Hi, so in my next game I'm planning to change the opportunity attack rules to match that of the cavalier lvl10 feature "Hold the Line", minus the speed reduction part (Because that's how it is in pf, and it makes so much more sense than making an attack when someone is leaving your reach, but not within it? Come on WotC where's the realism in that). Luckily since this rule exists for that class I can ask about a rule clarification for it XD
So, Hold the line reads:
Hold the Line
At 10th level, you become a master of locking down your enemies. Creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they move 5 feet or more while within your reach, and if you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the target’s speed is reduced to 0 until the end of the current turn.
My question is, if an enemy was to grapple the cavalier, then they can drag the cavalier around with them at half their movement speed. But since this means the enemy is moving & is clearly within the cavalier's melee range while doing so, does this mean the cavalier can make an opportunity attack as a result of this movement?
I believe the answer is yes although this does seem to rather discourage trying to drag the cavalier around. Obviously by RAW that's fine and a fairly rare interaction, but if I am to use that rule more generally it's good to know in case I decide to make an exception to it for grappled creatures.
Yep, that's the case as the creature would still be moving 5 ft or more while within the Cavaliers reach. This would then drop the grapplers speed to 0.
Hi, so in my next game I'm planning to change the opportunity attack rules to match that of the cavalier lvl10 feature "Hold the Line", minus the speed reduction part (Because that's how it is in pf, and it makes so much more sense than making an attack when someone is leaving your reach, but not within it? Come on WotC where's the realism in that). Luckily since this rule exists for that class I can ask about a rule clarification for it XD
So, Hold the line reads:
Hold the Line
At 10th level, you become a master of locking down your enemies. Creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they move 5 feet or more while within your reach, and if you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the target’s speed is reduced to 0 until the end of the current turn.
My question is, if an enemy was to grapple the cavalier, then they can drag the cavalier around with them at half their movement speed. But since this means the enemy is moving & is clearly within the cavalier's melee range while doing so, does this mean the cavalier can make an opportunity attack as a result of this movement?
I believe the answer is yes although this does seem to rather discourage trying to drag the cavalier around. Obviously by RAW that's fine and a fairly rare interaction, but if I am to use that rule more generally it's good to know in case I decide to make an exception to it for grappled creatures.
Yep, that's the case as the creature would still be moving 5 ft or more while within the Cavaliers reach. This would then drop the grapplers speed to 0.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here