I am currently playing a monk who, for story reasons, is multiclassing into fighter and will be taking the Psi Warrior subclass when she gets to level 3. A few questions about the Telekinetic Movement ability:
- If I use it to move an ally and that movement takes the ally out of melee range of an enemy, would the enemy get an attack of opportunity, assuming they had a reaction available? My gut says yes, and I would confirm with my DM how they'd rule, but I was curious if anyone says no and why not. I read in other forums that I could use this ability to break someone out of grapple since the rules don't specifically say that you can't. If I tried that, would the baddie doing the grappling get to make a Strength save or similar to see if they overcome my ability? And if so, what would it be contested against?
- Telekinetic Movement lets you move objects vertically or horizontally. Once you've moved a boulder (or a person) 30ft in the air with this ability, does it automatically drop or would you say that it hovers? It seems like hovering would be sort of a concentration thing to see if you could maintain it in that position, but the rules don't specify. I read in other forums about using the ability to drop something heavy on an enemy in combat. Could I move a Large object 30 feet vertically and drop it on an enemy combatant - OR - could I move a Large object up to 30 feet horizontally and basically go bowling through baddies? It seems like the enemy combatant would get a Dex save to try to avoid. How would you calculate damage for something like that?
It is my understanding that like any push the telekinetic push does not cause an attack of opportunity. It will cause damage via something like Spike Growth.
I am currently playing a monk who, for story reasons, is multiclassing into fighter and will be taking the Psi Warrior subclass when she gets to level 3. A few questions about the Telekinetic Movement ability:
- If I use it to move an ally and that movement takes the ally out of melee range of an enemy, would the enemy get an attack of opportunity, assuming they had a reaction available? My gut says yes, and I would confirm with my DM how they'd rule, but I was curious if anyone says no and why not. I read in other forums that I could use this ability to break someone out of grapple since the rules don't specifically say that you can't. If I tried that, would the baddie doing the grappling get to make a Strength save or similar to see if they overcome my ability? And if so, what would it be contested against?
- Telekinetic Movement lets you move objects vertically or horizontally. Once you've moved a boulder (or a person) 30ft in the air with this ability, does it automatically drop or would you say that it hovers? It seems like hovering would be sort of a concentration thing to see if you could maintain it in that position, but the rules don't specify. I read in other forums about using the ability to drop something heavy on an enemy in combat. Could I move a Large object 30 feet vertically and drop it on an enemy combatant - OR - could I move a Large object up to 30 feet horizontally and basically go bowling through baddies? It seems like the enemy combatant would get a Dex save to try to avoid. How would you calculate damage for something like that?
Thanks for the help!
PHB 195: You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. So your Telekinetic Movement explicitly won't provoke opportunity attacks. If they have some other reaction available, who knows.
Your TK movement has no text on it making work any differently from the thunderwave spell w.r.t. grapples, and that's the spell explicitly referenced under Grappled as an example effect that ends the Grapple due to forced movement. Unless your GM decides to specifically houserule otherwise, there's no resist on it - if you use your TK movement to move a grappled creature out of the grappler's reach, the creature will cease to be grappled.
TK movement has no rules in it for concentration or anything like that - once the action you used to move the target is over, the TK movement is over. Outside of falls over 500 feet, where the Xanathar's rules might come up, as soon as the TK movement ends, the target immediately falls, right now, all the way to the ground.
Moving an object 30 feet straight up and then dropping it will typically result in nothing happening, since the object will land where it started. If you want to drop objects on targets, you will need at least some horizontal movement.
For "bowling", there's no save and no damage. Whether or not you can move X through Y's space depends on relative size and hostility: 2 size categories difference (e.g. Large through Small) or a lack of hostility are sufficient for yes, otherwise no. If the answer is yes, Y's space counts as difficult terrain, so you'll use up 10 feet, for example, shoving a Large rock through a Small creature's space.
Does TK movement on an enemy going 30ft straight up cause fall damage? If so, does that mean TK movement just gives the player a way to cause an automatic 3d6 damage with no attack roll or saving throw?
Does TK movement on an enemy going 30ft straight up cause fall damage? If so, does that mean TK movement just gives the player a way to cause an automatic 3d6 damage with no attack roll or saving throw?
No. TK movement specifies it applies to a willing creature.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi!
I am currently playing a monk who, for story reasons, is multiclassing into fighter and will be taking the Psi Warrior subclass when she gets to level 3. A few questions about the Telekinetic Movement ability:
- If I use it to move an ally and that movement takes the ally out of melee range of an enemy, would the enemy get an attack of opportunity, assuming they had a reaction available? My gut says yes, and I would confirm with my DM how they'd rule, but I was curious if anyone says no and why not. I read in other forums that I could use this ability to break someone out of grapple since the rules don't specifically say that you can't. If I tried that, would the baddie doing the grappling get to make a Strength save or similar to see if they overcome my ability? And if so, what would it be contested against?
- Telekinetic Movement lets you move objects vertically or horizontally. Once you've moved a boulder (or a person) 30ft in the air with this ability, does it automatically drop or would you say that it hovers? It seems like hovering would be sort of a concentration thing to see if you could maintain it in that position, but the rules don't specify. I read in other forums about using the ability to drop something heavy on an enemy in combat. Could I move a Large object 30 feet vertically and drop it on an enemy combatant - OR - could I move a Large object up to 30 feet horizontally and basically go bowling through baddies? It seems like the enemy combatant would get a Dex save to try to avoid. How would you calculate damage for something like that?
Thanks for the help!
It is my understanding that like any push the telekinetic push does not cause an attack of opportunity. It will cause damage via something like Spike Growth.
For the most part, "moving" provokes Opportunity Attacks, "being moved" does not.
Does TK movement on an enemy going 30ft straight up cause fall damage? If so, does that mean TK movement just gives the player a way to cause an automatic 3d6 damage with no attack roll or saving throw?
No. TK movement specifies it applies to a willing creature.