I had this problem at my session because que didn´t knew if cantrips or spells needed a d20 roll for hit. I really need to know the whole process to cast a spell or cantrip. Pls Help
Read the spell and do what it says. Some spells will tell you to make an attack roll, some spells will have an enemy make a saving throw, a rare few have both, and sometimes it's neither.
I had this problem at my session because que didn´t knew if cantrips or spells needed a d20 roll for hit. I really need to know the whole process to cast a spell or cantrip. Pls Help
The spell will tell you what type of roll is required and who has to make it. Read the full text of the spell and you'll know all you need to know. Have you read the Players Handbook chapters on combat and spells? 5E's rules are pretty well laid out, be sure to read them over.
Rule of thumb - any spell that deals damage to an enemy requires SOME kind of roll. The spell description tells you if it's an attack roll (player rolls the d20) or a save (DM rolls the d20).
Rule of thumb - any spell that deals damage to an enemy requires SOME kind of roll. The spell description tells you if it's an attack roll (player rolls the d20) or a save (DM rolls the d20).
For idiots like me that learn best by doing, can I get an example? If you don't mind please use a couple spells as an example and include a Cantrip example. It's just not clicking for me yet. I just started playing yesterday so be easy on me.
For idiots like me that learn best by doing, can I get an example? If you don't mind please use a couple spells as an example and include a Cantrip example. It's just not clicking for me yet. I just started playing yesterday so be easy on me.
Fire Bolt is an attack spell and you roll the d20 for the attack, add your spellcasting stat modifier and proficiency bonus (which is the to hit stat on DnDBeyond), and the DM will compare the result to the AC of the creature. You roll your d10 for the damage on a hit.
Sacred Flame forces a dexterity save. The DM rolls a d20 and adds the dexterity save bonus (dexterity modifier if the creature isn't proficient) and compares it to your spell save DC, which is 8 + your spellcasting stat mod + your proficiency bonus. If the creature fails its save, you roll your d8 for damage.
If you're looking at your character sheet on DND Beyond, on the spell tab (or the action tab), if the hit/dc column has a number, like '+5' or '+7' then you, the attacker, roll a D20 and add that. If that column has letters and numbers ('CHA 15' or 'WIS 14') then whoever you are attacking rolls a D20, adds their saving throw bonus from whatever score is indicated by the letters, and is hoping to get a number equal to or higher than that number from your sheet. The spell description will then tell you, in either case, what the results are.
Take a look at the info at the top of the spell card. There is a section that says "Attack/Save". It will usually tell you if the target makes a saving throw or if you make an attack roll. For example, Acid Arrow says "ranged". If you read the text of the spell, it says, "Make a ranged spell attack". The box at the top of Acid Splash says "DEX save". If you read the text, it says "A target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw...". And then spells like Aid don't have anything in the box that says Attack/Save because most creatures want extra hit points. It just automatically succeeds.
I read this thread and this helped a lot. I've been playing for a bit but I've never really known what to roll and stuff like that. I'm a noob. This was really helpful. Thanks a ton!
If you cast levitate, does it always automatically succeed? Because I don't read anywhere that you need to roll. A player on a airship is slammed against the outside of a cabin and within 2 rounds the ships crashes... He cast's levitate. If the spell works, he saves himself... Is this an automatic succes or is there a roll required because of the circumstances he is in.... It requires concentration so.... What do I do as a DM?
If you cast levitate, does it always automatically succeed? Because I don't read anywhere that you need to roll. A player on a airship is slammed against the outside of a cabin and within 2 rounds the ships crashes... He cast's levitate. If the spell works, he saves himself... Is this an automatic succes or is there a roll required because of the circumstances he is in.... It requires concentration so.... What do I do as a DM?
The spell only has a save to resist it. As with all buff spells, there is no chance of failure on willing targets.
As for a concentration save, that is up to you (the DM). Usually you would only call for one if something is actively threatening concentration like being pelted by debris or being thrown around by wind or shifting floor.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I had this problem at my session because que didn´t knew if cantrips or spells needed a d20 roll for hit. I really need to know the whole process to cast a spell or cantrip. Pls Help
Its simple: If it is an attack, you roll. If it is a save, they roll.
Read the spell and do what it says. Some spells will tell you to make an attack roll, some spells will have an enemy make a saving throw, a rare few have both, and sometimes it's neither.
The spell will tell you what type of roll is required and who has to make it. Read the full text of the spell and you'll know all you need to know. Have you read the Players Handbook chapters on combat and spells? 5E's rules are pretty well laid out, be sure to read them over.
Rule of thumb - any spell that deals damage to an enemy requires SOME kind of roll. The spell description tells you if it's an attack roll (player rolls the d20) or a save (DM rolls the d20).
Except armor of agathys, magic missile, cloud of daggers, heat metal, fire shield, and shadow of moil.
You aren't wrong about most damaging spells needing a roll, but not all.
For idiots like me that learn best by doing, can I get an example? If you don't mind please use a couple spells as an example and include a Cantrip example. It's just not clicking for me yet. I just started playing yesterday so be easy on me.
Fire Bolt is an attack spell and you roll the d20 for the attack, add your spellcasting stat modifier and proficiency bonus (which is the to hit stat on DnDBeyond), and the DM will compare the result to the AC of the creature. You roll your d10 for the damage on a hit.
Sacred Flame forces a dexterity save. The DM rolls a d20 and adds the dexterity save bonus (dexterity modifier if the creature isn't proficient) and compares it to your spell save DC, which is 8 + your spellcasting stat mod + your proficiency bonus. If the creature fails its save, you roll your d8 for damage.
If you're looking at your character sheet on DND Beyond, on the spell tab (or the action tab), if the hit/dc column has a number, like '+5' or '+7' then you, the attacker, roll a D20 and add that. If that column has letters and numbers ('CHA 15' or 'WIS 14') then whoever you are attacking rolls a D20, adds their saving throw bonus from whatever score is indicated by the letters, and is hoping to get a number equal to or higher than that number from your sheet. The spell description will then tell you, in either case, what the results are.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
Take a look at the info at the top of the spell card. There is a section that says "Attack/Save". It will usually tell you if the target makes a saving throw or if you make an attack roll. For example, Acid Arrow says "ranged". If you read the text of the spell, it says, "Make a ranged spell attack". The box at the top of Acid Splash says "DEX save". If you read the text, it says "A target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw...". And then spells like Aid don't have anything in the box that says Attack/Save because most creatures want extra hit points. It just automatically succeeds.
I read this thread and this helped a lot. I've been playing for a bit but I've never really known what to roll and stuff like that. I'm a noob. This was really helpful. Thanks a ton!
If you cast levitate, does it always automatically succeed? Because I don't read anywhere that you need to roll. A player on a airship is slammed against the outside of a cabin and within 2 rounds the ships crashes... He cast's levitate. If the spell works, he saves himself... Is this an automatic succes or is there a roll required because of the circumstances he is in.... It requires concentration so.... What do I do as a DM?
You do not need to make any kind of a roll to successfully cast levitate on yourself or on a willing target within range.
EDIT: The caster never has to make a roll. But in the example I listed above, no roll is made by anyone, since there is no opposition.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
The spell only has a save to resist it. As with all buff spells, there is no chance of failure on willing targets.
As for a concentration save, that is up to you (the DM). Usually you would only call for one if something is actively threatening concentration like being pelted by debris or being thrown around by wind or shifting floor.