So looking over the dark gifts from van richten and saw the deadly touch one. If that combines with lets say a Stegosaurus that the moon druid transforms into, would it deal 6d6+5 + 3d10 (assuming level 12 moon druid) or would it deal 5+5+3d10? The first 5 being the stegosaurus' str score.
So looking over the dark gifts from van richten and saw the deadly touch one. If that combines with lets say a Stegosaurus that the moon druid transforms into, would it deal 6d6+5 + 3d10 (assuming level 12 moon druid) or would it deal 5+5+3d10? The first 5 being the stegosaurus' str score.
Touch of Death employed by a level 12 character in stegosaurus form, assuming neither participant is grappled by the other and no other rules are in play modifying things such as Monk levels or being a Tortle, will deal 1 bludgeoning + 3d10 necrotic + 5 [bludgeoning or necrotic] for a total of 6+3d10. Neither of your postulated values is correct.
Hmm ok so then you are saying that the tail attack it has, while effectively an "unarmed" atk since it is counted as a natural weapon and not an unarmed one, then it is only the base unarmed strike dmg. I forgot its only 1+str not str+str. So to make this different values then you would need something like unarmed fighting style or monk to change said value?
Hmm ok so then you are saying that the tail attack it has, while effectively an "unarmed" atk since it is counted as a natural weapon and not an unarmed one, then it is only the base unarmed strike dmg. I forgot its only 1+str not str+str. So to make this different values then you would need something like unarmed fighting style or monk to change said value?
Right, in general abilities you have that modify unarmed strikes are retained in beast (or elemental) form. Meanwhile, abilities you have in beast/elemental form will work on unarmed strikes if they have a wording that lets them do so. For example, fire elementals have an ability called "Fire Form" which applies 1d10 fire damage to any creature that touches it; if your DM rules that by definition anything you hit with an unarmed strike must touch you in the moment the strike lands, that would add 1d10 fire damage to your punches (as with many monsters, a Fire Elemental's traits are not tightly worded under the incorrect assumption that only the DM will ever operate a monster so tight wording isn't necessary).
I can see your point, and I rule wise I think you are probably correct. Still though It feels weird that I'd use the same limb for said attack (ex the tail for the stego) and it use different values for the damage choice besides the tack on of the 3d10 plus the Xd6's, even though both are using the same limb. The strangeness of this game sometimes.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So looking over the dark gifts from van richten and saw the deadly touch one. If that combines with lets say a Stegosaurus that the moon druid transforms into, would it deal 6d6+5 + 3d10 (assuming level 12 moon druid) or would it deal 5+5+3d10? The first 5 being the stegosaurus' str score.
Touch of Death employed by a level 12 character in stegosaurus form, assuming neither participant is grappled by the other and no other rules are in play modifying things such as Monk levels or being a Tortle, will deal 1 bludgeoning + 3d10 necrotic + 5 [bludgeoning or necrotic] for a total of 6+3d10. Neither of your postulated values is correct.
Hmm ok so then you are saying that the tail attack it has, while effectively an "unarmed" atk since it is counted as a natural weapon and not an unarmed one, then it is only the base unarmed strike dmg. I forgot its only 1+str not str+str. So to make this different values then you would need something like unarmed fighting style or monk to change said value?
Right, in general abilities you have that modify unarmed strikes are retained in beast (or elemental) form. Meanwhile, abilities you have in beast/elemental form will work on unarmed strikes if they have a wording that lets them do so. For example, fire elementals have an ability called "Fire Form" which applies 1d10 fire damage to any creature that touches it; if your DM rules that by definition anything you hit with an unarmed strike must touch you in the moment the strike lands, that would add 1d10 fire damage to your punches (as with many monsters, a Fire Elemental's traits are not tightly worded under the incorrect assumption that only the DM will ever operate a monster so tight wording isn't necessary).
I can see your point, and I rule wise I think you are probably correct. Still though It feels weird that I'd use the same limb for said attack (ex the tail for the stego) and it use different values for the damage choice besides the tack on of the 3d10 plus the Xd6's, even though both are using the same limb. The strangeness of this game sometimes.