The Lightning Bolt spell does not say what happens when it hits a surface, but I would say it does damage to the wall and stops unless it does enough to destroy the section of wall, in which case it would continue, repeating this process as necessary until the end of the 100 feet.
The Lightning Bolt spell does not say what happens when it hits a surface, but I would say it does damage to the wall and stops unless it does enough to destroy the section of wall, in which case it would continue, repeating this process as necessary until the end of the 100 feet.
The rules say anything in full cover (such as behind a wall) is not effected by a spell. So lightning bolt could damage the wall, but not anything past it. (And actually, the spell doesn't say it damages objects other than setting flammable objects on fire, so that would be a house rule too).
But yeah, 5e rules are pretty boring. The DM could house rule ricochet or piercing, but it isn't RAW.
The Lightning Bolt spell does not say what happens when it hits a surface, but I would say it does damage to the wall and stops unless it does enough to destroy the section of wall, in which case it would continue, repeating this process as necessary until the end of the 100 feet.
The rules say anything in full cover (such as behind a wall) is not effected by a spell. So lightning bolt could damage the wall, but not anything past it. (And actually, the spell doesn't say it damages objects other than setting flammable objects on fire, so that would be a house rule too).
But yeah, 5e rules are pretty boring. The DM could house rule ricochet or piercing, but it isn't RAW.
I don't disagree about RAW in this case.
but
Damaging Objects is a set of rules all to itself so that weapons, spells and the like don't need to specifically state that they damage objects. The amount of damage the weapon or spell is capable of dealing and the Damage Threshold are the only limiting factors involved.
Actually the wording says, "A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area of effect. A target has total cover if it is completely concealed by an obstacle." The area of effect for a lightning bolt says, "A stroke of lightning forming a line 100 feet long and 5 feet wide blasts out from you in a direction you choose. Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 8d6 lightning damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. The lightning ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried."
SOOO the lightning would continue through the wall, harming someone on the other side so long as they are within the 100ft of the spell effect, and if the wall was flammable it would catch fire as well.
Actually the wording says, "A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area of effect. A target has total cover if it is completely concealed by an obstacle." The area of effect for a lightning bolt says, "A stroke of lightning forming a line 100 feet long and 5 feet wide blasts out from you in a direction you choose. Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 8d6 lightning damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. The lightning ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried."
SOOO the lightning would continue through the wall, harming someone on the other side so long as they are within the 100ft of the spell effect, and if the wall was flammable it would catch fire as well.
No, we had it right 2 years ago: (from AOE rules in PHB chapter 10)
A spell’s effect expands in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of origin to a location within the area of effect, that location isn’t included in the spell’s area. To block one of these imaginary lines, an obstruction must provide total cover, as explained in chapter 9.
In other words, if the area has total cover from the point of origin of an AOE, that area is not within the AOE. AOEs do not go through walls unless they specifically say they do.
Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 8d6 lightning damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. The lightning ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried."
If the wall was flammable, it would burn down. Otherwise, since the wall is not a creature, it will not take the damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
i am a human being.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Curious about opinions in lobbing a lightning bolt into a small room, say 15X30. All walls, floor, ceiling and doors are stone.
Ricochet around, damaging anyone or anything in the ricochets? Or does it end at the first stone structure it meets?
Gray Mouser
Lightning bolt does not richochete in 5.0 That is an old rule.
The Lightning Bolt spell does not say what happens when it hits a surface, but I would say it does damage to the wall and stops unless it does enough to destroy the section of wall, in which case it would continue, repeating this process as necessary until the end of the 100 feet.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
The rules say anything in full cover (such as behind a wall) is not effected by a spell. So lightning bolt could damage the wall, but not anything past it. (And actually, the spell doesn't say it damages objects other than setting flammable objects on fire, so that would be a house rule too).
But yeah, 5e rules are pretty boring. The DM could house rule ricochet or piercing, but it isn't RAW.
I don't disagree about RAW in this case.
but
Damaging Objects is a set of rules all to itself so that weapons, spells and the like don't need to specifically state that they damage objects. The amount of damage the weapon or spell is capable of dealing and the Damage Threshold are the only limiting factors involved.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
Actually the wording says, "A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area of effect. A target has total cover if it is completely concealed by an obstacle." The area of effect for a lightning bolt says, "A stroke of lightning forming a line 100 feet long and 5 feet wide blasts out from you in a direction you choose. Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 8d6
lightning damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. The lightning ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried."
SOOO the lightning would continue through the wall, harming someone on the other side so long as they are within the 100ft of the spell effect, and if the wall was flammable it would catch fire as well.
No, we had it right 2 years ago: (from AOE rules in PHB chapter 10)
In other words, if the area has total cover from the point of origin of an AOE, that area is not within the AOE. AOEs do not go through walls unless they specifically say they do.
If the wall was flammable, it would burn down. Otherwise, since the wall is not a creature, it will not take the damage.
i am a human being.