If a character takes this feat in a spellcasting class that is not their class, for example a Bard taking it in Sorcerer, would the Bard then be able to attune to a magic item that must be attuned by a Sorcerer, such as a Staff of Power?
Technically Rules as Written, no. But I’ve had a DM allow me to do that before and if someone in my game that I’m running wants to use the Magic Initiate feat in order to be able to attune to a magic item I would allow it as a house rule.
Technically Rules as Written, no. But I’ve had a DM allow me to do that before and if someone in my game that I’m running wants to use the Magic Initiate feat in order to be able to attune to a magic item I would allow it as a house rule.
That is pretty much what I am thinking. More specifically, I am running Lost Mine of Phandelver, and there are two unique magic items, the Staff of Defense and the Spider Staff. Neither of them require a specific class to attune, but to use their spell abilities (Mage Armor and Shield for the first, and Web and Spider Climb for the second) it states that the spells must be on your class's spell list. I don't have any Wizards or Sorcerers in the group, but I do have a Bard with Magic Initiate:Sorcerer, and a Warlock. I am debating letting either of these characters attune and use the spells in the items. I am also considering letting the Monk attune and use them as well, as he regularly uses a quarterstaff in combat, but I am not sure if that would be too OP.
Here is what I would do with both of those items. I would let anyone attune to them and get the basic benefit of the staffs, meaning the +1 to AC of the 1d6 poison damage. I would let the bard attune to either one and use all of the spells from it because all of the spells from both staffs are on the Sorcerer spell list. The reason is a feat is an expensive resource to acquire. I wouldn’t let anyone else in the party use any of the spells from those staffs, but I would let them use the basic effects.
If a character takes this feat in a spellcasting class that is not their class, for example a Bard taking it in Sorcerer, would the Bard then be able to attune to a magic item that must be attuned by a Sorcerer, such as a Staff of Power?
Officially, no. You've taken a feat that's given you access to some of the Sorcerer's magic, but you have not taken a level in Sorcerer. Ergo, you are not a Sorcerer. :)
If a character takes this feat in a spellcasting class that is not their class, for example a Bard taking it in Sorcerer, would the Bard then be able to attune to a magic item that must be attuned by a Sorcerer, such as a Staff of Power?
Technically Rules as Written, no. But I’ve had a DM allow me to do that before and if someone in my game that I’m running wants to use the Magic Initiate feat in order to be able to attune to a magic item I would allow it as a house rule.
Professional computer geek
That is pretty much what I am thinking. More specifically, I am running Lost Mine of Phandelver, and there are two unique magic items, the Staff of Defense and the Spider Staff. Neither of them require a specific class to attune, but to use their spell abilities (Mage Armor and Shield for the first, and Web and Spider Climb for the second) it states that the spells must be on your class's spell list. I don't have any Wizards or Sorcerers in the group, but I do have a Bard with Magic Initiate:Sorcerer, and a Warlock. I am debating letting either of these characters attune and use the spells in the items. I am also considering letting the Monk attune and use them as well, as he regularly uses a quarterstaff in combat, but I am not sure if that would be too OP.
Here is what I would do with both of those items. I would let anyone attune to them and get the basic benefit of the staffs, meaning the +1 to AC of the 1d6 poison damage. I would let the bard attune to either one and use all of the spells from it because all of the spells from both staffs are on the Sorcerer spell list. The reason is a feat is an expensive resource to acquire. I wouldn’t let anyone else in the party use any of the spells from those staffs, but I would let them use the basic effects.
Professional computer geek
Well, bards get magical secrets, so they kinda have every spell on their spell list. Kinda?
Officially, no. You've taken a feat that's given you access to some of the Sorcerer's magic, but you have not taken a level in Sorcerer. Ergo, you are not a Sorcerer. :)
What kind of Warlock is it? The Hexblade adds Shield to the list and any Warlock can take Armor of Shadows.
Additionally, a Mark of Warding Dwarf can cast Mage Armor Innately. Meanwhile, the Golgari Agent has spider climb added.
Of course, you could see if anyone multiclasses if you allow that.
You know, as a DM , you could just rename the items and drop any requirements as you see fit?