The new wording of sentinel has changed. "Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature." DM is saying it requires the enemy to hit the attack for sentinel to activate. I know this isn't how sentinel used to work. Why did they change the wording like that? Is it it intentional?
The DM is correct. If you are playing using the 2024 rules, the enemy must hit your ally with the attack before you can opportunity attack them using Sentinel.
Another thing to note is the "5 feet of you" portion of the disengagement rule. The old Sentinel feat allowed you to take an opportunity attack when they used the disengage action and then moved out of your reach. Now, your reach doesn't matter. You can only take the opportunity attack when they use disengage within 5 feet of you, regardless of the reach of your weapons. So if an enemy is fighting you in melee with a glaive at 10 feet, you can't use Sentinel to stop them from disengaging from you.
The new wording of sentinel has changed. "Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature." DM is saying it requires the enemy to hit the attack for sentinel to activate. I know this isn't how sentinel used to work. Why did they change the wording like that? Is it it intentional?
Yes, it's correct, and yes, it's intentional. As to why they changed it, you'd have to ask the designers of the game, but a fair guess would be that they felt the old version was too powerful.
It's to prevent the whole party from taking sentinel and burying every enemy with opportunity attacks from everyone on every attack. It's probably an unfounded concern, but this is a PHB feat we're talking about. A lot of them are a little wonky.
But yes, it means that you can't make an opportunity attack from sentinel if an enemy attacks your party member who also has sentinel. If you're the only one, this part of the feat will do nothing.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The new wording of sentinel has changed. "Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature." DM is saying it requires the enemy to hit the attack for sentinel to activate. I know this isn't how sentinel used to work. Why did they change the wording like that? Is it it intentional?
The DM is correct. If you are playing using the 2024 rules, the enemy must hit your ally with the attack before you can opportunity attack them using Sentinel.
Another thing to note is the "5 feet of you" portion of the disengagement rule. The old Sentinel feat allowed you to take an opportunity attack when they used the disengage action and then moved out of your reach. Now, your reach doesn't matter. You can only take the opportunity attack when they use disengage within 5 feet of you, regardless of the reach of your weapons. So if an enemy is fighting you in melee with a glaive at 10 feet, you can't use Sentinel to stop them from disengaging from you.
Yes, it's correct, and yes, it's intentional. As to why they changed it, you'd have to ask the designers of the game, but a fair guess would be that they felt the old version was too powerful.
pronouns: he/she/they
It's to prevent the whole party from taking sentinel and burying every enemy with opportunity attacks from everyone on every attack. It's probably an unfounded concern, but this is a PHB feat we're talking about. A lot of them are a little wonky.
But yes, it means that you can't make an opportunity attack from sentinel if an enemy attacks your party member who also has sentinel. If you're the only one, this part of the feat will do nothing.