I have non-thrown one-handed-weapon in my main hand and light melee weapon with thrown property in my second hand. Can I throw my weapon in second hand before making a attack with my main hand?
Two-Weapon Fighting (Combat Rules) When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative. If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.
You have to use your action first in order to make the bonus action attack. That's indicated by the 'when' clause; you have to firstly take the attack action, and secondly attack with a light melee weapon to then use your bonus action to attack
RAW no. You don't have a bonus action off hand attack until you have actually taken the attack action. Similar wording applies to the shield master shield bash.
RAW, there is no distinction between a main hand or off hand. What is the problem with simply taking the attack action to throw one weapon and then using the bonus action for the held weapon? What is the functional difference? I guess only which one gets the ability score bonus (unless you have the relevant feat).
Also, this set up requires a bit of movement to be able to take a ranged attack and melee one without disadvantage somewhere.
Your question has already been answered most helpfully by everyone else but I would like to point out that the Snipe Maneuver from the Unearthed Arcana Class Variants allows you to throw a dagger as an independent bonus action. If you use the class variants playtest material you can get this maneuver as a Battle Master, as any class that has a Fighting Style and takes the Superior Technique style, or as any character who takes the Martial Adept feat.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
What if I have non-light weapon in one hand, and dagger( light throw weapon) in other hand. According to rules - I can't make bonus action to attack with dagger, because to make Two-Weapon Fighting - you need both weapons to be light... But can I throw my dager as bonus action after I make attack with my other hand with non light weapon?
No. Two weapon fighting is what gives you the ability to make two attacks, and it requires both weapons to be light unless you have certain other features.
What if I have non-light weapon in one hand, and dagger( light throw weapon) in other hand. According to rules - I can't make bonus action to attack with dagger, because to make Two-Weapon Fighting - you need both weapons to be light... But can I throw my dager as bonus action after I make attack with my other hand with non light weapon?
You already answered your question: no can do. In order to get the bonus action attack with Two-Weapon Fighting both weapons need to satisfy its conditions - and throwing the dagger doesn't make it any different.
Question, as a rogue, can you attack with a broadsword in one hand and then throw a javelin as a bonus action? The javelin doesn't have the "light" label but it is the same weight as a dagger and can be thrown just like a dagger. Is the rule really limited because the javelin doesn't have that label despite all other factors of a javelin being similar to a dagger?
I just find that the rule is so logically flawed for a javelin to not have the properties of a light weapon. If you look at the definition of "light" according to the book, it is defined as: "[A light Weapon is] small and easy to handle, making it ideal for use when Fighting with Two Weapons." Although it doesn't expressly specify a numbered weight, it clearly insinuates that a small and easy-to-use weapon that is ideal for two-weapon fighting has to weigh a specific amount in order to be "light".
It makes complete sense that a dagger has the properties of Finese, Light, Range, and Thrown since it a small and light weapon that is ideal for two-weapon fighting. But what makes it small and ideal for fighting? I argue it is the weight of the weapon. In this case, the dagger is short, weighs 2 to 3 lbs, and is ideal for two-weapon fighting because it weighs light enough to dual wield them without issue.
If you're going to say, "well a Javelin may have the same weight as the dagger, but the Javelin is much bigger and longer than a dagger so it is not ideal for two weapon fighting," then let's look at another "light" melee weapon that is bigger than a dagger.
The shortsword and a handaxe also have the properties of Finese, Light, and [Thrown (only for handaxe)]. They both weigh 2 lbs. The length and size are certainly much longer and bigger yet it still has the "light" melee property. The similarities a shortsword or a handaxe has with a dagger is purely the weight.
A javelin has the properties of Range and Thrown. It lacks the text of "light". Yet the weight of a javelin is 2 lbs. The same weight as all the "light" weapons listed above. It isn't as small as a dagger but it certainly is just as big or even smaller than a shortsword or a handaxe. A Javelin doesn't require both hands to wield because the function of a javelin is to throw it with one hand. Not two. The functionality of a Javelin or use of this weapon is clearly ideal for two-weapon fighting because it weighs light enough to carry with one hand.
I just see such a big logical disconnection here if you look at the definition of these properties and how they distinguish themselves from other properties and weapons. It just doesn't make sense why a dagger, shortsword, and handaxe is a light weapon but a javelin is not.
What if I have non-light weapon in one hand, and dagger( light throw weapon) in other hand. According to rules - I can't make bonus action to attack with dagger, because to make Two-Weapon Fighting - you need both weapons to be light... But can I throw my dager as bonus action after I make attack with my other hand with non light weapon?
The exception is if you take the Dual Wielder feat. Then the light restriction no longer matters.
I just find that the rule is so logically flawed for a javelin to not have the properties of a light weapon. If you look at the definition of "light" according to the book, it is defined as: "[A light Weapon is] small and easy to handle, making it ideal for use when Fighting with Two Weapons." Although it doesn't expressly specify a numbered weight, it clearly insinuates that a small and easy-to-use weapon that is ideal for two-weapon fighting has to weigh a specific amount in order to be "light".
It makes complete sense that a dagger has the properties of Finese, Light, Range, and Thrown since it a small and light weapon that is ideal for two-weapon fighting. But what makes it small and ideal for fighting? I argue it is the weight of the weapon. In this case, the dagger is short, weighs 2 to 3 lbs, and is ideal for two-weapon fighting because it weighs light enough to dual wield them without issue.
If you're going to say, "well a Javelin may have the same weight as the dagger, but the Javelin is much bigger and longer than a dagger so it is not ideal for two weapon fighting," then let's look at another "light" melee weapon that is bigger than a dagger.
The shortsword and a handaxe also have the properties of Finese, Light, and [Thrown (only for handaxe)]. They both weigh 2 lbs. The length and size are certainly much longer and bigger yet it still has the "light" melee property. The similarities a shortsword or a handaxe has with a dagger is purely the weight.
A javelin has the properties of Range and Thrown. It lacks the text of "light". Yet the weight of a javelin is 2 lbs. The same weight as all the "light" weapons listed above. It isn't as small as a dagger but it certainly is just as big or even smaller than a shortsword or a handaxe. A Javelin doesn't require both hands to wield because the function of a javelin is to throw it with one hand. Not two. The functionality of a Javelin or use of this weapon is clearly ideal for two-weapon fighting because it weighs light enough to carry with one hand.
I just see such a big logical disconnection here if you look at the definition of these properties and how they distinguish themselves from other properties and weapons. It just doesn't make sense why a dagger, shortsword, and handaxe is a light weapon but a javelin is not.
Also, a javelin is most definitely longer then a handaxe or short sword. The one-handed javelin was usually 60 cm or more while a short sword was typically between 30 and 50 cm .according to wikipedia anyway..
Um, actually it depends. If both weapons you are wielding are light weapons that both have thrown property eg two daggers. You could then take the attack action to throw the first dagger and bonus action melee attack with the other one.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have non-thrown one-handed-weapon in my main hand and light melee weapon with thrown property in my second hand. Can I throw my weapon in second hand before making a attack with my main hand?
You have to use your action first in order to make the bonus action attack. That's indicated by the 'when' clause; you have to firstly take the attack action, and secondly attack with a light melee weapon to then use your bonus action to attack
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
RAW no. You don't have a bonus action off hand attack until you have actually taken the attack action. Similar wording applies to the shield master shield bash.
RAW, there is no distinction between a main hand or off hand. What is the problem with simply taking the attack action to throw one weapon and then using the bonus action for the held weapon? What is the functional difference? I guess only which one gets the ability score bonus (unless you have the relevant feat).
Also, this set up requires a bit of movement to be able to take a ranged attack and melee one without disadvantage somewhere.
Your question has already been answered most helpfully by everyone else but I would like to point out that the Snipe Maneuver from the Unearthed Arcana Class Variants allows you to throw a dagger as an independent bonus action. If you use the class variants playtest material you can get this maneuver as a Battle Master, as any class that has a Fighting Style and takes the Superior Technique style, or as any character who takes the Martial Adept feat.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
thx, guys. Can you help me with other example:
What if I have non-light weapon in one hand, and dagger( light throw weapon) in other hand. According to rules - I can't make bonus action to attack with dagger, because to make Two-Weapon Fighting - you need both weapons to be light... But can I throw my dager as bonus action after I make attack with my other hand with non light weapon?
No. Two weapon fighting is what gives you the ability to make two attacks, and it requires both weapons to be light unless you have certain other features.
You already answered your question: no can do. In order to get the bonus action attack with Two-Weapon Fighting both weapons need to satisfy its conditions - and throwing the dagger doesn't make it any different.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Question, as a rogue, can you attack with a broadsword in one hand and then throw a javelin as a bonus action? The javelin doesn't have the "light" label but it is the same weight as a dagger and can be thrown just like a dagger. Is the rule really limited because the javelin doesn't have that label despite all other factors of a javelin being similar to a dagger?
It is the properties that matter, not the listed weight.
I just find that the rule is so logically flawed for a javelin to not have the properties of a light weapon. If you look at the definition of "light" according to the book, it is defined as: "[A light Weapon is] small and easy to handle, making it ideal for use when Fighting with Two Weapons." Although it doesn't expressly specify a numbered weight, it clearly insinuates that a small and easy-to-use weapon that is ideal for two-weapon fighting has to weigh a specific amount in order to be "light".
It makes complete sense that a dagger has the properties of Finese, Light, Range, and Thrown since it a small and light weapon that is ideal for two-weapon fighting. But what makes it small and ideal for fighting? I argue it is the weight of the weapon. In this case, the dagger is short, weighs 2 to 3 lbs, and is ideal for two-weapon fighting because it weighs light enough to dual wield them without issue.
If you're going to say, "well a Javelin may have the same weight as the dagger, but the Javelin is much bigger and longer than a dagger so it is not ideal for two weapon fighting," then let's look at another "light" melee weapon that is bigger than a dagger.
The shortsword and a handaxe also have the properties of Finese, Light, and [Thrown (only for handaxe)]. They both weigh 2 lbs. The length and size are certainly much longer and bigger yet it still has the "light" melee property. The similarities a shortsword or a handaxe has with a dagger is purely the weight.
A javelin has the properties of Range and Thrown. It lacks the text of "light". Yet the weight of a javelin is 2 lbs. The same weight as all the "light" weapons listed above. It isn't as small as a dagger but it certainly is just as big or even smaller than a shortsword or a handaxe. A Javelin doesn't require both hands to wield because the function of a javelin is to throw it with one hand. Not two. The functionality of a Javelin or use of this weapon is clearly ideal for two-weapon fighting because it weighs light enough to carry with one hand.
I just see such a big logical disconnection here if you look at the definition of these properties and how they distinguish themselves from other properties and weapons. It just doesn't make sense why a dagger, shortsword, and handaxe is a light weapon but a javelin is not.
The exception is if you take the Dual Wielder feat. Then the light restriction no longer matters.
Also, a javelin is most definitely longer then a handaxe or short sword. The one-handed javelin was usually 60 cm or more while a short sword was typically between 30 and 50 cm .according to wikipedia anyway..
Um, actually it depends. If both weapons you are wielding are light weapons that both have thrown property eg two daggers. You could then take the attack action to throw the first dagger and bonus action melee attack with the other one.