I cannot seem to locate this rule in the books. Does the level-based damage in most damaging cantrips go off of your caster level, or overall character level(in the case of multi-classing)? Also, what determines the level of a cantrip, when cast from an item?
To answer the second question, cantrips are not considered to have a level - that's why they're called "cantrips" and not "level 0 spells".
I'm not sure about the actual rules regarding this, but to put cantrips into, say, a ring of spell storing, I would say it takes up the same level spell slot as a first level spell. This is so you don't have infinite castings of any (or all) cantrips in such an item.
If that doesn't answer your question, would mind telling us the item in question you're curious about?
If a cantrip causes additional effects at higher levels, that will be noted in the spell description.
"This spell's damage increases by (1d...) when you reach 5th level (2d...), 11th level (3d...), and 17th level (4d...)"
It says when you reach ...th level, not level in your class, so that means overall character level, and is independent on your individual class levels.
This is a spell rule, so you will only find it in the spell description.
I think items will say what level the cantrip is considered to be cast as, but I can't find any examples of official items that can cast cantrips that have higher level bonuses.
To answer the second question, cantrips are not considered to have a level - that's why they're called "cantrips" and not "level 0 spells".
Cantrips are in fact 0th level spells. See the Spellcasting chapter of the Basic Rules/Player's Handbook.
I'm not sure about the actual rules regarding this, but to put cantrips into, say, a ring of spell storing, I would say it takes up the same level spell slot as a first level spell.
The Ring of Spell Storing is intended for spells that are cast with a slot; it explicitly assumes a slot was used to cast the spell. That precludes storing cantrips and rituals.
I think items will say what level the cantrip is considered to be cast as, but I can't find any examples of official items that can vast cantrips that have higher level bonuses.
Any spell cast from a magic item is cast at its lowest possible level unless the item says otherwise. The Nov 2018 errata made this clearer by adding by adding "...and caster level" to "The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level."
I think items will say what level the cantrip is considered to be cast as, but I can't find any examples of official items that can vast cantrips that have higher level bonuses.
Any spell cast from a magic item is cast at its lowest possible level unless the item says otherwise. The Nov 2018 errata made this clearer by adding by adding "...and caster level" to "The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level."
I meant something along those lines, thanks for additional explanation.
I should have made my second question clearer: I was not asking what level a cantrip was--I already knew it was level 0--I was asking what level the cantrip is cast at, when cast from an item with respect to level-dependent changes to said cantrip. My apologies for the lack of clarity. In any case, both of my questions were answered. Thank you all.
I think items will say what level the cantrip is considered to be cast as, but I can't find any examples of official items that can cast cantrips that have higher level bonuses.
Wand of Winter. Casts Ray of Frost for free, or "at 5th level" for one charge, with a fixed +5 spell attack bonus.
I think items will say what level the cantrip is considered to be cast as, but I can't find any examples of official items that can cast cantrips that have higher level bonuses.
Wand of Winter. Casts Ray of Frost for free, or "at 5th level" for one charge, with a fixed +5 spell attack bonus.
I feel like that could be referring to character level instead? Maybe?
I mean, what would a 5th level spell slot do to a cantrip, anyway?
Unless I'm late to the party and everyone is already referring to character level...
I think items will say what level the cantrip is considered to be cast as, but I can't find any examples of official items that can cast cantrips that have higher level bonuses.
Wand of Winter. Casts Ray of Frost for free, or "at 5th level" for one charge, with a fixed +5 spell attack bonus.
I feel like that could be referring to character level instead? Maybe?
I mean, what would a 5th level spell slot do to a cantrip, anyway?
Unless I'm late to the party and everyone is already referring to character level...
Good thought.
Full casters get the 5th level slot at level 9, so you could count the spell cast at 9th character level.
Coincidentally, however, Ray of Frost increases at level 5, and then at level 11. So even if you counted it cast at 5th character level, it would still be the same damage.
I cannot seem to locate this rule in the books. Does the level-based damage in most damaging cantrips go off of your caster level, or overall character level(in the case of multi-classing)? Also, what determines the level of a cantrip, when cast from an item?
character level
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To answer the second question, cantrips are
notconsidered to have a level -that's why they're called "cantrips" and not"level 0 spells".I'm not sure about the actual rules regarding this, but to put cantrips into, say, a ring of spell storing, I would say it takes up the same level spell slot as a first level spell. This is so you don't have infinite castings of any (or all) cantrips in such an item.
If that doesn't answer your question, would mind telling us the item in question you're curious about?
If a cantrip causes additional effects at higher levels, that will be noted in the spell description.
"This spell's damage increases by (1d...) when you reach 5th level (2d...), 11th level (3d...), and 17th level (4d...)"
It says when you reach ...th level, not level in your class, so that means overall character level, and is independent on your individual class levels.
This is a spell rule, so you will only find it in the spell description.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules
I think items will say what level the cantrip is considered to be cast as, but I can't find any examples of official items that can cast cantrips that have higher level bonuses.
Cantrips are in fact 0th level spells. See the Spellcasting chapter of the Basic Rules/Player's Handbook.
The Ring of Spell Storing is intended for spells that are cast with a slot; it explicitly assumes a slot was used to cast the spell. That precludes storing cantrips and rituals.
Any spell cast from a magic item is cast at its lowest possible level unless the item says otherwise. The Nov 2018 errata made this clearer by adding by adding "...and caster level" to "The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level."
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I meant something along those lines, thanks for additional explanation.
I should have made my second question clearer: I was not asking what level a cantrip was--I already knew it was level 0--I was asking what level the cantrip is cast at, when cast from an item with respect to level-dependent changes to said cantrip. My apologies for the lack of clarity. In any case, both of my questions were answered. Thank you all.
Wand of Winter. Casts Ray of Frost for free, or "at 5th level" for one charge, with a fixed +5 spell attack bonus.
Please do not contact or message me.
I feel like that could be referring to character level instead? Maybe?
I mean, what would a 5th level spell slot do to a cantrip, anyway?
Unless I'm late to the party and everyone is already referring to character level...
Good thought.
Full casters get the 5th level slot at level 9, so you could count the spell cast at 9th character level.
Coincidentally, however, Ray of Frost increases at level 5, and then at level 11. So even if you counted it cast at 5th character level, it would still be the same damage.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules
Indeed we have been.
I would assume that "at fifth level" means "the version of this spell you get at character level 5, i.e. 2d8 rather than 1d8."
Please do not contact or message me.
That is what "level" means when refering to a cantrip.