I have players interested in this weapon. I have two trains of thought... mine and the rogues.
Mine. If he crits he doubles the weapon damage but since the effect. Is a saving throw, the 6d6 comes after his wagon and sneak crit, so there is just the 6d6 damage.
His. If he crits, the 6d6 gets doubled too. I think even in my epic level/ high magic campaign, that this is way too OP.
Crits double the damage dice. The damage dice are rolled on a hit - the additional 6d6 from the Baleful Talon are not the damage dice and therefore aren't doubled.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Because of the way the effect is written, which already includes a crit in its range, I would rule the 6d6 does not get doubled
When you hit a creature with this magic weapon and roll a 19 or 20 on the attack roll, the creature must make a DC 15 Constitution saving throw as the dagger flares with sickly light. The creature takes 6d6 necrotic damage on a failed save, or half as much on a successful one. If this damage reduces the creature to 0 hit points, the creature disintegrates into dust.
Also, contrast that with something like a smite spell (searing smite in this case), which explicitly says the attack does additional damage, rather than the damage being an extra effect:
The next time you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack during the spell’s duration, your weapon flares with white-hot intensity, and the attack deals an extra 1d6 fire damage to the target and causes the target to ignite in flames.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Any damage roll resulting from a saving throw failure is not part of the attack's damage that you can roll twice but a separate effect. For example a crit by a GIANT SPIDER's bite never roll poison damage twice.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have players interested in this weapon. I have two trains of thought... mine and the rogues.
Mine. If he crits he doubles the weapon damage but since the effect. Is a saving throw, the 6d6 comes after his wagon and sneak crit, so there is just the 6d6 damage.
His. If he crits, the 6d6 gets doubled too. I think even in my epic level/ high magic campaign, that this is way too OP.
Thoughts?
Crits double the damage dice. The damage dice are rolled on a hit - the additional 6d6 from the Baleful Talon are not the damage dice and therefore aren't doubled.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Because of the way the effect is written, which already includes a crit in its range, I would rule the 6d6 does not get doubled
Also, contrast that with something like a smite spell (searing smite in this case), which explicitly says the attack does additional damage, rather than the damage being an extra effect:
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Any damage roll resulting from a saving throw failure is not part of the attack's damage that you can roll twice but a separate effect. For example a crit by a GIANT SPIDER's bite never roll poison damage twice.