They'd have to drop it, but then on their next turn they could use a bonus action to summon it back, attack (probably with extra damage cause it's on fire) and then drop it again as a free action. Rinse and repeat. Against an EK you'd probably be better off going for the armor.
They'd have to drop it, but then on their next turn they could use a bonus action to summon it back, attack (probably with extra damage cause it's on fire) and then drop it again as a free action. Rinse and repeat. Against an EK you'd probably be better off going for the armor.
That would still be causing the EK to burn through their bonus action every turn, on top of the damage they're taking. It's a solid strategy.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
They'd have to drop it, but then on their next turn they could use a bonus action to summon it back, attack (probably with extra damage cause it's on fire) and then drop it again as a free action. Rinse and repeat. Against an EK you'd probably be better off going for the armor.
The weapon doesn't cause any extra damage on attacks; if you are doing that with heat metal, you're really screwing over the caster. In fact, I'd say that if he fails his saving throw, drops his weapon, and then picks it back up (or summons it back) on his turn (while the caster is still concentrating on heating the metal), he suffers the effects of succeeding the saving throw: disadvantage on attacks and ability checks.
Hmm... I'm surprised heat metal doesn't have a clause for when creatures touch the object except when you use your bonus action. Basically (RAW), the spell causes the target to heat up in brief pulses.
So... Yeah. If the EK is fine with burning its BA each turn, this spell barely effects it. You really are better off targeting armor.
I was looking for descriptive text saying that the EK could banish and then re-summon their weapon. If that were so, then you could make the argument that the re-summoned weapon no longer had the spell effect on it. But that's not how the text reads. It looks like you just pop the same old weapon to your hand--effects and all.
Forcing an EK to use their bonus action on resummoning their bonded weapon completely shuts down their ability to use War Magic. It's very effective against this particular class.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I was looking for descriptive text saying that the EK could banish and then re-summon their weapon. If that were so, then you could make the argument that the re-summoned weapon no longer had the spell effect on it. But that's not how the text reads. It looks like you just pop the same old weapon to your hand--effects and all.
It's still the same weapon, so the spell wouldn't go away.
It depends entirely on whether or not you think "being forced to drop" and "disarm" are the same.
To me, being forced to drop the weapon would be one type of disarming (another would be having it wrenched from your hand by someone grasping it). So I would say that, no, Heat Metal does not force an EK to drop a bonded weapon.
Disarm does mean "to take weapons away from"/"disarm means to be hostile," which I think making someone's weapon white hot and forcing them to drop it would count as.
If he cannot be disarmed, then all that means is he doesn't have to make a saving throw. The saving throw for this spell is to maintain a hold on the item. The spell is better for the caster when the target holds the object (or cannot remove it, in the case of armor). If he chooses to drop it then he can use his bonus action to return it to his hand, but he is also free to leave it in his hand. Choosing to drop it is the same as failing the save for the spell.
Unfortunately, the caster cannot ready a bonus action to make the target take damage outside of the caster's turn. As has been pointed out, it is probably better to target the armor of the EK, but you would eat up the bonus action of the EK every round with this spell, and prevent AoO's made with the weapon.
Heat Metal is, I think, more specific than the EK's general feature. Eh... I can see it both ways.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Wouldn't they *want* to drop the burning hot sword?
I sure as hell would.
The more I think about it, the more I think Weapon Bond is terribly worded. "Disarm" is not something that is ever actually defined as a game mechanic, and is typically only referenced as a secondary creature physically removing the item from the target directly (such as the Disarming Attack Combat Maneuver). This is the only type of situation the Weapon Bond feature can reasonably apply to. Having Weapon Bond is like having a Locked Gauntlet from 3.5e.
It is ridiculous to extend that concept to any compulsory effect that would cause the EK to drop their weapon, and Dan Dillon carries exactly zero weight on rules. A creature can't knock the weapon out of the EK's hand, but they can certainly compel the EK to drop it themselves.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can i disarm an eldritch knight with heat metal?
if i use this spell and the EK fail his saving throw he has to leave is weapon. right? (with Weapon Bond EK can't be disarmed)
It isn't being disarmed, it is being forced to drop (which they can do).
They'd have to drop it, but then on their next turn they could use a bonus action to summon it back, attack (probably with extra damage cause it's on fire) and then drop it again as a free action. Rinse and repeat. Against an EK you'd probably be better off going for the armor.
That would still be causing the EK to burn through their bonus action every turn, on top of the damage they're taking. It's a solid strategy.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
The weapon doesn't cause any extra damage on attacks; if you are doing that with heat metal, you're really screwing over the caster. In fact, I'd say that if he fails his saving throw, drops his weapon, and then picks it back up (or summons it back) on his turn (while the caster is still concentrating on heating the metal), he suffers the effects of succeeding the saving throw: disadvantage on attacks and ability checks.
Hmm... I'm surprised heat metal doesn't have a clause for when creatures touch the object except when you use your bonus action. Basically (RAW), the spell causes the target to heat up in brief pulses.
So... Yeah. If the EK is fine with burning its BA each turn, this spell barely effects it. You really are better off targeting armor.
The EK can have multiple bonded weapons, so they can just drop one and summon the other... so it's even less effective than that.
I was looking for descriptive text saying that the EK could banish and then re-summon their weapon. If that were so, then you could make the argument that the re-summoned weapon no longer had the spell effect on it. But that's not how the text reads. It looks like you just pop the same old weapon to your hand--effects and all.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Forcing an EK to use their bonus action on resummoning their bonded weapon completely shuts down their ability to use War Magic. It's very effective against this particular class.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
It's still the same weapon, so the spell wouldn't go away.
I asked to Dan Dillon and u are wrong https://twitter.com/Dan_Dillon_1/status/1211128317908262917?s=20
It depends entirely on whether or not you think "being forced to drop" and "disarm" are the same.
To me, being forced to drop the weapon would be one type of disarming (another would be having it wrenched from your hand by someone grasping it). So I would say that, no, Heat Metal does not force an EK to drop a bonded weapon.
Disarm does mean "to take weapons away from"/"disarm means to be hostile," which I think making someone's weapon white hot and forcing them to drop it would count as.
If he cannot be disarmed, then all that means is he doesn't have to make a saving throw. The saving throw for this spell is to maintain a hold on the item. The spell is better for the caster when the target holds the object (or cannot remove it, in the case of armor). If he chooses to drop it then he can use his bonus action to return it to his hand, but he is also free to leave it in his hand. Choosing to drop it is the same as failing the save for the spell.
Unfortunately, the caster cannot ready a bonus action to make the target take damage outside of the caster's turn. As has been pointed out, it is probably better to target the armor of the EK, but you would eat up the bonus action of the EK every round with this spell, and prevent AoO's made with the weapon.
I disagree with this 100%. How in the world is being forced to drop a weapon not considered being disarmed?
Well in my mind they can drop the weapon if they chose to, so the spell made them choose to as a reflex.
This does not seem to be the intent, so I've stopped arguing it.
Specific > General
Heat Metal is, I think, more specific than the EK's general feature. Eh... I can see it both ways.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Wouldn't they *want* to drop the burning hot sword?
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I sure as hell would.
The more I think about it, the more I think Weapon Bond is terribly worded. "Disarm" is not something that is ever actually defined as a game mechanic, and is typically only referenced as a secondary creature physically removing the item from the target directly (such as the Disarming Attack Combat Maneuver). This is the only type of situation the Weapon Bond feature can reasonably apply to. Having Weapon Bond is like having a Locked Gauntlet from 3.5e.
It is ridiculous to extend that concept to any compulsory effect that would cause the EK to drop their weapon, and Dan Dillon carries exactly zero weight on rules. A creature can't knock the weapon out of the EK's hand, but they can certainly compel the EK to drop it themselves.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.