I'm looking for a rule on using the same action multiple times in a turn, specifically "Dash".
As I'm sure we all know starting from level 2 Dash is usable as a rogue bonus action thanks to the "Cunning action" Feature:
- You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action.
This is understandably meant to give a rogue more flexibility in combat, which is great. But I often see people going "Well I can dash as a bonus action and dash as an action and this will allow me to move triple my speed". But the most I've been thinking about it the more I don't think you should be able to do this. The Dash action is implying that your character is running at full speed to get somewhere, I think that having it as a bonus action is meant to allow you to represent the speed and quickness at which a rogue can operate and have them still able to shoot or stab or pick a lock.
The main reason I wouldn't allow it is that all the other options like disengage and hide don't have a benefit to being used twice, so it seems weird that something like this would be applicable to another action that is available.
If anyone knows of an official ruling and can point it out I would appreciate it, otherwise I'd love to hear what other people think.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Absolutely, that's its intent. Both Rogues and Monks (using Step of the Wind) are meant to be able to move up to 3x their movement speed via Dashes. Give them Haste and they can haul a$$.
The benefits of being able to use it to Hide or Disengage don't stack in the same way, but they still add a lot of utility; Action or Bonus (Cunning) action to Disengage, then use the other to Dash and move 60+ feet while Disengaged. Or use one to Dash and move very far away, get in cover and Hide.
Addition: My personal favorite use of Cunning Action is to use it to Disengage, move past all the melee baddies, and get stabby on the ranged enemies/spellcasters.
The average walking speed is about 3.35-5 feet per second, so most adventurers walk on the fast side. 5 feet per second is 3.4 miles per hour (dnd 5e rounds this down to 3).
The average jogging speed is 4-6 miles per hour, so speed + Dash per turn. Which means for healthy adventurers, speed + Dash per turn for at 10-30 minutes at a time isnt physically unthinkable.
The average running speed for a healthy adult is about 10-15 miles per hour, or about 3-4 times movement speed per turn, so even that for a minute isnt radical, assuming adventurers are fit; and to be honest, given that they are supposed to be above-average, and average requires more fitness than modern day, they should be able to do such speeds for such times, if not more.
On top of what Journer says, it also states in the Chase section of the DMG that - if you need it as a rule anyway - you can only dash 3 + Con modifier times in succession, after that you do a DC 10 Con save and on each Dash and gain a level of Exhaustion if you fail.
A hasted rogue or monk can dash 3 times in one turn (plus normal movement, and double speed).
This can get really ridiculous with monks since they also get unarmored movement bonuses. It can easily exceed 320 feet per turn or 36 Mph at level 5. A tabaxi can double it for 1 turn and Aaracokra can fly at 480 feet per turn/54.5 Mph (with haste and ki of course). Just remember that when you think 2 normal dashes are ridiculous.
Basic Rules> Chapter 8:Adventuring > Movement > Speed Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round. This number assumes short bursts of energetic movement in the midst of a life-threatening situation.
Basic Rules > Chapter 9:Combat > The Order of Combat > Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed--sometimes called your walking speed--is noted on your character sheet.
Basic Rules > Chapter 9:Combat > The Order of Combat > Your Turn > Bonus Actions You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.
Basic Rules > Chapter 9:Combat > Actions in Combat > Dash When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you dash. Any increase or decrease to your speed changes this additional movement by the same amount. If your speed of 30 feet is reduced to 15 feet, for instance, you can move up to 30 feet this turn if you dash.
Every time you move on your turn in combat you are moving at full speed unless something is impeding your movement. Normally you are allowed to make one movement on your turn. The Dash action simply allows you to make an extra movement in this turn. Using a bonus action to Dash a second time results in three movements this turn. If something would change your speed, you will still make three movements, just at the new speed.
When you are comparing walking speed to running you are referring to pace (Basic Rules> Chapter 8:Adventuring > Movement > Speed > Travel Pace). You can travel at a slow, normal or fast pace. Pace only applies when you are moving a distance for an extended amount of time. It is not used for turn movement.
Could someone point out in the rules that states you can get another dash action when the PHB, pg 192; When you take your action on your turn, you can take one of the actions presented here, an action you gained from your class or a special feature, or an action that you improvise. Many monsters have action options of their own in their stat blocks. When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in the roles, the DM tells you whether that action is possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure.
Is not this for when you are doing a chase? DASHING During the chase, a participant can freely use the Dash action a number of times equal to 3 + its Constitution modifier. Each additional Dash action it takes during the chase requires the creature to succeed on a DC 10 Constitution check at the end of its turn or gain one !eve. of exhaustion. A participant drops out of the chase if its exhaustion reaches level 5, since its speed becomes 0. A creature can remove the levels of exhaustion it gained during the chase by finishing a short or long rest. ?
Could someone point out in the rules that states you can get another dash action when the PHB, pg 192; When you take your action on your turn, you can take one of the actions presented here
Rogues get a class feature called Cunning Action that allows them to use their bonus action to Dash, so they are able to Dash twice in one turn - once with their action, and once with their bonus action.
Monks get an ability called Step of the Wind that allows the same.
Ok. I understand the actual mechanics of the Dash action. My only question is this: Can someone use Dash whether it is stated on their character sheet or not? Or is that up to the DM's discretion?
Ok. I understand the actual mechanics of the Dash action. My only question is this: Can someone use Dash whether it is stated on their character sheet or not? Or is that up to the DM's discretion?
Every creature can dash as an action. The PHB lists all the general actions that every creature has access to in 'actions in combat'.
So my own clarification…last night my Dashed with her action and then tried to use cunning action dash as their bonus action. She has 30 feet of movement. To me, that means she move 120’ in one round (60’ for Action Dash + 60’ C.Action/bonus dash). Is that the correct math?
So . . . in that you can break up your movement, does that mean a Swashbuckler (4th) with two attacks per round (Sword Bard 6th) can use his Bonus Cunning action at the beginning of his turn to Dash 20' and attack, Dash 30' more and attack, use the rest of the Dash (10') and his normal Movement (30') to move 40' away using his Fancy Footwork to prevent Opportunity Attacks? DM's must hate that.
I'm not forgetting about his Blade Flourish adding 10' to his movement, just not adding it here for simplicity's sake.
Don't think about some movement being "normal movement" and some being "dash." A Dash action does not move you, it increases the total amount of distance you can cover with "your movement" during your turn. For a creature with a Speed of 30, ordinarily "your movement" can cover.... 30 during your turn, all at once or split up into separate chunks in between different attacks and other actions. If that creature were to Dash, "your movement" could cover 60, all at once or split up into separate chunks. If that creature were to Dash as an action, but also Dash as a Bonus Action (with Cunning Action), then "your movement" could cover 90, all at once or split up into separate chunks.
So . . . in that you can break up your movement, does that mean a Swashbuckler (4th) with two attacks per round (Sword Bard 6th) can use his Bonus Cunning action at the beginning of his turn to Dash 20' and attack, Dash 30' more and attack, use the rest of the Dash (10') and his normal Movement (30') to move 40' away using his Fancy Footwork to prevent Opportunity Attacks? DM's must hate that.
I'm not forgetting about his Blade Flourish adding 10' to his movement, just not adding it here for simplicity's sake.
Not sure how you are dashing twice and taking the attack action.
Dash does not give you an extra movement, it simply increases your movement rate by your character's normal speed. "When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60"
I agree with Babboo on top of post, ongoing discussion fo ryears in my crew. My argument was the same as Snababoo plus the fact that cheeetah(speed 50) should be allot faster than a rogue?? 100 vs 90
I'm looking for a rule on using the same action multiple times in a turn, specifically "Dash".
As I'm sure we all know starting from level 2 Dash is usable as a rogue bonus action thanks to the "Cunning action" Feature:
- You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action.
This is understandably meant to give a rogue more flexibility in combat, which is great. But I often see people going "Well I can dash as a bonus action and dash as an action and this will allow me to move triple my speed". But the most I've been thinking about it the more I don't think you should be able to do this. The Dash action is implying that your character is running at full speed to get somewhere, I think that having it as a bonus action is meant to allow you to represent the speed and quickness at which a rogue can operate and have them still able to shoot or stab or pick a lock.
The main reason I wouldn't allow it is that all the other options like disengage and hide don't have a benefit to being used twice, so it seems weird that something like this would be applicable to another action that is available.
If anyone knows of an official ruling and can point it out I would appreciate it, otherwise I'd love to hear what other people think.
Yes, you can.
Sage Advice
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Absolutely, that's its intent. Both Rogues and Monks (using Step of the Wind) are meant to be able to move up to 3x their movement speed via Dashes. Give them Haste and they can haul a$$.
The benefits of being able to use it to Hide or Disengage don't stack in the same way, but they still add a lot of utility; Action or Bonus (Cunning) action to Disengage, then use the other to Dash and move 60+ feet while Disengaged. Or use one to Dash and move very far away, get in cover and Hide.
Addition: My personal favorite use of Cunning Action is to use it to Disengage, move past all the melee baddies, and get stabby on the ranged enemies/spellcasters.
To help with understanding Dash, consider this:
The average walking speed is about 3.35-5 feet per second, so most adventurers walk on the fast side. 5 feet per second is 3.4 miles per hour (dnd 5e rounds this down to 3).
The average jogging speed is 4-6 miles per hour, so speed + Dash per turn. Which means for healthy adventurers, speed + Dash per turn for at 10-30 minutes at a time isnt physically unthinkable.
The average running speed for a healthy adult is about 10-15 miles per hour, or about 3-4 times movement speed per turn, so even that for a minute isnt radical, assuming adventurers are fit; and to be honest, given that they are supposed to be above-average, and average requires more fitness than modern day, they should be able to do such speeds for such times, if not more.
On top of what Journer says, it also states in the Chase section of the DMG that - if you need it as a rule anyway - you can only dash 3 + Con modifier times in succession, after that you do a DC 10 Con save and on each Dash and gain a level of Exhaustion if you fail.
A hasted rogue or monk can dash 3 times in one turn (plus normal movement, and double speed).
This can get really ridiculous with monks since they also get unarmored movement bonuses. It can easily exceed 320 feet per turn or 36 Mph at level 5. A tabaxi can double it for 1 turn and Aaracokra can fly at 480 feet per turn/54.5 Mph (with haste and ki of course). Just remember that when you think 2 normal dashes are ridiculous.
Basic Rules> Chapter 8:Adventuring > Movement > Speed
Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round. This number assumes short bursts of energetic movement in the midst of a life-threatening situation.
Basic Rules > Chapter 9:Combat > The Order of Combat > Your Turn
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed--sometimes called your walking speed--is noted on your character sheet.
Basic Rules > Chapter 9:Combat > The Order of Combat > Your Turn > Bonus Actions
You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.
Basic Rules > Chapter 9:Combat > Actions in Combat > Dash
When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you dash.
Any increase or decrease to your speed changes this additional movement by the same amount. If your speed of 30 feet is reduced to 15 feet, for instance, you can move up to 30 feet this turn if you dash.
Every time you move on your turn in combat you are moving at full speed unless something is impeding your movement. Normally you are allowed to make one movement on your turn. The Dash action simply allows you to make an extra movement in this turn. Using a bonus action to Dash a second time results in three movements this turn. If something would change your speed, you will still make three movements, just at the new speed.
When you are comparing walking speed to running you are referring to pace (Basic Rules> Chapter 8:Adventuring > Movement > Speed > Travel Pace). You can travel at a slow, normal or fast pace. Pace only applies when you are moving a distance for an extended amount of time. It is not used for turn movement.
Hope that helps.
Could someone point out in the rules that states you can get another dash action when the PHB, pg 192; When you take your action on your turn, you can take
one of the actions presented here, an action you gained
from your class or a special feature, or an action that
you improvise. Many monsters have action options of
their own in their stat blocks.
When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere
in the roles, the DM tells you whether that action is
possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any,
to determine success or failure.
Is not this for when you are doing a chase? DASHING
During the chase, a participant can freely use the Dash
action a number of times equal to 3 + its Constitution
modifier. Each additional Dash action it takes during
the chase requires the creature to succeed on a DC 10
Constitution check at the end of its turn or gain one !eve.
of exhaustion.
A participant drops out of the chase if its exhaustion
reaches level 5, since its speed becomes 0. A creature
can remove the levels of exhaustion it gained during the
chase by finishing a short or long rest. ?
Rogues get a class feature called Cunning Action that allows them to use their bonus action to Dash, so they are able to Dash twice in one turn - once with their action, and once with their bonus action.
Monks get an ability called Step of the Wind that allows the same.
Ok. I understand the actual mechanics of the Dash action. My only question is this: Can someone use Dash whether it is stated on their character sheet or not? Or is that up to the DM's discretion?
Every creature can dash as an action. The PHB lists all the general actions that every creature has access to in 'actions in combat'.
So my own clarification…last night my Dashed with her action and then tried to use cunning action dash as their bonus action. She has 30 feet of movement. To me, that means she move 120’ in one round (60’ for Action Dash + 60’ C.Action/bonus dash). Is that the correct math?
30 feet of movement + 30 feet dash + 30 feet bonus action dash = 90 feet.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
This.
Dash doesn't change your speed, just let you move it again.
So . . . in that you can break up your movement, does that mean a Swashbuckler (4th) with two attacks per round (Sword Bard 6th) can use his Bonus Cunning action at the beginning of his turn to Dash 20' and attack, Dash 30' more and attack, use the rest of the Dash (10') and his normal Movement (30') to move 40' away using his Fancy Footwork to prevent Opportunity Attacks? DM's must hate that.
I'm not forgetting about his Blade Flourish adding 10' to his movement, just not adding it here for simplicity's sake.
Don't think about some movement being "normal movement" and some being "dash." A Dash action does not move you, it increases the total amount of distance you can cover with "your movement" during your turn. For a creature with a Speed of 30, ordinarily "your movement" can cover.... 30 during your turn, all at once or split up into separate chunks in between different attacks and other actions. If that creature were to Dash, "your movement" could cover 60, all at once or split up into separate chunks. If that creature were to Dash as an action, but also Dash as a Bonus Action (with Cunning Action), then "your movement" could cover 90, all at once or split up into separate chunks.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Not sure how you are dashing twice and taking the attack action.
Dash does not give you an extra movement, it simply increases your movement rate by your character's normal speed. "When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60"
I agree with Babboo on top of post, ongoing discussion fo ryears in my crew. My argument was the same as Snababoo plus the fact that cheeetah(speed 50) should be allot faster than a rogue?? 100 vs 90