I hope this is just a wording issue, or I'm misreading it. The feature says you may make an unarmed strike when YOU expend a use of YOUR bardic inspiration die, as a result of an action, bonus action or reaction. This means:
Giving a bardic inspiration die to an ally does not trigger this. Under Bardic Inspiration it quite clearly states that the die is expended when it is rolled, not when you give it. It would be the ally expending it, not you, so it would not trigger.
Tandem Footwork activates when you roll initiative. Rolling initiative is not one of the trigger options for Agile Strikes (action, bonus action, reaction)
Regaining use of Irresistible Dance is no action, so that also can't trigger Agile Strikes.
Your only option is to use Inspiring Movement, as a reaction, to trigger Agile Strikes. There are no available Action or Bonus Action triggers for this bardic subclass.
Am I missing something? It might be comical for Agile Strikes to trigger when your ally uses the bardic inspiration die, giving them control over when you can attack, but that seems counter to the 80's aerobics instructor theme of the subclass.
I hope this is just a wording issue, or I'm misreading it. The feature says you may make an unarmed strike when YOU expend a use of YOUR bardic inspiration die, as a result of an action, bonus action or reaction. This means:
Giving a bardic inspiration die to an ally does not trigger this. Under Bardic Inspiration it quite clearly states that the die is expended when it is rolled, not when you give it. It would be the ally expending it, not you, so it would not trigger.
The trigger is spending bardic inspiration, not spending a die. The bardic inspiration is spent when you give them the die.
I want to like this sub-class, but you're right in that it could use tweaking. It also encourages hoarding your Inspirations rather than passing them out, making this a selfish bard like College of Swords.
By this reasoning, if you ever don't use a bardic inspiration die within the one hour it was given to you that bard will permanently lose that die as they only recover expended uses on a long rest.
Giving a bardic inspiration die to an ally does not trigger this. Under Bardic Inspiration it quite clearly states that the die is expended when it is rolled, not when you give it. It would be the ally expending it, not you, so it would not trigger.
Your only option is to use Inspiring Movement, as a reaction, to trigger Agile Strikes. There are no available Action or Bonus Action triggers for this bardic subclass.
These two can both trigger it, Giving Bardic Inspiration expends the charge on the bonus action, Inspiring Movement also triggers it.
Easier to trigger on giving Bardic Inspiration, Inspiring Movement would require you to have a suitable target within range at the point you take the reaction.
I am likely being pedantic, and this is likely what they mean, but I don't think that's how its written.
Agile Strikes: When you expend a use of your Bardic Inspiration as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can make one Unarmed Strike as part of that action, Bonus Action, or Reaction.
Bardic Inspiration: As a Bonus Action, you can inspire another creature within 60 feet of yourself who can see or hear you. That creature gains one of your Bardic Inspiration dice. A creature can have only one Bardic Inspiration die at a time.
Once within the next hour when the creature fails a d20 Test, the creature can roll that die and add the number rolled to the d20, potentially turning the failure into a success. A Bardic Inspiration die is expended when it’s rolled.
The wording of Agile Strikes is that you must "expend" a use of your bardic inspiration. The only place where the word "expend" is used in Bardic Inspiration is when the die is rolled. Of course, Inspiring Movement says "spend" instead of "expend", which mean the same thing but shows inconsistency in their word use for rules. However, "spend" is much closer in meaning to "expend" than is "a creature gains", which implies the die is given to someone else to expend a use of at a future time (which it actually says, it's expended when they use it).
" A Bardic Inspiration die is expended when it’s rolled. " From UA.
"Agile Strikes. When you expend a use of your Bardic Inspiration as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can make one Unarmed Strike as part of that action, Bonus Action, or Reaction."
So. is expending a use of a BARDIC INSPIRATION die rolling it and using the results or giving it (giving die to another creature is a bonus action so cannot trigger on an action or reaction.)
Maybe they need to have one of their lawyers playtest the game to see how their wording affects play/use of class features.
RAW the only thing that triggers it is inspiring movement. I’m doubting that was RAI, but it is the way it’s written. I still love this subclass and it’s way better than playing a monk as of right now. That not to say this should be nerfed, but the monk has a ways to go to compete. I know most of that gap is martial vs spellcaster disparity which can’t be overcome easily.
Thinking about this more, there are implications here beyond Agile Strikes.
If a use of bardic inspiration is expended when you give it to someone else, at level 5 you can regain it during a short rest. With the new 1 hour duration, you can give your party inspiration, cast Catnap, and your party still has 49 minutes of inspiration while you have all your uses restored. Effectively twice the inspiration die for a 3rd level spell slot. With a multi class monk's Heightened Metabolism ability, you can do this again with only 1 minute.
Either the use is expended when you give it, triggering Agile Strikes but letting you use Catnap to get twice the inspiration; or the use isn't expended until the die is rolled meaning you can't trigger Agile Strikes by giving others the die and the die has to be rolled before you can regain it during a short rest.
Thinking about this more, there are implications here beyond Agile Strikes.
If a use of bardic inspiration is expended when you give it to someone else, at level 5 you can regain it during a short rest. With the new 1 hour duration, you can give your party inspiration, cast Catnap, and your party still has 49 minutes of inspiration while you have all your uses restored. Effectively twice the inspiration die for a 3rd level spell slot. With a multi class monk's Heightened Metabolism ability, you can do this again with only 1 minute.
Either the use is expended when you give it, triggering Agile Strikes but letting you use Catnap to get twice the inspiration; or the use isn't expended until the die is rolled meaning you can't trigger Agile Strikes by giving others the die and the die has to be rolled before you can regain it during a short rest.
Agile strikes only triggers when you expend a bardic inspiration as an action, bonus action, or reaction. So when your buddies use the inspiration it doesn’t trigger agile strikes because they did it. Also it’s not your turn so you wouldn’t have an action or bonus action at that moment and don’t have any reactions that would be triggered by them expending the Inspiration.
The wording is actually consistent with other class features with limited numbers of uses. Both Channel Divinity and Wild Shape refer to regaining expended uses after rests; neither specifically states that a use is expended when the feature is used.
Bardic Inspiration is more complex in that it generates a new resource, the Bardic Inspiration die, which can be expanded by an ally later. However, the granting of the BI die expends a use of the BI feature. (If it didn’t, then RAW the Bard could continue to grant BI as long as allies don’t expend their BI dice).
So, expending a use of BI is not the same as the BI die being expended.
I am likely being pedantic, and this is likely what they mean, but I don't think that's how its written.
Agile Strikes: When you expend a use of your Bardic Inspiration as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can make one Unarmed Strike as part of that action, Bonus Action, or Reaction.
Bardic Inspiration: As a Bonus Action, you can inspire another creature within 60 feet of yourself who can see or hear you. That creature gains one of your Bardic Inspiration dice. A creature can have only one Bardic Inspiration die at a time.
Once within the next hour when the creature fails a d20 Test, the creature can roll that die and add the number rolled to the d20, potentially turning the failure into a success. A Bardic Inspiration die is expended when it’s rolled.
The wording of Agile Strikes is that you must "expend" a use of your bardic inspiration. The only place where the word "expend" is used in Bardic Inspiration is when the die is rolled. Of course, Inspiring Movement says "spend" instead of "expend", which mean the same thing but shows inconsistency in their word use for rules. However, "spend" is much closer in meaning to "expend" than is "a creature gains", which implies the die is given to someone else to expend a use of at a future time (which it actually says, it's expended when they use it).
It doesn't sound pedantic, it sounds like a wrong interpretation. It works as written. The trigger is to expend an use of bardic inspiration, not an inspiration die.
“Number of uses. You can confer a Bardic Inspiration die a number of times equal to your Charisma modifier (minimum of once), and you regain all expended uses when you finish a Long Rest.”
The feature allows you to confer a BI die. It is the act of conferring it that expends the use of the feature. It makes no mention of the BI die being expended.
(So, yes, a Bard who Catnaps could have a greater number conferred BI dice being held by allies than their Charisma modifier. However, no ally can hold more than one BI die at a time.)
1) "When you give an ally an inspiration die as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can make one Unarmed Strike as part of that action, Bonus Action, or Reaction.
2) "When an ally Rolls its inspiration die you gave them (in case there is more than one bard) as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can make one Unarmed Strike as part of that action, Bonus Action, or Reaction.
" A Bardic Inspiration die is expended when it’s rolled. " From UA. What is the definition of expending and inspiration vs expending an inspiration Die. Fix wording so there is no speculation.
Okay this makes more sense. Over analyzing things, but failing analyze them completely will get you in these messed up thought pattens and I have to admit my previous view was incorrect.
If you read the UA at face value without over analyzing you would think you could use agile strikes when you use BI and when you use inspiring movement. Which is where most people would stop and would be correct.
If you read to deeply and look at the part about BI dice not being expended until used, you will mistakenly believe only Inspiring Movement triggers Agile Strikes. This is incorrect
If you want the real over analyzed understanding you have to look far to deeply at BI. BI is a feature that gives the bard a limited number of BI dice per rest. BI and the dice it creates are separate things. The Bard expends a use of BI when they give out a BI dice. That dice exist for its duration or until the dice is expended. It’s the understanding that BI feature uses and BI dice are expended at separate times that brings us back to the simple conclusion Agile Strikes is triggered when you give someone a bardic inspiration die.
I took the long road to get back to where I was before reading the first post in this thread. It’s my own fault for being overly analytical without going through the full thought process.
I don't think Agile Strikes makes sense as written. Only the Inspiring Movement could ever be used by the dance bard to trigger the ability, and then only as a reaction, so why list the bonus or action possibilities? I think this suggests a few possibilities and none of them feel quite correct.
1. Your bard gets to make an unarmed attack when one of your allies expends the inspiration die you gave them, which is weird because I don't anything else gives you the power to do that without costing your reaction. Also you would often have situations where your attack would be wasted when it triggers, or it could trigger more than once (an ally uses an action with the die and another ally uses a reaction to that action with the die). It also feels wrong to give you the attack when you give someone else the inspiration, because again that's always a bonus action so why list action as a possibility?
2. It could imply that bards can use their bardic inspiration ability on themselves so they have an inspiration die to spend on other d20 tests to trigger the ability, but that doesn't feel like how that ability is intended to work at all.
3. The Agile Strikes power itself gives you the ability to spend a bardic inspiration die when you declare an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you do, you get to make an unarmed strike as part of the triggering action. This feels the most correct because it puts it closer to the battlemaster's superiority dice, but it feels like it should have another limit like "you can only do this once per turn".
I honestly think option 3 feels the most satisfying, because it still works with Inspiring Movement without any tweaks and gives the bard control over the usage. They still have the hard limit of Charisma bonus times per long rest/short rest, but it does feel like it encourages hoarding the dice.
I don't think Agile Strikes makes sense as written. Only the Inspiring Movement could ever be used by the dance bard to trigger the ability, and then only as a reaction, so why list the bonus or action possibilities? I think this suggests a few possibilities and none of them feel quite correct.
1. Your bard gets to make an unarmed attack when one of your allies expends the inspiration die you gave them, which is weird because I don't anything else gives you the power to do that without costing your reaction. Also you would often have situations where your attack would be wasted when it triggers, or it could trigger more than once (an ally uses an action with the die and another ally uses a reaction to that action with the die). It also feels wrong to give you the attack when you give someone else the inspiration, because again that's always a bonus action so why list action as a possibility?
2. It could imply that bards can use their bardic inspiration ability on themselves so they have an inspiration die to spend on other d20 tests to trigger the ability, but that doesn't feel like how that ability is intended to work at all.
3. The Agile Strikes power itself gives you the ability to spend a bardic inspiration die when you declare an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you do, you get to make an unarmed strike as part of the triggering action. This feels the most correct because it puts it closer to the battlemaster's superiority dice, but it feels like it should have another limit like "you can only do this once per turn".
I honestly think option 3 feels the most satisfying, because it still works with Inspiring Movement without any tweaks and gives the bard control over the usage. They still have the hard limit of Charisma bonus times per long rest/short rest, but it does feel like it encourages hoarding the dice.
I disagree, while it is very unusual... I think option 1 is the most satisfying and most in keeping with the theme. Specifically making the attack when you or an ally rolls the Bardic Inspiration die, not when you give them the die as a Bonus Action.
It depends on your footwork (positioning yourself within range), on the actions of your allies (when they use your Bardic Inspiration die), and the actions of your enemies (when they trigger your Inspiring Movement). In essence it's about keeping in step with the rhythm and flow of combat to sneak in some extra attacks. This is contrary to a Monk's Flurry of Blows in which they get in more attacks just by expending Discipline points to attack faster.
However, I do think the wording could stand to be clearer.
I don't think Agile Strikes makes sense as written. Only the Inspiring Movement could ever be used by the dance bard to trigger the ability, and then only as a reaction, so why list the bonus or action possibilities? I think this suggests a few possibilities and none of them feel quite correct.
1. Your bard gets to make an unarmed attack when one of your allies expends the inspiration die you gave them, which is weird because I don't anything else gives you the power to do that without costing your reaction. Also you would often have situations where your attack would be wasted when it triggers, or it could trigger more than once (an ally uses an action with the die and another ally uses a reaction to that action with the die). It also feels wrong to give you the attack when you give someone else the inspiration, because again that's always a bonus action so why list action as a possibility?
2. It could imply that bards can use their bardic inspiration ability on themselves so they have an inspiration die to spend on other d20 tests to trigger the ability, but that doesn't feel like how that ability is intended to work at all.
3. The Agile Strikes power itself gives you the ability to spend a bardic inspiration die when you declare an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you do, you get to make an unarmed strike as part of the triggering action. This feels the most correct because it puts it closer to the battlemaster's superiority dice, but it feels like it should have another limit like "you can only do this once per turn".
I honestly think option 3 feels the most satisfying, because it still works with Inspiring Movement without any tweaks and gives the bard control over the usage. They still have the hard limit of Charisma bonus times per long rest/short rest, but it does feel like it encourages hoarding the dice.
I disagree, while it is very unusual... I think option 1 is the most satisfying and most in keeping with the theme. Specifically making the attack when you or an ally rolls the Bardic Inspiration die, not when you give them the die as a Bonus Action.
It depends on your footwork (positioning yourself within range), on the actions of your allies (when they use your Bardic Inspiration die), and the actions of your enemies (when they trigger your Inspiring Movement). In essence it's about keeping in step with the rhythm and flow of combat to sneak in some extra attacks. This is contrary to a Monk's Flurry of Blows in which they get in more attacks just by expending Discipline points to attack faster.
However, I do think the wording could stand to be clearer.
Sorry: we seem to have run into the same confusion again. Expending a use of the Bardic Inspiration feature doesn’t happen when the Bardic Inspiration die is expended. The basic BI feature’s use is to grant a BI die to an ally: that’s when a use of the feature is expended. (The die might or might not be expended later.) Hence, that’s why there is an option to use Agile Strikes as part of a Bonus Action. (They do need to add a clarification, since it catches people out.)
However, I can’t see any features accessible to the College of Dance Bard that allow a use of BI to be expended as part of an action. Inspiring Movement uses a Reaction, Tandem Footwork happens when rolling for initiative, and restoring Irresistible Dance states that no action is required. There don’t seem to be any alternative uses of BI in the base Bard class.
Sure. That's my understanding of how it's intended to work too (especially on first read). Handing out the die to an ally being what triggers the attack.
That doesn't change my opinion that making the attack when your ally rolls the die would be far more thematically satisfying for the Dancing Bard.
Honestly, all they had to do was use different term than "expend" to indicate the bardic inspiration die handed to an ally is single use to avoid confusion.
I hope this is just a wording issue, or I'm misreading it. The feature says you may make an unarmed strike when YOU expend a use of YOUR bardic inspiration die, as a result of an action, bonus action or reaction. This means:
Am I missing something? It might be comical for Agile Strikes to trigger when your ally uses the bardic inspiration die, giving them control over when you can attack, but that seems counter to the 80's aerobics instructor theme of the subclass.
The trigger is spending bardic inspiration, not spending a die. The bardic inspiration is spent when you give them the die.
I want to like this sub-class, but you're right in that it could use tweaking. It also encourages hoarding your Inspirations rather than passing them out, making this a selfish bard like College of Swords.
Check out my books on Amazon - Jon R. Osborne
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/-YXqOMcVirc
By this reasoning, if you ever don't use a bardic inspiration die within the one hour it was given to you that bard will permanently lose that die as they only recover expended uses on a long rest.
These two can both trigger it, Giving Bardic Inspiration expends the charge on the bonus action, Inspiring Movement also triggers it.
Easier to trigger on giving Bardic Inspiration, Inspiring Movement would require you to have a suitable target within range at the point you take the reaction.
I am likely being pedantic, and this is likely what they mean, but I don't think that's how its written.
The wording of Agile Strikes is that you must "expend" a use of your bardic inspiration. The only place where the word "expend" is used in Bardic Inspiration is when the die is rolled. Of course, Inspiring Movement says "spend" instead of "expend", which mean the same thing but shows inconsistency in their word use for rules. However, "spend" is much closer in meaning to "expend" than is "a creature gains", which implies the die is given to someone else to expend a use of at a future time (which it actually says, it's expended when they use it).
" A Bardic Inspiration die is expended when it’s rolled. " From UA.
"Agile Strikes. When you expend a use of your Bardic Inspiration as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can make one Unarmed Strike as part of that action, Bonus Action, or Reaction."
So. is expending a use of a BARDIC INSPIRATION die rolling it and using the results or giving it (giving die to another creature is a bonus action so cannot trigger on an action or reaction.)
Maybe they need to have one of their lawyers playtest the game to see how their wording affects play/use of class features.
RAW the only thing that triggers it is inspiring movement. I’m doubting that was RAI, but it is the way it’s written. I still love this subclass and it’s way better than playing a monk as of right now. That not to say this should be nerfed, but the monk has a ways to go to compete. I know most of that gap is martial vs spellcaster disparity which can’t be overcome easily.
Thinking about this more, there are implications here beyond Agile Strikes.
If a use of bardic inspiration is expended when you give it to someone else, at level 5 you can regain it during a short rest. With the new 1 hour duration, you can give your party inspiration, cast Catnap, and your party still has 49 minutes of inspiration while you have all your uses restored. Effectively twice the inspiration die for a 3rd level spell slot. With a multi class monk's Heightened Metabolism ability, you can do this again with only 1 minute.
Either the use is expended when you give it, triggering Agile Strikes but letting you use Catnap to get twice the inspiration; or the use isn't expended until the die is rolled meaning you can't trigger Agile Strikes by giving others the die and the die has to be rolled before you can regain it during a short rest.
Agile strikes only triggers when you expend a bardic inspiration as an action, bonus action, or reaction. So when your buddies use the inspiration it doesn’t trigger agile strikes because they did it. Also it’s not your turn so you wouldn’t have an action or bonus action at that moment and don’t have any reactions that would be triggered by them expending the Inspiration.
The wording is actually consistent with other class features with limited numbers of uses. Both Channel Divinity and Wild Shape refer to regaining expended uses after rests; neither specifically states that a use is expended when the feature is used.
Bardic Inspiration is more complex in that it generates a new resource, the Bardic Inspiration die, which can be expanded by an ally later. However, the granting of the BI die expends a use of the BI feature. (If it didn’t, then RAW the Bard could continue to grant BI as long as allies don’t expend their BI dice).
So, expending a use of BI is not the same as the BI die being expended.
It doesn't sound pedantic, it sounds like a wrong interpretation.
It works as written. The trigger is to expend an use of bardic inspiration, not an inspiration die.
“Number of uses. You can confer a Bardic Inspiration die a number of times equal to your Charisma modifier (minimum of once), and you regain all expended uses when you finish a Long Rest.”
The feature allows you to confer a BI die. It is the act of conferring it that expends the use of the feature. It makes no mention of the BI die being expended.
(So, yes, a Bard who Catnaps could have a greater number conferred BI dice being held by allies than their Charisma modifier. However, no ally can hold more than one BI die at a time.)
So reword it to
1) "When you give an ally an inspiration die as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can make one Unarmed Strike as part of that action, Bonus Action, or Reaction.
2) "When an ally Rolls its inspiration die you gave them (in case there is more than one bard) as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can make one Unarmed Strike as part of that action, Bonus Action, or Reaction.
" A Bardic Inspiration die is expended when it’s rolled. " From UA. What is the definition of expending and inspiration vs expending an inspiration Die. Fix wording so there is no speculation.
Okay this makes more sense. Over analyzing things, but failing analyze them completely will get you in these messed up thought pattens and I have to admit my previous view was incorrect.
If you read the UA at face value without over analyzing you would think you could use agile strikes when you use BI and when you use inspiring movement. Which is where most people would stop and would be correct.
If you read to deeply and look at the part about BI dice not being expended until used, you will mistakenly believe only Inspiring Movement triggers Agile Strikes. This is incorrect
If you want the real over analyzed understanding you have to look far to deeply at BI. BI is a feature that gives the bard a limited number of BI dice per rest. BI and the dice it creates are separate things. The Bard expends a use of BI when they give out a BI dice. That dice exist for its duration or until the dice is expended. It’s the understanding that BI feature uses and BI dice are expended at separate times that brings us back to the simple conclusion Agile Strikes is triggered when you give someone a bardic inspiration die.
I took the long road to get back to where I was before reading the first post in this thread. It’s my own fault for being overly analytical without going through the full thought process.
I don't think Agile Strikes makes sense as written. Only the Inspiring Movement could ever be used by the dance bard to trigger the ability, and then only as a reaction, so why list the bonus or action possibilities? I think this suggests a few possibilities and none of them feel quite correct.
1. Your bard gets to make an unarmed attack when one of your allies expends the inspiration die you gave them, which is weird because I don't anything else gives you the power to do that without costing your reaction. Also you would often have situations where your attack would be wasted when it triggers, or it could trigger more than once (an ally uses an action with the die and another ally uses a reaction to that action with the die). It also feels wrong to give you the attack when you give someone else the inspiration, because again that's always a bonus action so why list action as a possibility?
2. It could imply that bards can use their bardic inspiration ability on themselves so they have an inspiration die to spend on other d20 tests to trigger the ability, but that doesn't feel like how that ability is intended to work at all.
3. The Agile Strikes power itself gives you the ability to spend a bardic inspiration die when you declare an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you do, you get to make an unarmed strike as part of the triggering action. This feels the most correct because it puts it closer to the battlemaster's superiority dice, but it feels like it should have another limit like "you can only do this once per turn".
I honestly think option 3 feels the most satisfying, because it still works with Inspiring Movement without any tweaks and gives the bard control over the usage. They still have the hard limit of Charisma bonus times per long rest/short rest, but it does feel like it encourages hoarding the dice.
I disagree, while it is very unusual... I think option 1 is the most satisfying and most in keeping with the theme. Specifically making the attack when you or an ally rolls the Bardic Inspiration die, not when you give them the die as a Bonus Action.
It depends on your footwork (positioning yourself within range), on the actions of your allies (when they use your Bardic Inspiration die), and the actions of your enemies (when they trigger your Inspiring Movement). In essence it's about keeping in step with the rhythm and flow of combat to sneak in some extra attacks. This is contrary to a Monk's Flurry of Blows in which they get in more attacks just by expending Discipline points to attack faster.
However, I do think the wording could stand to be clearer.
Sorry: we seem to have run into the same confusion again. Expending a use of the Bardic Inspiration feature doesn’t happen when the Bardic Inspiration die is expended. The basic BI feature’s use is to grant a BI die to an ally: that’s when a use of the feature is expended. (The die might or might not be expended later.) Hence, that’s why there is an option to use Agile Strikes as part of a Bonus Action. (They do need to add a clarification, since it catches people out.)
However, I can’t see any features accessible to the College of Dance Bard that allow a use of BI to be expended as part of an action. Inspiring Movement uses a Reaction, Tandem Footwork happens when rolling for initiative, and restoring Irresistible Dance states that no action is required. There don’t seem to be any alternative uses of BI in the base Bard class.
Sure. That's my understanding of how it's intended to work too (especially on first read). Handing out the die to an ally being what triggers the attack.
That doesn't change my opinion that making the attack when your ally rolls the die would be far more thematically satisfying for the Dancing Bard.
Honestly, all they had to do was use different term than "expend" to indicate the bardic inspiration die handed to an ally is single use to avoid confusion.
Two Thoughts.
1) 6TH LEVEL: TANDEM FOOTWORK - Expend a Die when rolling Initiative. TO bad this is not a reaction when rolling Initiative.
2) When you expend a use. So this only works when you give a BI (not when the recipient uses a BI) and only when you use an ability that uses a BI