OK so I have two questions about Wizards (diviners specifically because that is what I am making right now).
First is about the Diviners Portent Ability. Say there are two wizards that took the diviner specialty either in the same party or a PC and NPC and so they both have the portent ability. What happens if they both try to use this ability at the same time. For example a bard is trying to mind control someone. Wizard A wants this to happen so he uses a portent to make sure that person fails. Wizard B doesn't want this to happen so he uses his portent to make sure the victim succeeds. What happens or who wins?
I know that this probably won't ever really come up but I was curious about conflicting diviners.
Second question is about wizards taking the ritual caster feat: When taking the ritual caster feat can a wizard just put the extra rituals into his already existing spell book for simplicity sake and does his expert feature allow him to copy those extra rituals with half time and money if they fall under his expertise? For example the Diviner Wizard take the ritual caster feat to get cleric ritual spells due to many of them falling under the divination type. Can he transcribe augury into his wizard book for half the money and time than it normally would.
Sorry if these are confusing and thanks for the feedback.
I’d say that either the higher level diviner’s portent ability would win or the two would cancel each other out if the two are the same level. But that’s just my opinion.
A quick search didn't bring up an answer from sage advice so I'd say this is a at the table DM call. I would agree with Tim, that if it were my ruling I'd cancel out each portent and the creature would roll as if nothing happened.
As far as the ritual caster feat, it says in the feat that "you acquire a ritual book holding two 1st-level spells of your choice." which means that it is a separate book from a wizard's spellbook. I would not allow them to use their wizard feature for the ritual book because it is a separate book and can contain other classes' spells.
Good thing about all this is that it is up to what you want to rule it. If you want the wizard to use the same book for simplicity's sake, no one is stopping you (unless your DM/you says no).
First is about the Diviners Portent Ability. Say there are two wizards that took the diviner specialty either in the same party or a PC and NPC and so they both have the portent ability. What happens if they both try to use this ability at the same time. For example a bard is trying to mind control someone. Wizard A wants this to happen so he uses a portent to make sure that person fails. Wizard B doesn't want this to happen so he uses his portent to make sure the victim succeeds. What happens or who wins?
The last line of Portent says "You must choose to do so before the roll, ... " This means once the roll is made (IE the table knows whether or not the roll was a success or failure), you cannot use Portent.
Once the first wizard declares his use of portent the roll that was ABOUT to be made is automatically whatever number the wizard rolled that morning. This means the second wizard is no longer able to use his portent on the same "roll" as it has already happened.
First is about the Diviners Portent Ability. Say there are two wizards that took the diviner specialty either in the same party or a PC and NPC and so they both have the portent ability. What happens if they both try to use this ability at the same time. For example a bard is trying to mind control someone. Wizard A wants this to happen so he uses a portent to make sure that person fails. Wizard B doesn't want this to happen so he uses his portent to make sure the victim succeeds. What happens or who wins?
The last line of Portent says "You must choose to do so before the roll, ... " This means once the roll is made (IE the table knows whether or not the roll was a success or failure), you cannot use Portent.
Once the first wizard declares his use of portent the roll that was ABOUT to be made is automatically whatever number the wizard rolled that morning. This means the second wizard is no longer able to use his portent on the same "roll" as it has already happened.
The game mechanics in 5E are spectacular. With Portent the character can roll a d20 twice at the start of the day and record those numbers for later use. That feature alone is worth taking the Arcane Tradition. Since the character knows ahead of time (the Divination) what the values of these two dice are, the character is taking a risk on the opposing creature. It's kind of a cool built-in safety feature that the Wizard isn't omniscient. Near omniscient, maybe, but not total knowledge at all times.
So, if it were me as a DM, I'd handle it in one of two ways: How is the player roleplaying the scene out? Is the use of the Portent creatively or even strategically used to achieve the best result? If yes, I'd rule to let it happen—we're all there to have fun, not micromanage the successes and failures of polyhedral dice. Or, I'd be tempted to consult the character's Spell Save DC. If the DC is higher than the creature's roll or the opposing character's roll, then the Caster succeeds and the First Portent wins. I might even be generous and have the two characters contest the roll as either an Intelligence or Charisma saving throw. Whichever wins, wins.
I try to avoid a hard and fast NO. Class features support the tale of adventure. Stretch such a conflict out. Give the players the chance to make the moment memorable. Try not to rely too heavily on an impartial rule system. Yes, the rules are important; they keep the game structured. But int the end I'd rather award the character than deny the Table some fun. Is it going to matter in the end? Yes. The Table learns that I'm a fair and impartial DM and not a dull construct.
The Ritual Caster feat seems to be of limited benefit for a Wizard, since you already have ritual casting. As long as your DM provides you an opportunity to find new spells to put in your spellbook, you are better off skipping the feat and paying the gold cost to transcribe the found spells into your book.
The one use I could see of taking the Ritual Caster feat for a Wizard would be to take the feat for another classes ritual spells. When you take the feat, you need to state which class you are taking it in. Your character doesn't have to be in that class. Certain Cleric ritual spells may be useful for a Divination Wizard. The one requirement is having at least a 13 in the spell casting ability for the class, which would be Wisdom to take the feat for cleric spells.
That said, Wizards have access to the most ritual spells and I'd say other feats make more sense for a divination Wizard. How about Lucky, that gives you three times per a long rest that you can reroll a d20 for an attack, save, or ability check. That fits right in with a Divination Wizard. Tough helps make you less squishy, Magic Initiate lets you take 2 cantrips and a level 1 spell from another class (or your own), the cleric / druid cantrip guidance fits well with a Divination Wizard and the druid cantrip Shillelagh lets you actually do some damage hitting something with a weapon.
First is about the Diviners Portent Ability. Say there are two wizards that took the diviner specialty either in the same party or a PC and NPC and so they both have the portent ability. What happens if they both try to use this ability at the same time. For example a bard is trying to mind control someone. Wizard A wants this to happen so he uses a portent to make sure that person fails. Wizard B doesn't want this to happen so he uses his portent to make sure the victim succeeds. What happens or who wins?
The rules don't say what happens when two wizards use Portent at the same time so it's ultimately up to the DM. Narratively, Portent isn't something the character does. The idea is that the wizard glimpsed a future event, and the player is retroactively deciding which event his character foresaw. I'd flip a coin to randomly decide who gets to use it.
When taking the ritual caster feat can a wizard just put the extra rituals into his already existing spell book for simplicity sake and does his expert feature allow him to copy those extra rituals with half time and money if they fall under his expertise?
A wizard can only copy wizard spells into their spellbook.
OK so I have two questions about Wizards (diviners specifically because that is what I am making right now).
First is about the Diviners Portent Ability. Say there are two wizards that took the diviner specialty either in the same party or a PC and NPC and so they both have the portent ability. What happens if they both try to use this ability at the same time. For example a bard is trying to mind control someone. Wizard A wants this to happen so he uses a portent to make sure that person fails. Wizard B doesn't want this to happen so he uses his portent to make sure the victim succeeds. What happens or who wins?
I know that this probably won't ever really come up but I was curious about conflicting diviners.
Second question is about wizards taking the ritual caster feat: When taking the ritual caster feat can a wizard just put the extra rituals into his already existing spell book for simplicity sake and does his expert feature allow him to copy those extra rituals with half time and money if they fall under his expertise? For example the Diviner Wizard take the ritual caster feat to get cleric ritual spells due to many of them falling under the divination type. Can he transcribe augury into his wizard book for half the money and time than it normally would.
Sorry if these are confusing and thanks for the feedback.
I’d say that either the higher level diviner’s portent ability would win or the two would cancel each other out if the two are the same level. But that’s just my opinion.
Professional computer geek
A quick search didn't bring up an answer from sage advice so I'd say this is a at the table DM call. I would agree with Tim, that if it were my ruling I'd cancel out each portent and the creature would roll as if nothing happened.
As far as the ritual caster feat, it says in the feat that "you acquire a ritual book holding two 1st-level spells of your choice." which means that it is a separate book from a wizard's spellbook. I would not allow them to use their wizard feature for the ritual book because it is a separate book and can contain other classes' spells.
Good thing about all this is that it is up to what you want to rule it. If you want the wizard to use the same book for simplicity's sake, no one is stopping you (unless your DM/you says no).
AdmiralChry's Homebrew Compendium - A collection of all my classes, subclasses, magic items, and etc.
The Ritual Caster feat seems to be of limited benefit for a Wizard, since you already have ritual casting. As long as your DM provides you an opportunity to find new spells to put in your spellbook, you are better off skipping the feat and paying the gold cost to transcribe the found spells into your book.
The one use I could see of taking the Ritual Caster feat for a Wizard would be to take the feat for another classes ritual spells. When you take the feat, you need to state which class you are taking it in. Your character doesn't have to be in that class. Certain Cleric ritual spells may be useful for a Divination Wizard. The one requirement is having at least a 13 in the spell casting ability for the class, which would be Wisdom to take the feat for cleric spells.
That said, Wizards have access to the most ritual spells and I'd say other feats make more sense for a divination Wizard. How about Lucky, that gives you three times per a long rest that you can reroll a d20 for an attack, save, or ability check. That fits right in with a Divination Wizard. Tough helps make you less squishy, Magic Initiate lets you take 2 cantrips and a level 1 spell from another class (or your own), the cleric / druid cantrip guidance fits well with a Divination Wizard and the druid cantrip Shillelagh lets you actually do some damage hitting something with a weapon.
The rules don't say what happens when two wizards use Portent at the same time so it's ultimately up to the DM. Narratively, Portent isn't something the character does. The idea is that the wizard glimpsed a future event, and the player is retroactively deciding which event his character foresaw. I'd flip a coin to randomly decide who gets to use it.
Wizards can only cast wizard ritual spells. Ritual Caster lets a wizard learn rituals from another class.
The Forum Infestation (TM)