Yeah, I'm basically Ghostrider and we all find it delightful. Haha. I didn't think I had to point it out. Though, my face does not turn into a skull. .
Not yet... Soon you will be fighting with a chain that delivers fire damage...
You know... I wonder if I can convince my DM to consider the chain a "ranged attack" so I can keep my +2 bonus to that. Cause, like... yeah. great idea!
I kinda miss spiked chains as a weapon, but they were always basically a whip, not a ranged weapon. Archery fighting style doesn't have to apply to everything :)
Yeah he probably won't let me get away with it, but I think you could argue the rite magic causes the chain to just out and attack like a ranged weapon. It's a stretch, I know.
So in our campaing one of our players plays the crimson rite this way: She takes the damage (by rolling a die ofc) and from that point forward that is the amount of damage she also deals to the enemy (without rolling, just taking the result of the roll for her own damage). Example: She takes 6 damage, so from that point she deals 6 damage.
I understand it, that your roll your hemo die to take damage, and from that point forward as long as the crimson rite is active you can roll the hemo die as additional damage. Example: She rolls 1d6 to take damage and from that point she rolls 1d6 additional damage(of the chosen element ofc) to enemy.
The rules actually can be understood both ways, but for me the second option sound more right but i might be wrong. Can someone clarify it for us?
I've only ever interpreted that as rolling separately for both effects (activation and added damage). It doesn't explicitly say you roll both times though, so I can see how they arrived at their conclusion.
I'd ultimately argue that "While the rite is in effect, attacks you make with this weapon are magical, and deal extra damage equal to your hemocraft die of the type determined by the chosen rite." is talking about adding *a die* to the damage dealt by a weapon. I'll admit, though, that it's still possible to read it the other way.
I wonder the crossover of people who think the crimson rite damage is rolled only once who also think magic missile damage should only be rolled once (1d4+1 calculated once and that one result applied to all the missiles in the spread)?... (For the record, I'm firmly Team Roll-separate-d4's-for-each-magic-missile, because I'm not a crazy person, lol)
I checked the character sheet for Blood Hunter and there it's actually more clear, but some people probably could still interpret it the other way:
"As a bonus action, you can activate any rite you know on a weapon you're holding. A weapon can only hold one active rite at a time. When activated, you take 1d6 necrotic damage which can't be reduced in any way.
While your rite is in effect, attacks made with this weapon are magical and you deal an additional 1d6 damage of the type determined by the chosen rite. The rite’s effect lasts until you finish a short/long rest and other creatures cannot gain the benefit of your rite."
Adding the 1d6 on the damage is crucial, because if you have a crit, you double the dice amount so you'd roll 2d6.
Back to the OP question: the wording "Should your weapon leave your grip, the rite fades immediately." Is no longer in the description of the class feature at https://www.dndbeyond.com/classes/blood-hunter#CrimsonRite-1610627 so I guess "The effect of the rite lasts until you finish a short or long rest." - nothing more, nothing less.
So a BH can do the Crimson Rite in the morning and keep one or even two of his weapons glowing until next morning (or until first hour long beer), right?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
You know... I wonder if I can convince my DM to consider the chain a "ranged attack" so I can keep my +2 bonus to that. Cause, like... yeah. great idea!
I kinda miss spiked chains as a weapon, but they were always basically a whip, not a ranged weapon. Archery fighting style doesn't have to apply to everything :)
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Yeah he probably won't let me get away with it, but I think you could argue the rite magic causes the chain to just out and attack like a ranged weapon. It's a stretch, I know.
Hi I have a question regarding a Crimson Rite.
So in our campaing one of our players plays the crimson rite this way: She takes the damage (by rolling a die ofc) and from that point forward that is the amount of damage she also deals to the enemy (without rolling, just taking the result of the roll for her own damage). Example: She takes 6 damage, so from that point she deals 6 damage.
I understand it, that your roll your hemo die to take damage, and from that point forward as long as the crimson rite is active you can roll the hemo die as additional damage. Example: She rolls 1d6 to take damage and from that point she rolls 1d6 additional damage(of the chosen element ofc) to enemy.
The rules actually can be understood both ways, but for me the second option sound more right but i might be wrong. Can someone clarify it for us?
I've only ever interpreted that as rolling separately for both effects (activation and added damage). It doesn't explicitly say you roll both times though, so I can see how they arrived at their conclusion.
I'd ultimately argue that "While the rite is in effect, attacks you make with this weapon are magical, and deal extra damage equal to your hemocraft die of the type determined by the chosen rite." is talking about adding *a die* to the damage dealt by a weapon. I'll admit, though, that it's still possible to read it the other way.
I wonder the crossover of people who think the crimson rite damage is rolled only once who also think magic missile damage should only be rolled once (1d4+1 calculated once and that one result applied to all the missiles in the spread)?... (For the record, I'm firmly Team Roll-separate-d4's-for-each-magic-missile, because I'm not a crazy person, lol)
I checked the character sheet for Blood Hunter and there it's actually more clear, but some people probably could still interpret it the other way:
"As a bonus action, you can activate any rite you know on a weapon you're holding. A weapon can only hold one active rite at a time. When activated, you take 1d6 necrotic damage which can't be reduced in any way.
While your rite is in effect, attacks made with this weapon are magical and you deal an additional 1d6 damage of the type determined by the chosen rite. The rite’s effect lasts until you finish a short/long rest and other creatures cannot gain the benefit of your rite."
Adding the 1d6 on the damage is crucial, because if you have a crit, you double the dice amount so you'd roll 2d6.
Back to the OP question: the wording "Should your weapon leave your grip, the rite fades immediately." Is no longer in the description of the class feature at https://www.dndbeyond.com/classes/blood-hunter#CrimsonRite-1610627 so I guess "The effect of the rite lasts until you finish a short or long rest." - nothing more, nothing less.
So a BH can do the Crimson Rite in the morning and keep one or even two of his weapons glowing until next morning (or until first hour long beer), right?