbook. Maybe this spell is etched into the side of a quarterstaff or sword hilt. Maybe the spell wording is tattooed on the players arm. There are several ways to "have the wording present" while not having a spellbook. I think Xanathar's Guide even has some suggested spellbook alternatives.
No you do not need a spellbook for magic initiate. The spellbook rule is a part of the wizard's spellcasting feature. Magic initiate is completely separate from the wizard's spellcasting feature.
I'm thinking that the rules as written tend to imply that a spell book isn't required because a wizard who loses his spell book can create a new spell book with only the spells that he has prepared from memory but needs to find any spells that he used to know, and have in his spell book, again in order to write them into his new spell book. But, it's not specifically stated anywhere.
Thanks!
Professional computer geek
The rules never state that a spell book is required to cast wizard spells. A Wizard definitely needs a spell book for spell preparation and scribing, but an Arcane Trickster or an Eldritch Knight do not use one, even though they also cast spells from the wizard list using their Int modifiers. Same for High Elf racial spells and several other sources of wizard-list spells.