Monks in the Way of the Shadow have the following ability:
Shadow Arts Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can use your ki to duplicate the effects of certain spells. As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to cast darkness, darkvision, pass without trace, or silence, without providing material components. Additionally, you gain the minor illusion cantrip if you don’t already know it.
Can these abilities be effected by Counter Spell and/or Dispel Magic? I ask because of the wording in the ability "duplicate" the effects of those spells. But I guess it comes down to Ki and whether Magic affects it or not.
it says copy the effect of a spell not cast as a spell, if it did it would say something more like "you can use your Ki to cast a spell" the other clue is that it cost no material components. its like the old arcane material component vs a cleric casting the spell. it snot arcane so no component.
As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to cast darkness, darkvision, pass without trace, or silence, without providing material components. Additionally, you gain the minor illusion cantrip if you don’t already know it.
Pretty explicit that in the exact sentence it states you are casting darkness. Sure it says before it you duplicate effects. But frankly it doesn't say they are not magical effect. If you duplicate the effect of a spell you are duplicating the spell, since the spell it magical, what you duplicate it magical.
Not having a material component require does not discount it from D&D 5e counterspell rules. If it is a spell it can be counter. Since it says "You can cast" it is a spell.
is says copy the effect of a spell not cast as a spell, if it did it would say something more like "you can use your Ki to cast a spell" the other clue is that it cost no material components. its like the old arcane material component vs a cleric casting the spell. it snot arcane so no component.
That is the feature's summary/flavor text. When it actually tells you what the feature does, it says you are casting a spell.
ok so in doing research because it is cast it is then a spell so it would not even work in antimagic field and such and in fact can be dispelled. consider you ki like sorcery points.
however the features like ki fueled attacks such as flurry of blows still works. even inside the antimagic field however your fists are not treated as magical because they are suppressed.
i dont necessarily agree, but if the dragon breath weapon works then certain other features do as well.
so yes you are correct by casting it then becomes a spell.
Aeoncaster777, I would recommend you read the following from the SAC regarding how D&D considers certain things "magical' or not:
Is the breath weapon of a dragon magical?
If you cast antimagic field, don armor of invulnerability, or use another feature of the game that protects against magical or nonmagical effects, you might ask yourself, “Will this protect me against a dragon’s breath?” The breath weapon of a typical dragon isn’t considered magical, so antimagic field won’t help you but armor of invulnerability will.
You might be thinking, “Dragons seem pretty magical to me.” And yes, they are extraordinary! Their description even says they’re magical. But our game makes a distinction between two types of magic:
the background magic that is part of the D&D multiverse’s physics and the physiology of many D&D creatures
the concentrated magical energy that is contained in a magic item or channeled to create a spell or other focused magical effect
In D&D, the first type of magic is part of nature. It is no more dispellable than the wind. A monster like a dragon exists because of that magic-enhanced nature. The second type of magic is what the rules are concerned about. When a rule refers to something being magical, it’s referring to that second type. Determining whether a game feature is magical is straightforward. Ask yourself these questions about the feature:
Is it a magic item?
Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell that’s mentioned in its description?
Is it a spell attack?
Is it fueled by the use of spell slots?
Does its description say it’s magical?
If your answer to any of those questions is yes, the feature is magical.
Let’s look at a white dragon’s Cold Breath and ask ourselves those questions. First, Cold Breath isn’t a magic item. Second, its description mentions no spell. Third, it’s not a spell attack. Fourth, the word “magical” appears nowhere in its description. Our conclusion: Cold Breath is not considered a magical game effect, even though we know that dragons are amazing, supernatural beings.
For a Way of Shadow monk, can their silence be dispelled?
A spell is a spell, no matter its source. When you cast a spell through a feature, the spell is subject to the normal spellcasting rules, unless the feature says otherwise.
however the features like ki fueled attacks such as flurry of blows still works. even inside the antimagic field however your fists are not treated as magical because they are suppressed.
I have never considered this before. This isn't all that clear, and some DMs may rule differently.
Would a monk be able to cast the spell without using ki points if they have the components? I haven’t been able to to find anything that says they can’t but I can’t find anything that says they can either
Would a monk be able to cast the spell without using ki points if they have the components? I haven’t been able to to find anything that says they can’t but I can’t find anything that says they can either
No, a monk does not have the spellcasting feature, so can't cast spells except using whatever features and methods their class gives them. These spells are also not known/learned/prepared like normal spells - so could not be cast using spell slots you got from another class or multiclassing.
The ki points are letting the monk cast without spell slots (which are far more important than components in spellcasting).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Rules Clarification
Monks in the Way of the Shadow have the following ability:
Shadow Arts
Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can use your ki to duplicate the effects of certain spells. As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to cast darkness, darkvision, pass without trace, or silence, without providing material components. Additionally, you gain the minor illusion cantrip if you don’t already know it.
Can these abilities be effected by Counter Spell and/or Dispel Magic? I ask because of the wording in the ability "duplicate" the effects of those spells. But I guess it comes down to Ki and whether Magic affects it or not.
But the it plainly says "you can cast [spell]," and makes no mention of the spells not being spells for the purpose of counter spell and dispel magic.
To put it simply, you are using Ki to cast a spell, but are still casting a spell.
👍
it says copy the effect of a spell not cast as a spell, if it did it would say something more like "you can use your Ki to cast a spell" the other clue is that it cost no material components. its like the old arcane material component vs a cleric casting the spell. it snot arcane so no component.
idk:
Pretty explicit that in the exact sentence it states you are casting darkness. Sure it says before it you duplicate effects. But frankly it doesn't say they are not magical effect. If you duplicate the effect of a spell you are duplicating the spell, since the spell it magical, what you duplicate it magical.
Not having a material component require does not discount it from D&D 5e counterspell rules. If it is a spell it can be counter. Since it says "You can cast" it is a spell.
That is the feature's summary/flavor text. When it actually tells you what the feature does, it says you are casting a spell.
ok so in doing research because it is cast it is then a spell so it would not even work in antimagic field and such and in fact can be dispelled. consider you ki like sorcery points.
however the features like ki fueled attacks such as flurry of blows still works. even inside the antimagic field however your fists are not treated as magical because they are suppressed.
i dont necessarily agree, but if the dragon breath weapon works then certain other features do as well.
so yes you are correct by casting it then becomes a spell.
Aeoncaster777, I would recommend you read the following from the SAC regarding how D&D considers certain things "magical' or not:
Also this:
I have never considered this before. This isn't all that clear, and some DMs may rule differently.
Would a monk be able to cast the spell without using ki points if they have the components? I haven’t been able to to find anything that says they can’t but I can’t find anything that says they can either
No, a monk does not have the spellcasting feature, so can't cast spells except using whatever features and methods their class gives them. These spells are also not known/learned/prepared like normal spells - so could not be cast using spell slots you got from another class or multiclassing.
The ki points are letting the monk cast without spell slots (which are far more important than components in spellcasting).