(and no, I'm not serious about this. Well, I mean it does support my position, but no. Just no)
5th edition is all about simplifying the rules and you are here trying to make things more complicated than they have to be.
I come in peace! I figured that when you quoted me saying "no, I'm not serious" that you would have understood that "no, I'm not serious." But just in case there is any doubt: No, I'm not serious.
While Crawford is a window into RAI, if it has been years and no movement on errata then you could probably assume he sat down with the team and decided against his definition.
I don't see any reason for errata to be issued in this case because no rule is being changed or updated. JC is just clarifying the intent of the rule as it was originally written. If he considered the question to be settled, he wouldn't circle back to it in the future. Just in case, I asked him today. Maybe he will respond.
It looks like this question came up last year as well on these very forums with similarly divided opinions. The crux of the question is whether someone can unwillingly move under their own power. I draw a distinction between the two. Several other people in this thread do not. I concede that I seem to hold the minority opinion on this one. Unless and until there is an authority who says one way or the other, this is one of those edge cases that falls between the cracks of RAW to land firmly on the DM to decide.
I am still very interested in hearing people's thoughts on the subject--including yours.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I come in peace! I figured that when you quoted me saying "no, I'm not serious" that you would have understood that "no, I'm not serious." But just in case there is any doubt: No, I'm not serious.
I don't see any reason for errata to be issued in this case because no rule is being changed or updated. JC is just clarifying the intent of the rule as it was originally written. If he considered the question to be settled, he wouldn't circle back to it in the future. Just in case, I asked him today. Maybe he will respond.
It looks like this question came up last year as well on these very forums with similarly divided opinions. The crux of the question is whether someone can unwillingly move under their own power. I draw a distinction between the two. Several other people in this thread do not. I concede that I seem to hold the minority opinion on this one. Unless and until there is an authority who says one way or the other, this is one of those edge cases that falls between the cracks of RAW to land firmly on the DM to decide.
I am still very interested in hearing people's thoughts on the subject--including yours.
"Not all those who wander are lost"