P.S. When did the status of Crawford's words change? The SA still refers to them being advice, and are sometimes a preview of rulesing that appear in the SA.
Jan of 2019. Around March of the same year, he gave a tweet that explained it.
so if Im running a lvl 6 fighter/warlock (lvl 5 Fighter/ lvl 1 Warlock) and killed my hexed enemy with my first hit but had already used my bonus action to second wind. can i or can i not use my last attack to shift my second attack to a new enemy?
so if Im running a lvl 6 fighter/warlock (lvl 5 Fighter/ lvl 1 Warlock) and killed my hexed enemy with my first hit but had already used my bonus action to second wind. can i or can i not use my last attack to shift my second attack to a new enemy?
You can make that second attack against anyone in range, but you won't get the benefit of Hex until you use your next bonus action to reapply it.
so if Im running a lvl 6 fighter/warlock (lvl 5 Fighter/ lvl 1 Warlock) and killed my hexed enemy with my first hit but had already used my bonus action to second wind. can i or can i not use my last attack to shift my second attack to a new enemy?
You can make that second attack against anyone in range, but you won't get the benefit of Hex until you use your next bonus action to reapply it.
Even if the bonus action was still free on that turn the hex could not be moved until the following turn.
Normally you can't break up an action unless there's a specific rule which says you can.
The specific wording of Hex says "If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature." So in your specific case of your first question, the answer is no.
I've recently begun playing a BardLock with this and am also seeking clarification for "on a subsequent turn." As it's a 1(8) hour concentration spell, I would glean it could be any time during the concentration window so long as you do not break concentration. What is the consensus on these scenarios while battling a Necromancer...
Scenario 1: Zombie dies on round X and I cast Mass Heal and Vicious Mockery on the turn immediately following its death, but we are still in combat with the Necro. I then move Hex to the Necro after healing (or I am still out of range from the Necro after movement). As it's still A subsequent turn, my understanding is it is still permitted.
Scenario 2: Combat has ended and I still have 7 hours remaining to concentrate on Hex (yeah, it was a long combat). I maintain concentration during this time and we enter combat again later in the day. As I am still concentrating on the spell, even though there's no target its effect is attached to, I would be able to attach the spell to a new enemy.
These would definitely be a DM rulings, but my interpretation with the concentration length and wording is this would be how the spell works, assuming you kill the creature and not spare its life. If it was not intended to be like this, why would the spell length not be 1 minutes instead of 1(8) hours. Thanks for your insight
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
All who wander are not lost. Drive fast, take risks. Safety third.
Normally you can't break up an action unless there's a specific rule which says you can.
The specific wording of Hex says "If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature." So in your specific case of your first question, the answer is no.
I've recently begun playing a BardLock with this and am also seeking clarification for "on a subsequent turn." As it's a 1(8) hour concentration spell, I would glean it could be any time during the concentration window so long as you do not break concentration. What is the consensus on these scenarios while battling a Necromancer...
Scenario 1: Zombie dies on round X and I cast Mass Heal and Vicious Mockery on the turn immediately following its death, but we are still in combat with the Necro. I then move Hex to the Necro after healing (or I am still out of range from the Necro after movement). As it's still A subsequent turn, my understanding is it is still permitted.
Scenario 2: Combat has ended and I still have 7 hours remaining to concentrate on Hex (yeah, it was a long combat). I maintain concentration during this time and we enter combat again later in the day. As I am still concentrating on the spell, even though there's no target its effect is attached to, I would be able to attach the spell to a new enemy.
These would definitely be a DM rulings, but my interpretation with the concentration length and wording is this would be how the spell works, assuming you kill the creature and not spare its life. If it was not intended to be like this, why would the spell length not be 1 minutes instead of 1(8) hours. Thanks for your insight
Only "DM rulings" in the sense that everything in the game is a DM ruling. The rules are extremely clear. In both cases, as long as you've maintained your concentration, you can absolutely move the spell to a new enemy.
I am still trying to figure out how you can cast both Mass Heal and Vicious Mockery on the same turn.
However, in terms of transferring hex, as long as the spell is still up AND the last creature it affected died in a previous turn, you are free to apply/transfer it to a new creature in the current turn as long as you have a bonus action available.
I am still trying to figure out how you can cast both Mass Heal and Vicious Mockery on the same turn.
Maybe Metamagic Adept with Quickened Spell? Doesn't seem like a very efficient use of that though.
Regarding the inability to switch hex until a subsequent turn, this is actually generally a good thing; since you can't do it mid-action then the last thing you want to do is assign it to a target you might not then be able to attack (they could run away first), so it's almost always better to wait until a later turn when you can reassign the target first, then open up a fresh can of whoop-ass just for them.
The only case where this is really problematic is if you multiclass as Fighter; with Action Surge you could kill during one action, and then still have a full separate action to let rip with, so if the bonus action could be used on the same turn you could absolutely have switched, but sadly you can't, so it may be better to save the surge until the next turn when you can get even more value out of that sweet, sweet added damage (while hoping you don't lose concentration first).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I am still trying to figure out how you can cast both Mass Heal and Vicious Mockery on the same turn.
Maybe Metamagic Adept with Quickened Spell? Doesn't seem like a very efficient use of that though.
Regarding the inability to switch hex until a subsequent turn, this is actually generally a good thing; since you can't do it mid-action then the last thing you want to do is assign it to a target you might not then be able to attack (they could run away first), so it's almost always better to wait until a later turn when you can reassign the target first, then open up a fresh can of whoop-ass just for them.
The only case where this is really problematic is if you multiclass as Fighter; with Action Surge you could kill during one action, and then still have a full separate action to let rip with, so if the bonus action could be used on the same turn you could absolutely have switched, but sadly you can't, so it may be better to save the surge until the next turn when you can get even more value out of that sweet, sweet added damage (while hoping you don't lose concentration first).
I may be misunderstanding your comment I highlighted in bold but you CAN take bonus actions in the middle of other actions.
Just to quote myself in this thread from a few years ago:
The timing for bonus actions explicitly states "PH p189 "You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified"." In addition, there is absolutely nothing that states actions are atomic (meaning that other things can't occur during actions). There are also explicit examples of things in the rules that do take place during actions. Characters with extra attack can move between those attacks. Reactions like shield and counterspell can be taken in the middle of an attack or in the middle of casting a spell.
Bonus actions can be taken at ANY time during your turn.
I may be misunderstanding your comment I highlighted in bold but you CAN take bonus actions in the middle of other actions.
I think I just didn't phrase what I meant very clearly when mentioning action surge at the same time ; when I say "mid-action" what I meant was during one action, i.e- if you're making two attacks with a single Attack action you can't attack once, take a bonus action, then attack again. Only certain things are possible during actions like breaking up a move, drawing a weapon (if you haven't already) etc.
You can of course use your bonus action in between two separate actions when action surging, but because the bonus action to choose a new target for hex needs to be on "a subsequent turn" it means that if you killed your original target with your first action, then you still wouldn't be able to choose a new hex target in time to action surge on the same turn.
My point was that it's the only case I can think of where having to use the bonus action on a later turn is actually problematic, as you could have immediately benefited from the switch, otherwise the rest of the time it's actually preferable to do it later since you can choose your target immediately before attacking them, so there should be a lot less risk of them getting away before you can benefit from the extra damage.
I've been caught out too many times with hex or hunter's mark where I didn't choose the best target and am then stuck with them until they're killed unless I re-cast the spell. Fortunately my DM's are usually more permissive in these cases (e.g- if I pick a boss that just teleports away for story reasons then they'll let me switch despite them not being dead). But as a general rule speculatively switching targets (e.g- as a bonus action at the end of the turn, or before a fight) is a gamble, as you might not benefit at all.
I had a recent example in a Spelljammer campaign where, upon entering a ship's bridge I marked the captain expecting to pile onto him first, but then suddenly he ordered the crew to crash the ship, so we were focusing on them first so I didn't benefit (and lost concentration before we turned focus back to the captain). I chose in advance because I wanted my bonus action free for something else (polearm master bonus attack); it's easy to say with hindsight I should have waited but then that's the gamble you take with these spells.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Jan of 2019. Around March of the same year, he gave a tweet that explained it.
https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/1105277917582389248?lang=en
Its still advice, but its no longer considered anything but his personal playstyle that no one has to listen to.
so if Im running a lvl 6 fighter/warlock (lvl 5 Fighter/ lvl 1 Warlock) and killed my hexed enemy with my first hit but had already used my bonus action to second wind. can i or can i not use my last attack to shift my second attack to a new enemy?
You can make that second attack against anyone in range, but you won't get the benefit of Hex until you use your next bonus action to reapply it.
Even if the bonus action was still free on that turn the hex could not be moved until the following turn.
I've recently begun playing a BardLock with this and am also seeking clarification for "on a subsequent turn." As it's a 1(8) hour concentration spell, I would glean it could be any time during the concentration window so long as you do not break concentration. What is the consensus on these scenarios while battling a Necromancer...
Scenario 1: Zombie dies on round X and I cast Mass Heal and Vicious Mockery on the turn immediately following its death, but we are still in combat with the Necro. I then move Hex to the Necro after healing (or I am still out of range from the Necro after movement). As it's still A subsequent turn, my understanding is it is still permitted.
Scenario 2: Combat has ended and I still have 7 hours remaining to concentrate on Hex (yeah, it was a long combat). I maintain concentration during this time and we enter combat again later in the day. As I am still concentrating on the spell, even though there's no target its effect is attached to, I would be able to attach the spell to a new enemy.
These would definitely be a DM rulings, but my interpretation with the concentration length and wording is this would be how the spell works, assuming you kill the creature and not spare its life. If it was not intended to be like this, why would the spell length not be 1 minutes instead of 1(8) hours. Thanks for your insight
All who wander are not lost.
Drive fast, take risks.
Safety third.
Only "DM rulings" in the sense that everything in the game is a DM ruling. The rules are extremely clear. In both cases, as long as you've maintained your concentration, you can absolutely move the spell to a new enemy.
I am still trying to figure out how you can cast both Mass Heal and Vicious Mockery on the same turn.
However, in terms of transferring hex, as long as the spell is still up AND the last creature it affected died in a previous turn, you are free to apply/transfer it to a new creature in the current turn as long as you have a bonus action available.
Maybe Metamagic Adept with Quickened Spell? Doesn't seem like a very efficient use of that though.
Regarding the inability to switch hex until a subsequent turn, this is actually generally a good thing; since you can't do it mid-action then the last thing you want to do is assign it to a target you might not then be able to attack (they could run away first), so it's almost always better to wait until a later turn when you can reassign the target first, then open up a fresh can of whoop-ass just for them.
The only case where this is really problematic is if you multiclass as Fighter; with Action Surge you could kill during one action, and then still have a full separate action to let rip with, so if the bonus action could be used on the same turn you could absolutely have switched, but sadly you can't, so it may be better to save the surge until the next turn when you can get even more value out of that sweet, sweet added damage (while hoping you don't lose concentration first).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I may be misunderstanding your comment I highlighted in bold but you CAN take bonus actions in the middle of other actions.
Just to quote myself in this thread from a few years ago:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/89731-moving-hex-timing?comment=14
The timing for bonus actions explicitly states "PH p189 "You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified"." In addition, there is absolutely nothing that states actions are atomic (meaning that other things can't occur during actions). There are also explicit examples of things in the rules that do take place during actions. Characters with extra attack can move between those attacks. Reactions like shield and counterspell can be taken in the middle of an attack or in the middle of casting a spell.
Bonus actions can be taken at ANY time during your turn.
I think I just didn't phrase what I meant very clearly when mentioning action surge at the same time ; when I say "mid-action" what I meant was during one action, i.e- if you're making two attacks with a single Attack action you can't attack once, take a bonus action, then attack again. Only certain things are possible during actions like breaking up a move, drawing a weapon (if you haven't already) etc.
You can of course use your bonus action in between two separate actions when action surging, but because the bonus action to choose a new target for hex needs to be on "a subsequent turn" it means that if you killed your original target with your first action, then you still wouldn't be able to choose a new hex target in time to action surge on the same turn.
My point was that it's the only case I can think of where having to use the bonus action on a later turn is actually problematic, as you could have immediately benefited from the switch, otherwise the rest of the time it's actually preferable to do it later since you can choose your target immediately before attacking them, so there should be a lot less risk of them getting away before you can benefit from the extra damage.
I've been caught out too many times with hex or hunter's mark where I didn't choose the best target and am then stuck with them until they're killed unless I re-cast the spell. Fortunately my DM's are usually more permissive in these cases (e.g- if I pick a boss that just teleports away for story reasons then they'll let me switch despite them not being dead). But as a general rule speculatively switching targets (e.g- as a bonus action at the end of the turn, or before a fight) is a gamble, as you might not benefit at all.
I had a recent example in a Spelljammer campaign where, upon entering a ship's bridge I marked the captain expecting to pile onto him first, but then suddenly he ordered the crew to crash the ship, so we were focusing on them first so I didn't benefit (and lost concentration before we turned focus back to the captain). I chose in advance because I wanted my bonus action free for something else (polearm master bonus attack); it's easy to say with hindsight I should have waited but then that's the gamble you take with these spells.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.