However, gaining answers to those questions might require the telepathic feat.
Not really, I think this quote from the SAC about a feature with similar effects says more than enough to divine the intent.
Can the monk’s Open Hand Technique push a Large or larger creature or knock it prone?
The Open Hand Technique intentionally ignores creature size. A monk’s ki fuels many extraordinary effects! If a feature is limited by creature size, the feature tells you so.
However, if a DM homebrewed a ruling that telekinetic could not shove, say, a gargantuan creature, such as a dragon turtle, tarasque, or kraken, I wouldn't object.
Neither would I tbh.
Lol, "A monk’s ki ... is a pathway to many abilities some consider to be unnatural."
Sure, like telekinetic, it's supernatural and, if a DM ascribed even a limitless potential that would also be fine.
Lore outside 5e shows characters like Jean Phoenix Grey, the Scarlet Witch, Luke, Yoda and even Rey having limits to their object moving abilities... but upset Carrie on her prom night and perhaps even that tarasque had better run for cover.
You learn to move things with your mind, granting you the following benefits:
Increase your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
You learn the mage hand cantrip. You can cast it without verbal or somatic components, and you can make the spectral hand invisible. If you already know this spell, its range increases by 30 feet when you cast it. Its spellcasting ability is the ability increased by this feat.
As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved 5 feet toward you or away from you. A creature can willingly fail this save.
I have a few questions for the collective gathered here. When it says "If you already know this spell, its range increases by 30 feet when you cast it." does that also increase the range of the push and pull ability by 30ft? Does it increase the amount that you can move the hand in a turn by 30ft? Does this stack with Mage Hand Legerdemain?
Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise. Which it does here by saying the hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you. So since as written the feat Telekinetic has no effect on the spell Mage Hand effect other than its range, it still vanish if cast or moved beyond 30 feet. I highly doubt it was intended but no errata was made to this date.
Mage Hand + Telekinetic
cantrip conjuration
Casting Time: 1 action
Range:60 feet
Components: V S
Duration: 1 minute
A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration or until you dismiss it as an action. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again. You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it. The hand can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
You learn to move things with your mind, granting you the following benefits:
Increase your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
You learn the mage hand cantrip. You can cast it without verbal or somatic components, and you can make the spectral hand invisible. If you already know this spell, its range increases by 30 feet when you cast it. Its spellcasting ability is the ability increased by this feat.
As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved 5 feet toward you or away from you. A creature can willingly fail this save.
I have a few questions for the collective gathered here. When it says "If you already know this spell, its range increases by 30 feet when you cast it." does that also increase the range of the push and pull ability by 30ft? Does it increase the amount that you can move the hand in a turn by 30ft? Does this stack with Mage Hand Legerdemain?
Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise. Which it does here by saying the hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you. So since as written the feat Telekinetic has no effect on the spell Mage Hand effect other than its range, it still vanish if cast or moved beyond 30 feet. I highly doubt it was intended but no errata was made to this date.
Mage Hand + Telekinetic
cantrip conjuration
Casting Time: 1 action
Range:60 feet
Components: V S
Duration: 1 minute
A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration or until you dismiss it as an action. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 60 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again. You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 60 feet each time you use it. The hand can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
You learn to move things with your mind, granting you the following benefits:
Increase your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
You learn the mage hand cantrip. You can cast it without verbal or somatic components, and you can make the spectral hand invisible. If you already know this spell, its range increases by 30 feet when you cast it. Its spellcasting ability is the ability increased by this feat.
As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved 5 feet toward you or away from you. A creature can willingly fail this save.
I have a few questions for the collective gathered here. When it says "If you already know this spell, its range increases by 30 feet when you cast it." does that also increase the range of the push and pull ability by 30ft? Does it increase the amount that you can move the hand in a turn by 30ft? Does this stack with Mage Hand Legerdemain?
Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise. Which it does here by saying the hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you. So since as written the feat Telekinetic has no effect on the spell Mage Hand effect other than its range, it still vanish if cast or moved beyond 30 feet. I highly doubt it was intended but no errata was made to this date.
Mage Hand + Telekinetic
cantrip conjuration
Casting Time: 1 action
Range:60 feet
Components: V S
Duration: 1 minute
A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration or until you dismiss it as an action. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 60 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again. You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 60 feet each time you use it. The hand can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
Fixed for ya
To be fair your fix was to the spell. Plaguescarred is spot on in his accurate comment about how it's written.
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Your fix is not range, which is what the feat modify, but a set distance.
For spell that later refers to its range specifically, see Witch Bolt.
For spell that later refers to distance without being range specifically, see Faithful Hound.
Naw it is the range.
If an effect ends at 30ft, then 30ft is the range of the effect. That's tautological.
So to increase the range of the spell, which the feat absolutely does, it must by necessity increase the range at which the effect winks out. Because otherwise you haven't increased the range to 60ft, and we know we increased it to 60ft because the feat says so.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Because you're wrong. And the feat actually increases the range to 60ft like it says it does.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Because you're wrong. And the feat actually increases the range to 60ft like it says it does.
RAW:
... The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you ...
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Because you're wrong. And the feat actually increases the range to 60ft like it says it does.
RAW:
... The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 60 feet away from you ...
Fixed for you. Since the range is increased to 60 ft.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Because you're wrong. And the feat actually increases the range to 60ft like it says it does.
RAW:
... The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you ...
Fixed for you. Since the range is increased to 60 ft.
That would be Rules As Rewritten. Please don't edit my posts!
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Because you're wrong. And the feat actually increases the range to 60ft like it says it does.
Nah you you're the one wrong since you confuse range and other spell effect. Range: 60 feet is the entry. If the spell effect was referring to range rather than 30 feet, like Witch Bolt do, there would be no question on the subject!
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Because you're wrong. And the feat actually increases the range to 60ft like it says it does.
Nah you you're the one wrong since you confuse range and other spell effect. Range: 60 feet is the entry. If the spell effect was referring to range rather than 30 feet, like Witch Bolt do, there would be no question on the subject!
Answer me a simple question then.
If I had the spell, and the feat, could I mage hand interact with something 50 ft away from me?
If your ruling produces a No to that question, your ruling is wrong.
Because the range IS 60ft.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Because you're wrong. And the feat actually increases the range to 60ft like it says it does.
Nah you you're the one wrong since you confuse range and other spell effect. Range: 60 feet is the entry. If the spell effect was referring to range rather than 30 feet, like Witch Bolt do, there would be no question on the subject!
Answer me a simple question then.
If I had the spell, and the feat, could I mage hand interact with something 50 ft away from me?
If your ruling produces a No to that question, your ruling is wrong.
Because the range IS 60ft.
Answer me this, what do you think Plaguescarred meant in the following?
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Your fix is not range, which is what the feat modify, but a set distance.
For spell that later refers to its range specifically, see Witch Bolt.
For spell that later refers to distance without being range specifically, see Faithful Hound.
If an effect ends at 30ft, then 30ft is the range of the effect. That's tautological.
So to increase the range of the spell, which the feat absolutely does, it must by necessity increase the range at which the effect winks out. Because otherwise you haven't increased the range to 60ft, and we know we increased it to 60ft because the feat says so.
If an effect ends at 30 feet, it ends at 30 feet, regardless of its range.
A target of a spell must be within the spell’s range. For a spell like Mage Hand, the target is the point in space where the hand erupts. Once a spell is cast, its effects aren’t limited by its range, unless the spell’s description says otherwise. Mage Hand doesn't say it's limited by its range, only that the hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you.
For it to say otherwise, it would have to say that the hand vanishes if it is ever outside the spell’s range.
The RAW is dysfunctional and requires homebrew to make it work.
The RAW is fine.
The feat says it increases the range to 60ft. End. Period. The spell now works out to a range of 60ft. Whatever you think you need to change to allow it to fulfil that functional range, change it. Because that's what the feat does.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Lol, "A monk’s ki ... is a pathway to many abilities some consider to be unnatural."
Sure, like telekinetic, it's supernatural and, if a DM ascribed even a limitless potential that would also be fine.
Lore outside 5e shows characters like Jean Phoenix Grey, the Scarlet Witch, Luke, Yoda and even Rey having limits to their object moving abilities... but upset Carrie on her prom night and perhaps even that tarasque had better run for cover.
Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise. Which it does here by saying the hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you. So since as written the feat Telekinetic has no effect on the spell Mage Hand effect other than its range, it still vanish if cast or moved beyond 30 feet. I highly doubt it was intended but no errata was made to this date.
Mage Hand + Telekinetic
cantrip conjuration
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 60 feet
Components: V S
Duration: 1 minute
A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration or until you dismiss it as an action. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again.
You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it.
The hand can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
Fixed for ya
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Your fix is not range, which is what the feat modify, but a set distance.
For spell that later refers to its range specifically, see Witch Bolt.
For spell that later refers to distance without being range specifically, see Faithful Hound.
To be fair your fix was to the spell. Plaguescarred is spot on in his accurate comment about how it's written.
In this case, what exactly is the benefit of the range of 60 feet without applying it to the entire spell?
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
I didn't say the fix wasn't needed.
As written, nothing. It's been spotted a long time ago by various people on forums, site and other online plateforms if you do a quick research. But i highly doubt that many people play it that way. ☺
Naw it is the range.
If an effect ends at 30ft, then 30ft is the range of the effect. That's tautological.
So to increase the range of the spell, which the feat absolutely does, it must by necessity increase the range at which the effect winks out. Because otherwise you haven't increased the range to 60ft, and we know we increased it to 60ft because the feat says so.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Because you're wrong. And the feat actually increases the range to 60ft like it says it does.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
RAW:
Fixed for you. Since the range is increased to 60 ft.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
That would be Rules As Rewritten. Please don't edit my posts!
Nah you you're the one wrong since you confuse range and other spell effect. Range: 60 feet is the entry. If the spell effect was referring to range rather than 30 feet, like Witch Bolt do, there would be no question on the subject!
Answer me a simple question then.
If I had the spell, and the feat, could I mage hand interact with something 50 ft away from me?
If your ruling produces a No to that question, your ruling is wrong.
Because the range IS 60ft.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Answer me this, what do you think Plaguescarred meant in the following?
If an effect ends at 30 feet, it ends at 30 feet, regardless of its range.
A target of a spell must be within the spell’s range. For a spell like Mage Hand, the target is the point in space where the hand erupts. Once a spell is cast, its effects aren’t limited by its range, unless the spell’s description says otherwise. Mage Hand doesn't say it's limited by its range, only that the hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you.
For it to say otherwise, it would have to say that the hand vanishes if it is ever outside the spell’s range.
My ruling has nothing to do with this RAW analysis were having but since you ask, i would certainly let it work!
The RAW is dysfunctional and requires homebrew to make it work.
The RAW is fine.
The feat says it increases the range to 60ft. End. Period. The spell now works out to a range of 60ft. Whatever you think you need to change to allow it to fulfil that functional range, change it. Because that's what the feat does.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.