Note that having forced movement not count creates situations such as "We need to get through that Wall of Fire. Quick, wizard, cast Gust of Wind to push us through without taking any damage", and having movement not on your turn not count creates "I ready an action to run through the wall". Probably the best option that doesn't result in the double damage effects and also doesn't have random exploits like the above is to just rule something like "Damaging zones can only damage a character once per round."
Note that having forced movement not count creates situations such as "We need to get through that Wall of Fire. Quick, wizard, cast Gust of Wind to push us through without taking any damage" (1), and having movement not on your turn not count creates "I ready an action to run through the wall" (2). Probably the best option that doesn't result in the double damage effects and also doesn't have random exploits like the above is to just rule something like "Damaging zones can only damage a character once per round."
1) I don't see a problem with that. The idea behind forced movement not triggering these types of effects is that you're being moved so suddenly that there's not enough time for the effect to actually activate and/or cause any damage... until you start your turn, and then you're in trouble.
2) I don't think anyone's saying that's a valid option to begin with. If you are using your reaction to move off-turn, you are still moving. That fire's gonna get ya.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
If you can't just dash to get through a damaging zone, forced movement shouldn't be different; forced movement is different for opportunity attacks because the justification for opportunity attacks is that you make yourself vulnerable (likely by turning your back), and that doesn't happen if someone else moves you.
Spells that require willing movement already explicitly say that. There’s no reason to expect that “moves” and “willingly moves” mean the same thing.
I realize there’s an entire thread devoted to discussing what “willingly” means, because it IS ill-defined and WotC dropped the ball on that, but it’s not an issue here, because the “willing” condition is omitted entirely.
Forced movement triggers the effect, and it also triggers at the start of their next turn. They do not make the save when the spell effect begins in their area (which seems dumb but is how it works).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Note that having forced movement not count creates situations such as "We need to get through that Wall of Fire. Quick, wizard, cast Gust of Wind to push us through without taking any damage", and having movement not on your turn not count creates "I ready an action to run through the wall". Probably the best option that doesn't result in the double damage effects and also doesn't have random exploits like the above is to just rule something like "Damaging zones can only damage a character once per round."
1) I don't see a problem with that. The idea behind forced movement not triggering these types of effects is that you're being moved so suddenly that there's not enough time for the effect to actually activate and/or cause any damage... until you start your turn, and then you're in trouble.
2) I don't think anyone's saying that's a valid option to begin with. If you are using your reaction to move off-turn, you are still moving. That fire's gonna get ya.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
If you can't just dash to get through a damaging zone, forced movement shouldn't be different; forced movement is different for opportunity attacks because the justification for opportunity attacks is that you make yourself vulnerable (likely by turning your back), and that doesn't happen if someone else moves you.
Spells that require willing movement already explicitly say that. There’s no reason to expect that “moves” and “willingly moves” mean the same thing.
I realize there’s an entire thread devoted to discussing what “willingly” means, because it IS ill-defined and WotC dropped the ball on that, but it’s not an issue here, because the “willing” condition is omitted entirely.
Forced movement triggers the effect, and it also triggers at the start of their next turn. They do not make the save when the spell effect begins in their area (which seems dumb but is how it works).