Old time d and d person. Here. My party not use to DC rules. For example a polymorph trap has DC OF 17. Character fails saving throw and turns into bugbear. His party member uses dispel magic but since 5th level dispel magic only has dc 15. Does that mean character stays a owl bear or is the dc just for the trap. Need to have dc explained better
each DC check is done in a vacuum. So the first roll for DC is to determine saving against the effects of the spell, Polymorph in this case. Later, when Dispel Magic is cast, a new roll is made against the DC for that specific action. So you roll against the Dispel DC, the previous Polymorph DC is not related.
Old time d and d person. Here. My party not use to DC rules. For example a polymorph trap has DC OF 17. Character fails saving throw and turns into bugbear. His party member uses dispel magic but since 5th level dispel magic only has dc 15. Does that mean character stays a owl bear or is the dc just for the trap. Need to have dc explained better
#1. Bugbears are not beasts, so polymorph wouldn’t work to do that. It also wouldn’t work to turn it into an owlbear. Don’t know which inconsistency is correct, but either way.
#2. Polymorph is a 4th-level spell. Dispel magic cast as a 5th-level spell would immediately dispel the spell, no check required (even though casting it at 4th-level would work). Difficulty Class would only come into play if Polymorph was cast for the trap at 6th level, in which case it’s a whole different problem. Since your problem would be much bigger if that were the case, let’s say it’s not.
TL;DR No need for DC to come into play at all. Polymorph immediately ends.
Old time d and d person. Here. My party not use to DC rules. For example a polymorph trap has DC OF 17. Character fails saving throw and turns into bugbear. His party member uses dispel magic but since 5th level dispel magic only has dc 15. Does that mean character stays a owl bear or is the dc just for the trap. Need to have dc explained better
each DC check is done in a vacuum. So the first roll for DC is to determine saving against the effects of the spell, Polymorph in this case. Later, when Dispel Magic is cast, a new roll is made against the DC for that specific action. So you roll against the Dispel DC, the previous Polymorph DC is not related.
#1. Bugbears are not beasts, so polymorph wouldn’t work to do that. It also wouldn’t work to turn it into an owlbear. Don’t know which inconsistency is correct, but either way.
#2. Polymorph is a 4th-level spell. Dispel magic cast as a 5th-level spell would immediately dispel the spell, no check required (even though casting it at 4th-level would work). Difficulty Class would only come into play if Polymorph was cast for the trap at 6th level, in which case it’s a whole different problem. Since your problem would be much bigger if that were the case, let’s say it’s not.
TL;DR No need for DC to come into play at all. Polymorph immediately ends.
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature