Wolf. While you're raging, your friends have advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature within 5 feet of you that is hostile to you. The spirit of the wolf makes you a leader of hunters.
Arcane Hand
You create a Large hand of shimmering, translucent force in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The hand lasts for the spell’s duration, and it moves at your command, mimicking the movements of your own hand. The hand is an object that has AC 20 and hit points equal to your hit point maximum. If it drops to 0 hit points, the spell ends. It has a Strength of 26 (+8) and a Dexterity of 10 (+0). The hand doesn’t fill its space. When you cast the spell and as a bonus action on your subsequent turns, you can move the hand up to 60 feet and then cause one of the following effects with it. Clenched Fist. The hand strikes one creature or object within 5 feet of it. Make a melee spell attack for the hand using your game statistics. On a hit, the target takes 4d8 force damage.
Trying to figure out if Wolf Barbarians would give advantage to wizard friends who cast Arcane Hand and use the Clenched Fist. It's a melee spell attack, which is still a melee attack roll, but I'm trying to figure out if the advantage would come from the Wolf Barbarian because The Hand is an Object and not a friend. Can't seem to get a solid answer and google has not helped.
Wolf. While you're raging, your friends have advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature within 5 feet of you that is hostile to you. The spirit of the wolf makes you a leader of hunters.
Arcane Hand
You create a Large hand of shimmering, translucent force in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The hand lasts for the spell’s duration, and it moves at your command, mimicking the movements of your own hand. The hand is an object that has AC 20 and hit points equal to your hit point maximum. If it drops to 0 hit points, the spell ends. It has a Strength of 26 (+8) and a Dexterity of 10 (+0). The hand doesn’t fill its space. When you cast the spell and as a bonus action on your subsequent turns, you can move the hand up to 60 feet and then cause one of the following effects with it. Clenched Fist. The hand strikes one creature or object within 5 feet of it. Make a melee spell attack for the hand using your game statistics. On a hit, the target takes 4d8 force damage.
Trying to figure out if Wolf Barbarians would give advantage to wizard friends who cast Arcane Hand and use the Clenched Fist. It's a melee spell attack, which is still a melee attack roll, but I'm trying to figure out if the advantage would come from the Wolf Barbarian because The Hand is an Object and not a friend. Can't seem to get a solid answer and google has not helped.
I would Rule it as Yes. Provided the caster of the hand is an ally. It mimics the movements of your friends own hand.
RAW not on the surface.
RAI.... probably still no.
HOWEVER... it could be that the hand is considered an object in the same manner a golem, construct, is an object and not a creature but can still be an ally. Because I believe raw and rai the golem would get advantage.
-also... it’s still your friend making the melee attack. Even though they aren’t in melee range... so rules lawyer wording it works in that sense raw.
RAW, I think yes. The rules of the wolf totem require a few things:
- the attack must be melee, which includes melee weapon attacks and melee spell attacks.
- the creature making the attack is a friend and the target of the attack is hostile. This describes 99.9% of normal combat attacks.
- the target of the attack must be within 5ft of the wolf totem barbarian; no mention is made of how far the attacker can be from the target or the barbarian.
The language of the spell indicates that it is the caster of the spell who makes the attack. It does not say that the object attacks, but commands the caster to make the attack. The hand has no stats to make the attack itself. If the caster is a friend, and the other criteria are met, then advantage is granted.
Wolf. While you're raging, your friends have advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature within 5 feet of you that is hostile to you. The spirit of the wolf makes you a leader of hunters.
Arcane Hand
The hand is an object that has AC 20 and hit points equal to your hit point maximum. If it drops to 0 hit points, the spell ends. It has a Strength of 26 (+8) and a Dexterity of 10 (+0). The hand doesn’t fill its space.
When you cast the spell and as a bonus action on your subsequent turns, you can move the hand up to 60 feet and then cause one of the following effects with it.
Clenched Fist. The hand strikes one creature or object within 5 feet of it. Make a melee spell attack for the hand using your game statistics. On a hit, the target takes 4d8 force damage.
Trying to figure out if Wolf Barbarians would give advantage to wizard friends who cast Arcane Hand and use the Clenched Fist. It's a melee spell attack, which is still a melee attack roll, but I'm trying to figure out if the advantage would come from the Wolf Barbarian because The Hand is an Object and not a friend. Can't seem to get a solid answer and google has not helped.
I would Rule it as Yes. Provided the caster of the hand is an ally. It mimics the movements of your friends own hand.
RAW not on the surface.
RAI.... probably still no.
HOWEVER... it could be that the hand is considered an object in the same manner a golem, construct, is an object and not a creature but can still be an ally. Because I believe raw and rai the golem would get advantage.
-also... it’s still your friend making the melee attack. Even though they aren’t in melee range... so rules lawyer wording it works in that sense raw.
Blank
RAW, I think yes. The rules of the wolf totem require a few things:
- the attack must be melee, which includes melee weapon attacks and melee spell attacks.
- the creature making the attack is a friend and the target of the attack is hostile. This describes 99.9% of normal combat attacks.
- the target of the attack must be within 5ft of the wolf totem barbarian; no mention is made of how far the attacker can be from the target or the barbarian.
The language of the spell indicates that it is the caster of the spell who makes the attack. It does not say that the object attacks, but commands the caster to make the attack. The hand has no stats to make the attack itself. If the caster is a friend, and the other criteria are met, then advantage is granted.
The RAW doesn't say any reason it doesn't.
Friend attacking? Yes. Melee attack? Yes. Against your enemy? Yes. Within 5 feet of you? Yes.