I use my bonus action to throw a wpn or my main action ot throw and then the other to do the same say 2 handaxes? I occurried to me as a good style though really daggers might be better because hand axes are to bul to carry a lot of them?
So in order to throw a weapon as a bonus action, you have to first attack using your "main" action. In addition, it has to have both the light and thrown properties. Handaxes do fall into this category, so what you want is possible.
Daggers are easier, absolutely, but do less damage. Unless you're just throwing all of your axes across lakes or into the tops of trees, it shouldn't be a big deal to collect them after combat.
So in order to throw a weapon as a bonus action, you have to first attack using your "main" action. In addition, it has to have both the light and thrown properties. Handaxes do fall into this category, so what you want is possible.
Daggers are easier, absolutely, but do less damage. Unless you're just throwing all of your axes across lakes or into the tops of trees, it shouldn't be a big deal to collect them after combat.
That’s not accurate. There is no requirement to take your regular action first. You announce your intention to take the attack action at which point you can use your regular and bonus action attack in any order. E.G. you move towards the enemy while throwing your knife or hand axe and then once in melee range hit it with the axe in your other hand. Hand axes have the light and thrown properties so are perfectly fine for this.
So in order to throw a weapon as a bonus action, you have to first attack using your "main" action. In addition, it has to have both the light and thrown properties. Handaxes do fall into this category, so what you want is possible.
Daggers are easier, absolutely, but do less damage. Unless you're just throwing all of your axes across lakes or into the tops of trees, it shouldn't be a big deal to collect them after combat.
That’s not accurate. There is no requirement to take your regular action first. You announce your intention to take the attack action at which point you can use your regular and bonus action attack in any order. E.G. you move towards the enemy while throwing your knife or hand axe and then once in melee range hit it with the axe in your other hand. Hand axes have the light and thrown properties so are perfectly fine for this.
I believe that there has been Sage Advice to the contrary. In fact, if I remember correctly, they said that you must take and complete the Attack action before you could use the Bonus Action attack: If you had Extra Attack, you couldn't do the Bonus Action attack until you had completed all of your Attack action attacks, and if you took the bonus action attack while you had Extra attacks remaining, you would not be able to use them.
From Spideycloned: So in order to throw a weapon as a bonus action, you have to first attack using your "main" action. In addition, it has to have both the light and thrown properties. Handaxes do fall into this category, so what you want is possible.
This is correct. Check out Two Weapon Fighting in the PHB.
Note, I forgot to mention that I, as DM, allow the Bonus Action from TWF to occur in between the attacks from Extra Attack, but not before them. You must have actually made an attack with the Attack action to trigger the Bonus Action attack, but I don't enforce requiring that they are all completed.
This is because I don't like that SA ruling, but the ruling does still exist.
This is because I don't like that SA ruling, but the ruling does still exist.
It's presumably so you don't get situations where you make your bonus attack first, kill the last opponent with it, and then argue that you should still have your action to do whatever you want with - not just attacking. That wouldn't be correct, but people have been know to argue. I'm pretty sure Sage Advice always refers to "the first attack" though, not to the Attack action. If that checks out, what you allow is strictly RAW.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
So in order to throw a weapon as a bonus action, you have to first attack using your "main" action. In addition, it has to have both the light and thrown properties. Handaxes do fall into this category, so what you want is possible.
Daggers are easier, absolutely, but do less damage. Unless you're just throwing all of your axes across lakes or into the tops of trees, it shouldn't be a big deal to collect them after combat.
That’s not accurate. There is no requirement to take your regular action first. You announce your intention to take the attack action at which point you can use your regular and bonus action attack in any order.
That’s entirely false. The thing that opens up the possibility of using the bonus action for TWF is taking the Attack action and attacking with a light, one-handed melee weapon. Intending to do something does not give you access to the bonus action. You have to actually do the thing. It’s very plainly worded.
That said, I cannot imagine a single situation in which it would make any functional difference, since there’s no restriction on what weapon you use with which action (aside from the normal TWF restrictions).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I use my bonus action to throw a wpn or my main action ot throw and then the other to do the same say 2 handaxes? I occurried to me as a good style though really daggers might be better because hand axes are to bul to carry a lot of them?
DenZ
So in order to throw a weapon as a bonus action, you have to first attack using your "main" action. In addition, it has to have both the light and thrown properties. Handaxes do fall into this category, so what you want is possible.
Daggers are easier, absolutely, but do less damage. Unless you're just throwing all of your axes across lakes or into the tops of trees, it shouldn't be a big deal to collect them after combat.
That’s not accurate. There is no requirement to take your regular action first. You announce your intention to take the attack action at which point you can use your regular and bonus action attack in any order. E.G. you move towards the enemy while throwing your knife or hand axe and then once in melee range hit it with the axe in your other hand. Hand axes have the light and thrown properties so are perfectly fine for this.
I believe that there has been Sage Advice to the contrary. In fact, if I remember correctly, they said that you must take and complete the Attack action before you could use the Bonus Action attack: If you had Extra Attack, you couldn't do the Bonus Action attack until you had completed all of your Attack action attacks, and if you took the bonus action attack while you had Extra attacks remaining, you would not be able to use them.
From Spideycloned: So in order to throw a weapon as a bonus action, you have to first attack using your "main" action. In addition, it has to have both the light and thrown properties. Handaxes do fall into this category, so what you want is possible.
This is correct. Check out Two Weapon Fighting in the PHB.
Note, I forgot to mention that I, as DM, allow the Bonus Action from TWF to occur in between the attacks from Extra Attack, but not before them. You must have actually made an attack with the Attack action to trigger the Bonus Action attack, but I don't enforce requiring that they are all completed.
This is because I don't like that SA ruling, but the ruling does still exist.
It's presumably so you don't get situations where you make your bonus attack first, kill the last opponent with it, and then argue that you should still have your action to do whatever you want with - not just attacking. That wouldn't be correct, but people have been know to argue. I'm pretty sure Sage Advice always refers to "the first attack" though, not to the Attack action. If that checks out, what you allow is strictly RAW.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
That’s entirely false. The thing that opens up the possibility of using the bonus action for TWF is taking the Attack action and attacking with a light, one-handed melee weapon. Intending to do something does not give you access to the bonus action. You have to actually do the thing. It’s very plainly worded.
That said, I cannot imagine a single situation in which it would make any functional difference, since there’s no restriction on what weapon you use with which action (aside from the normal TWF restrictions).