I'm playing a Rogue in a campaign and have been working off the assumption that Savage Attacker lets me roll the damage Twice and pick either result including the Sneak Attack dice. Is this correct, or is there some reason that means it doesn't work this way?
Also, am I allowed to use Savage Attacker on cantrips like the new version of True Strike?
Finally, am I allowed to use Sneak Attack when I use True Strike?
There seems to be some negativity regarding the Savage Attack Origin feat. I don't know why - the wording is quite clear:
“Once per turn when you hit a target with a weapon, you can roll the weapon’s damage dice twice and use either roll against the target.”
So, yes. As you describe you can roll all the damage dice (note: plural) in a sneak attack once per turn. You need to hit with a weapon though so most cantrips are out. True Strike might be an exception as it is cast on the weapon although the benefit might be compromised by needing 1 action to cast and the damage merely being based on the spell casting stat.
Savage Attacker's "roll twice and pick the best" applies only to the weapon's dice, not to any extra dice (sneak attack, smite, hex, etc).
To apply to all of the dice, the feature would have to have used wording like "attack's damage dice" instead of "weapon's damage dice".
The Savage Attacker feat and the Sneak Attack feature both apply to true strike.
Savage Attacker requires, "when you hit a target with a weapon". Sneak attack requires, "you hit with an attack roll". Both are satisfied by the spell. Of course, for sneak attack, the weapon must have the finesse property or be a ranged weapon.
Agreed. "Weapon's damage dice" refers to the dice you roll for the weapon's damage. Sneak Attack is a separate feature to the weapon damage dice and therefore is not included.
Sanity also demands it. Rolling one lot of Sneak Attack slows the game down even at L11 for us, and that's 1d8+6d6. Can you imagine rolling 2dy+20d6 and having to count and compare them? *Shudders*. Rolling at most 4d6 is one thing, but that's another. I'd be quickly putting a house rule in that Sneak Attack doesn't count even if it weren't RAW.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm playing a Rogue in a campaign and have been working off the assumption that Savage Attacker lets me roll the damage Twice and pick either result including the Sneak Attack dice. Is this correct, or is there some reason that means it doesn't work this way?
Also, am I allowed to use Savage Attacker on cantrips like the new version of True Strike?
Finally, am I allowed to use Sneak Attack when I use True Strike?
Thanks for all the help in advance.
There seems to be some negativity regarding the Savage Attack Origin feat. I don't know why - the wording is quite clear:
“Once per turn when you hit a target with a weapon, you can roll the weapon’s damage dice twice and use either roll against the target.”
So, yes. As you describe you can roll all the damage dice (note: plural) in a sneak attack once per turn. You need to hit with a weapon though so most cantrips are out. True Strike might be an exception as it is cast on the weapon although the benefit might be compromised by needing 1 action to cast and the damage merely being based on the spell casting stat.
Savage Attacker's "roll twice and pick the best" applies only to the weapon's dice, not to any extra dice (sneak attack, smite, hex, etc).
To apply to all of the dice, the feature would have to have used wording like "attack's damage dice" instead of "weapon's damage dice".
The Savage Attacker feat and the Sneak Attack feature both apply to true strike.
Savage Attacker requires, "when you hit a target with a weapon". Sneak attack requires, "you hit with an attack roll". Both are satisfied by the spell. Of course, for sneak attack, the weapon must have the finesse property or be a ranged weapon.
Agreed. "Weapon's damage dice" refers to the dice you roll for the weapon's damage. Sneak Attack is a separate feature to the weapon damage dice and therefore is not included.
Sanity also demands it. Rolling one lot of Sneak Attack slows the game down even at L11 for us, and that's 1d8+6d6. Can you imagine rolling 2dy+20d6 and having to count and compare them? *Shudders*. Rolling at most 4d6 is one thing, but that's another. I'd be quickly putting a house rule in that Sneak Attack doesn't count even if it weren't RAW.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.