If a Wizard cast Magic Jar and took whichever humanoid body he wanted as his own (so long as the rolls and saves went his way according to the rules etc.), but assuming he temporarily took the body, at some later point could he make a Clone of the newly acquired body from the magic jar spell.
So then later on if the Wizard died he would return in a clone of the humanoid's body he took with magic jar spell.
This is RAW right? Or is there an errata or something I missed?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
So RAW, it really depends on the interpretation of your DM by the "original creature" line in Clone.
The original creature casting is you, because for all intents and purposes in the D&D world your soul is what defines you as a being, not so much the physical body. While inhabiting another body with Magic Jar, it isn't your body, you're just in control of it. Further, while you're in the body, you can't use any of it's class features/levels. You have no control over the vessels memories, etc. You're just in control of the sack of organs you decided to inhabit, and even then, only temp.
The wording of Clone indicates that "original creature" in its description refers to the body that is being duplicated. So it is not a duplicate of the wizard's body, but of the creature whose body you took over.
If the host body of the Magic Jar dies, then the Clone would be occupied by the spirit of the creature who you usurped control from, not the wizard that cast Magic Jar.
If you magic jar a humanoid and then kill that humanoid's soul... there are conditions for how far you can be from the magic jar and stuff etc.
I'm talking about if everything went right, which is not that far fetched. You have the humanoid body permanently because you've destroyed the magic jar and sent his soul to the great beyond.
Then at a later date you cast clone, it would be of the humanoid body you took over. Then if you died you would come back in the humanoid's body again... even as a younger version if you wish.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
If you magic jar a humanoid and then kill that humanoid's soul... there are conditions for how far you can be from the magic jar and stuff etc.
I'm talking about if everything went right, which is not that far fetched. You have the humanoid body permanently because you've destroyed the magic jar and sent his soul to the great beyond.
There is no way to have the body permanently. If you destroy the magic jar, the spell ends, and if some effect destroyed the soul of the owner, or it is otherwise unable to return, the body dies. Also, Dispel Magic will end it.
If a Wizard cast Magic Jar and took whichever humanoid body he wanted as his own (so long as the rolls and saves went his way according to the rules etc.), but assuming he temporarily took the body, at some later point could he make a Clone of the newly acquired body from the magic jar spell.
So then later on if the Wizard died he would return in a clone of the humanoid's body he took with magic jar spell.
This is RAW right? Or is there an errata or something I missed?
So RAW, it really depends on the interpretation of your DM by the "original creature" line in Clone.
The original creature casting is you, because for all intents and purposes in the D&D world your soul is what defines you as a being, not so much the physical body. While inhabiting another body with Magic Jar, it isn't your body, you're just in control of it. Further, while you're in the body, you can't use any of it's class features/levels. You have no control over the vessels memories, etc. You're just in control of the sack of organs you decided to inhabit, and even then, only temp.
The wording of Clone indicates that "original creature" in its description refers to the body that is being duplicated. So it is not a duplicate of the wizard's body, but of the creature whose body you took over.
If the host body of the Magic Jar dies, then the Clone would be occupied by the spirit of the creature who you usurped control from, not the wizard that cast Magic Jar.
Possession via Magic Jar is a spell on a character; Clone does not replicate spells.
If you magic jar a humanoid and then kill that humanoid's soul... there are conditions for how far you can be from the magic jar and stuff etc.
I'm talking about if everything went right, which is not that far fetched. You have the humanoid body permanently because you've destroyed the magic jar and sent his soul to the great beyond.
Then at a later date you cast clone, it would be of the humanoid body you took over. Then if you died you would come back in the humanoid's body again... even as a younger version if you wish.
There is no way to have the body permanently. If you destroy the magic jar, the spell ends, and if some effect destroyed the soul of the owner, or it is otherwise unable to return, the body dies. Also, Dispel Magic will end it.