I’m currently playing an Arcane Trickster Rogue and was wondering if there is anything stopping from using a Battle Maneuver with either Booming Blade or Green Flame Blade. As I read it there shouldn’t be any reason I couldn’t just want to see what others think.
Do you mean if you multiclassed into Battlemaster Fighter, or are you talking about things like grappling or shoving? If it's the latter, I don't think so. Those spells specifically require you to make a melee weapon attack, and I don't think Shoving/Grappling/etc qualify.
Assuming you mean battlemaster maneuvers from multiclass or feat, the ones that require you to hit with an attack will still work, commander's strike will not.
Assuming you mean battlemaster maneuvers from multiclass or feat, the ones that require you to hit with an attack will still work, commander's strike will not.
Also worth noting is Lunging Attack... while this maneuver can technically be applied to the weapon attack of the SCAG cantrips, it does not increase the range of the spell itself. Thus, you cannot use those spells at 10ft without the use of the Spell Sniper feat, Distant Spell Metamagic, or some other feature which explicitly increases the range of the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I mainly meant the feat for battle maneuvers and just the ones that a just added to damage rolls like Precision Strike and Tripping Attack. Thanks guys.
Both spells say "as part of the action used to cast this spell you must make a melee attack"
The various maneuvers differ in rules, but I will talk about Precision and Tripping.
Precision is "when you make a melee attack", so it clearly is legal.
Tripping says "when you hit a creature with a weapon" which again is legal.
So both of them can be used when you cast Booming Blade or Green Flame Blade, and Sneak Attack also works with these spells.
That is, you can stack them.
Note, not all Maneuvers do this - Commander's Strike for example says when you take the Attack action, so it can not apply when you cast either of these spells.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I’m currently playing an Arcane Trickster Rogue and was wondering if there is anything stopping from using a Battle Maneuver with either Booming Blade or Green Flame Blade. As I read it there shouldn’t be any reason I couldn’t just want to see what others think.
Do you mean if you multiclassed into Battlemaster Fighter, or are you talking about things like grappling or shoving? If it's the latter, I don't think so. Those spells specifically require you to make a melee weapon attack, and I don't think Shoving/Grappling/etc qualify.
Assuming you mean battlemaster maneuvers from multiclass or feat, the ones that require you to hit with an attack will still work, commander's strike will not.
Also worth noting is Lunging Attack... while this maneuver can technically be applied to the weapon attack of the SCAG cantrips, it does not increase the range of the spell itself. Thus, you cannot use those spells at 10ft without the use of the Spell Sniper feat, Distant Spell Metamagic, or some other feature which explicitly increases the range of the spell.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I mainly meant the feat for battle maneuvers and just the ones that a just added to damage rolls like Precision Strike and Tripping Attack. Thanks guys.
Both spells say "as part of the action used to cast this spell you must make a melee attack"
The various maneuvers differ in rules, but I will talk about Precision and Tripping.
Precision is "when you make a melee attack", so it clearly is legal.
Tripping says "when you hit a creature with a weapon" which again is legal.
So both of them can be used when you cast Booming Blade or Green Flame Blade, and Sneak Attack also works with these spells.
That is, you can stack them.
Note, not all Maneuvers do this - Commander's Strike for example says when you take the Attack action, so it can not apply when you cast either of these spells.